We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tres Mundos Hostel

Calle 6 entre av 20 y 25, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Tres Mundos Hostel
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    12
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
23
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

July 2014, we spent 1 night(mare) in this hostel, it was extremely dirty. The dirtiest hostel I have ever been. We arrived late and had not booked hostel in playa del Carmen before, so we decided to try it. It was an error. We moved the next day to Tulum, so I cannot recommend a different place in Playa del... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

After seeing the responses by the manager to guests who have had a bad experience, my experience here doesn't surprise me a bit. The manager is unwilling to accept any criticism of his property and simply excuses all criticism by accusing reviewers of not being the hostel type, or expecting too much out of a low cost stay. To make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
3MundosHostel, Manager at Tres Mundos Hostel, responded to this review

Carly, i was waiting for your review i knew you would write it and you didnt dissapoint. I completely agree that there are so many better options, there are party hostels here with A/C (for double of the price) there are hotels and resorts as well. I skip the filthy fans and all the bugs and hot rooms and common... More 

Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

TRES MUNDOS is a nice hostel with fair prices! the staff there is nice and kind. The location of the hostel is very good. it is closed to the beach and to the center. the rooms are simple but comfortable and worth the price. There is kitchen and they also serve a modest breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Im not saying that whole place is a mess, but we had probably their worst room , it was on the ground floor, air-con didnt work and it was not possible to open the window , so air was terribly humid with moldy smell , I would be ashamed to rent that kind of "room" . breakfast are toast with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3MundosHostel, Manager at Tres Mundos Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Weird that you say that the aircon didnt work, it's been working always and i checked it and it works now. Sometimes if people dont want it cold they lower the cooling to a minimum and than its a pure ventilator, but its operated completely by a guest, we don't control that (its a small... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

They charged us an extra night that we didn't ask for and would not refund our money, the room was a mess not to mention the toilet that was all puked and they would not clean it, mattress (if you call it like that) was terrible and there was no hot water... but try it

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
3MundosHostel, Owner at Tres Mundos Hostel, responded to this review

It's ridiculous, we would never charge you a night without you asking for it. Some people get confused when booking online but don't throw this on us please. In high season guests don't respect anything and leave a mess, but we clean it daily it's our priority. Sorry if you didn't like your matress, I sleep on one of them... More 

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Average all the way around. Not very clean but not terribly dirty, friendly enough and a very weak breakfast. Wi-Fi slow and localized to common area. Close to the ADO and beach. Good enough for a stopover in Playa del Carmen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suisse
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I booked a few weeks ago and I just arrived and they don't honor me my booking because other people extend the stay. They don't even help me to find other hostel and the manager just call and say that they don't have the room a booked. The guy at the reception told me that he don't care and just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mar del Plata, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The building is well-decorated, full of vively colours. Rooms are comfortable and staff is more than friendly. You should spend a night at the terrace where music, hammocks, food and drinks make you spend a wonderfull moment. You really feel just like home. Definetely you should stay here!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Basic Double-Room w/bathroom, $190 per person/per night , 20th – 22nd March 2014 Vibe: Unmistakably hippy, replete with a dread-locking service and the soothing chorus of duelling Spanish guitars. Location: 4 blocks from the beach, Tres Mundos is thankfully far enough from the Haagen-Daaz and Starbucks experience of Calle 5 and 10, whilst being convenient to reach the beaches by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Tres Mundos Hostel is a great, more layed back (depending on the season, of course!) hostel in Playa del Carmen. The owners and staff are very humane and friendly. Also, the choice of music fits the time of the day they play it in and it is a perfect location, you can get pretty much everywhere quickly, and if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Playa
Hostel Playa
#19 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#12 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#44 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Vive la Vida
Hostel Vive la Vida
#25 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Melissa
Casa Melissa
#32 of 146 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
#5 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities