We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amansala Eco Chic Resort

km 5.5 Carr Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Amansala Eco Chic Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #29 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Wendy W
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    34
    13
    16
    12
See reviews for
7
33
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jaw dropping service and accommodations. From start to finish the staff, food, spa, excursions, and service was perfect. Totally enjoyed my stay and I did not want to come home. I'm looking at coming back before summer ends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amansala is a fantastic place to spend a relaxing vacation!! We were a group of three girls and shared a 3 bed room which was perfect for us. This is a beautiful but very basic Eco chic hotel so if you are looking for something plush I would not recommend Amansala but if you are looking for amazing scenery, great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Amansala for a yoga retreat and decided to spend my extra night here too. The food was delicious, the staff was super friendly, and the swinging beds on the beach are heaven. It's a small style resort so it never feels crowded. I visited other places on the strip and I feel that Tulum had a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nosara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

The location is beautiful, its Tulum, hard to go wrong. You can't really swim at Amansala though because of the seaweed and the reef so if ocean swimming is important to you, you might pick a place down the beach with better access. The facilities are fine. Super eco-chic rustic so if you're wanting A/C and all the amenities, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DarleneMonique, Manager at Amansala Eco Chic Resort, responded to this review

First of all I am so sorry you had such disdain for the front desk staff and the people that run the show at Amansala. We are sort of like a family down here and have all been working together for a long time so sometimes there may be too much shop talk in front of guests but we like... More 

Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Despite the mixed reviews of Amansala, I decided to trust the beautiful pictures and book the deluxe ocean view room in the Chica section of the resort. I dreamed about relaxing on the beautiful orange pillow covered patio featured on the website, I figured the $365 a night would be worth the romance this ambiance would inspire! The day of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

i recently attended a 5 day yoga retreat at this resort. I t is located on a beautiful white beach outside of the town of Tulum.. It operates on solar power so there is no air conditioning and dont expect hair dryers. there is however a beautiful breeze all the time off the ocean which keeps your room cool...... as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

When I brought a yoga group on retreat, I loved this place - despite some hiccups along the way. The location is gorgeous but the owners attitude was dismissive and terrible. That seemed to be the overall perspective of most of the people I talked to during my time there. I could look past the slight mistakes that were made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DarleneMonique, Manager at Amansala Eco Chic Resort, responded to this review

It is hard to please everyone and there are many things we can control but the weather and mother nature is not one of them. You felt you should have gotten a discount due to Mother Nature or the hotel should have as you suggested "invite everyone for a massage" but we were not able to do that for your... More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I came for a yoga retreat in February and had a wonderful time. Clean rooms, wonderful service, fantastic food. The beach is pristine, and there was a very laid back atmosphere. I also got the best massage of my life. There were a couple of windy days that brought a bunch of seaweed onto the shore, but the staff did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 via mobile

I loved my stay. Great food, great rooms, massages, with a laid back friendly setting. Came for a yoga retreat and found the whole places steps above any other retreat I have ever been on and I have been on a lot. If you want fancy shmancy in general Tulum is not for for you but if you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I came to Amansala looking forward to a beautiful view, endless walks on the beach and swimming in the ocean. The first thing I noticed was that the beach was covered with a swath of seaweed with garbage in it about 10 feet wide and over a foot deep. There was some kind of seaweed die off and the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities