We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tres Mundos Hostel

Calle 6 entre av 20 y 25, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tres Mundos Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I liked this hotel, the reception staff was very nice, Diego is super kind but the bed hurted my back, it was in very bad shape. Also I didn't have control of the mini split which annoyed me a lot. The shared kitchen has a rule, write your name on your food and prevent if from getting eaten by others,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anais S
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dont stay here, We were totally appaulled by the service we recieved here. The prices are arbitrarily arranged, and we ended up paying more than others in the same room. The rude and unfriendly staff were not willing to rectify the situation, let alone listen to what we had to stay. There is nothing special about rhe facilities, and you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tamir A

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in and the doors in our room were really noisy so when anyone used the bathroom if=t woke everyone up. However the staff were very friendly and helpful and it had a great atmosphere, Could have easily chilled out in the communal ares for a while. Plus good location for beach etc.

Helpful?
Thank LaviniaHolloway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Stayed there a few nights. It's a nice place not to far from the beach. Good kitchen nice people at the reception. The breakfast is a little disaponting, not mutch to eat but overall it's a nice place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Raphael V
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

Really nice hostel, close to 5th ave and accesible prices. But the best thing is the mood inside, with people who work there and also guests. Totally recommend it for having a nice time, meeting new people and maybe even making friends. People who come here are travelers and not tourists, so is great for sharing stories and getting to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank isidorajose
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

July 2014, we spent 1 night(mare) in this hostel, it was extremely dirty. The dirtiest hostel I have ever been. We arrived late and had not booked hostel in playa del Carmen before, so we decided to try it. It was an error. We moved the next day to Tulum, so I cannot recommend a different place in Playa del... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoaquinN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

After seeing the responses by the manager to guests who have had a bad experience, my experience here doesn't surprise me a bit. The manager is unwilling to accept any criticism of his property and simply excuses all criticism by accusing reviewers of not being the hostel type, or expecting too much out of a low cost stay. To make... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carly W
3MundosHostel, Manager at Tres Mundos Hostel, responded to this review

Carly, i was waiting for your review i knew you would write it and you didnt dissapoint. I completely agree that there are so many better options, there are party hostels here with A/C (for double of the price) there are hotels and resorts as well. I skip the filthy fans and all the bugs and hot rooms and common... More 

Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

TRES MUNDOS is a nice hostel with fair prices! the staff there is nice and kind. The location of the hostel is very good. it is closed to the beach and to the center. the rooms are simple but comfortable and worth the price. There is kitchen and they also serve a modest breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mormor1992
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Im not saying that whole place is a mess, but we had probably their worst room , it was on the ground floor, air-con didnt work and it was not possible to open the window , so air was terribly humid with moldy smell , I would be ashamed to rent that kind of "room" . breakfast are toast with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank abbynex
3MundosHostel, Manager at Tres Mundos Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Weird that you say that the aircon didnt work, it's been working always and i checked it and it works now. Sometimes if people dont want it cold they lower the cooling to a minimum and than its a pure ventilator, but its operated completely by a guest, we don't control that (its a small... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

They charged us an extra night that we didn't ask for and would not refund our money, the room was a mess not to mention the toilet that was all puked and they would not clean it, mattress (if you call it like that) was terrible and there was no hot water... but try it

Helpful?
4 Thank JGREENWOOD88
3MundosHostel, Owner at Tres Mundos Hostel, responded to this review

It's ridiculous, we would never charge you a night without you asking for it. Some people get confused when booking online but don't throw this on us please. In high season guests don't respect anything and leave a mess, but we clean it daily it's our priority. Sorry if you didn't like your matress, I sleep on one of them... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Playa
Hostel Playa
#17 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Vive la Vida
Hostel Vive la Vida
#35 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bendito Rancho Hostel
Bendito Rancho Hostel
#5 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#44 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#10 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#6 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities