We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Expert photos
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

716 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    288
    250
    67
    49
    62
See reviews for
236
197
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (716)
  • Mar-May only
    (220)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (174)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location within walking distance of the City of Playa del Carmen. The beach was suffering an unusual problem with excessive seaweed buildup, but the hotel pool is clean and functional. The small restaurant had a limited menu but the food available was properly prepared and the service was really great. Particular kudos to the La Tarraza staff - Zindysabel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Michael: Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear you had a lovely vacation and we really appreciate you taking the time to mention our staff members who contributed to your stay. We will be sure to pass your comments along to them, we hope you will give us the opportunity of hosting you once again. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just returned on Saturday from my third trip to Fisherman's Village. Thank you so much to the staff for making my stay wonderful. I come from NY so Fisherman's is my home away from home. Marcel greeted me as I arrived and it was like seeing an old friend. Thank you so much to the guys out on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will definitely look into these items that you have noted, and make the appropriate corrections. We really hope you can give us another chance to revindicate ourselves and let us share with you the best experience we can offer. We wish you can let us host... More 

Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great week at Sunset Fishermans Close to town(walked there many times.) Great loaction for activities in the area. Kids had a blast. The resort does a great job cleaning the beach of the seaweed way better than others in the area. My kids loved the towel art in the room everyday. Couldn't wait to get back to room and see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our third time here. Some of us consume fish but not meat, several others were vegetarians. Resort knew in advance. The chef tried but lunches/dinner limited.Grouper was on the menu most nights- and lots of meat choices. Major construction 5 days out of 7. Internet connection only available in lobby. Housekeeping staff, the waiters, the bartender, and the concierge staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate you bringing to our attention your concerns regarding areas for improvement, which will help us to continually better the guest experience. We have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of providing the superior service... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent place to stay solo, with friends or family. My two friends and I stayed at Fisherman's Village for two weeks. We got a condominium on the third floor with ocean view, and all the amenities; full kitchen, living room, dinning, two bathrooms and comfortable beds. The place was perfect for the three of us. The place is impeccable along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to learn enjoyed your stay at Sunset Fishermen and were able to experience our Mexican Hospitality. Come back soon, remember your home away from home is waiting for you. More 

McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

Excelent place to stay with the family! Close proximity to shopping...love the friendly enviroment...very cordial and enviding environment . If you stay here you can also visit hacienda tres rios , which it also has many amenities like snorkel in the cenotes and kiyaking

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review of Fishermen Village, it is a pleasure to hear our goal of providing a friendly environment was successful, we hope you will come back and see us during your next vacation to the area. More 

Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We rented a condo direct from an owner for $79 a night which we felt was an amazing deal for the location. It was a nice change from the all inclusive resorts we are used to. Though I did miss all inclusive room service. We enjoyed the beach and the beach beds. There was no service on the beach but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of Sunset Fishermen. We understand the importance of providing well-appointed accommodations to our guests and have been working very hard on resort renovations this year with more scheduled for later on this year. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back and see the... More 

Hardwick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

My husband and I got married here on July 4, 2015. We had an amazing beach wedding. Daniella from Sunset Fishermen was our wedding planner. She did a wonderful service for us. Thank you Daniella. Samuel and Daniella made it possible for my guest to have a beautiful place to have a wedding. The tables were beautiful. All of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is our pleasure to ensure the highest quality of service to all of our guests. We will pass your comments along to our staff who will be pleased to hear they achieved our goal of providing a memorable vacation experience. We hope to see you back soon hopefully during... More 

gold coast australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We had a 3 bedroom apt. Nice view, good air con. Pool nice but from 10am very loud music and guy on microphone playing stupid games. Very annoying. Check in staff pretty rude :(. Long walk to 5th ave or $10 us taxi. Playa del Carmen is a very expensive tourist trap. Avoid cabs and take the collectivo to tulum,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to learn we were not able to fulfill your expectations and we apologize for that. Each one of your concern is being taken care of and we appreciate your feedback which enabled us to review our standards and procedures. More 

kansas city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We had a fantastic time at sunset fishermen! It is a small resort 10 minutes walk from downtown playa in playacar 1 resort area. Surrounded by homes and cobblestone streets. We arrived after the welcome party on Saturday and were greeted by the resort manager Javier (aka silver fox). He is incredibly warm and friendly and makes sure any needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your nice comments and for considering Sunset Fishermen a great boutique Hotel. It was our pleasure to be your host and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

826 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (337)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (102)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (482)
Viewed
Amenities (97)
Viewed
Beach (39)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
Studio with Ocean View (86)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite with Ocean View (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Bed Breakfastico
Bed Breakfastico
#34 of 149 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#117 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 2,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#76 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
#6 of 145 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Luxury House
B&B Luxury House
#7 of 149 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#23 of 145 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay