We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amansala Eco Chic Resort

km 5.5 Carr Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Amansala Eco Chic Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #30 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
toronto196
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    13
    16
    12
See reviews for
7
33
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Nosara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is beautiful, its Tulum, hard to go wrong. You can't really swim at Amansala though because of the seaweed and the reef so if ocean swimming is important to you, you might pick a place down the beach with better access. The facilities are fine. Super eco-chic rustic so if you're wanting A/C and all the amenities, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DarleneMonique, Manager at Amansala Eco Chic Resort, responded to this review

First of all I am so sorry you had such disdain for the front desk staff and the people that run the show at Amansala. We are sort of like a family down here and have all been working together for a long time so sometimes there may be too much shop talk in front of guests but we like... More 

Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite the mixed reviews of Amansala, I decided to trust the beautiful pictures and book the deluxe ocean view room in the Chica section of the resort. I dreamed about relaxing on the beautiful orange pillow covered patio featured on the website, I figured the $365 a night would be worth the romance this ambiance would inspire! The day of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i recently attended a 5 day yoga retreat at this resort. I t is located on a beautiful white beach outside of the town of Tulum.. It operates on solar power so there is no air conditioning and dont expect hair dryers. there is however a beautiful breeze all the time off the ocean which keeps your room cool...... as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I brought a yoga group on retreat, I loved this place - despite some hiccups along the way. The location is gorgeous but the owners attitude was dismissive and terrible. That seemed to be the overall perspective of most of the people I talked to during my time there. I could look past the slight mistakes that were made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DarleneMonique, Manager at Amansala Eco Chic Resort, responded to this review

It is hard to please everyone and there are many things we can control but the weather and mother nature is not one of them. You felt you should have gotten a discount due to Mother Nature or the hotel should have as you suggested "invite everyone for a massage" but we were not able to do that for your... More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came for a yoga retreat in February and had a wonderful time. Clean rooms, wonderful service, fantastic food. The beach is pristine, and there was a very laid back atmosphere. I also got the best massage of my life. There were a couple of windy days that brought a bunch of seaweed onto the shore, but the staff did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I loved my stay. Great food, great rooms, massages, with a laid back friendly setting. Came for a yoga retreat and found the whole places steps above any other retreat I have ever been on and I have been on a lot. If you want fancy shmancy in general Tulum is not for for you but if you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to Amansala looking forward to a beautiful view, endless walks on the beach and swimming in the ocean. The first thing I noticed was that the beach was covered with a swath of seaweed with garbage in it about 10 feet wide and over a foot deep. There was some kind of seaweed die off and the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In February, I traveled to Tulum for a long awaited yoga retreat from New York City, eagerly anticipating the accommodations, beauty, care and details of Amansala -- all of which had been described to me by friends. It exceeded my expectations. My beachfront, simple king room restored my peace; the amazing, healthy food delighted me at every meal -- and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An endless beach, you think you could walk all the way to the South Pole. Hearty healthy breakfast, deliciously healthy salads and ceviche. There are some bikini boot camp freaks indeed, but they are inoffensive ;-) Not cheap but worth the money. The Tulum Maya ruins are just a few minutes away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This place is absolutely situated on an amazing beach. The resort is called Eco chic and as soon as you walk in you feel the magic of vortex. The only reason I don't give it a full five star rating is because of three things (1) slow response time in resovling issues or even responding to emails, (2) food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question