We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #38 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Paigevl
Review This Hotel

4,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,896
    1,264
    314
    120
    67
See reviews for
1,488
1,647
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (4661)
  • Mar-May only
    (1164)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1192)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1090)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1215)
All months
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very diverse clientele! So many countries represented during our stay over Spring Break. The room was very comfortable - not plush but CLEAN!!! Awesome staff! Making reservations was very easy in the morning and you got a confirmation with the confirmed time. Breakfast was excellent! The on resort activities were well attended and FUN! Loved the nature! Was like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Curran
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms: they are comfortable Food: lots of choice and very good. Room service is appreciated. BEACH = WOW never seen any better, the colour is perfect. Only negative, will be the lobby, its surrounded by jungle AND its very nice but there is no ventilation and its very hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a week vacation. If I just knew............ Pros: mother nature. Cons: everything else. This hotel has the worst management you can imagine! Everything is ruined, outdated, needs to be repaired. Ugly building with leaking roofs, outdated rooms with awful furniture. NO service at all - no one bothered to clean our room every day. No one restocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a week at the end of February 2015. Really pleased with the hotel, amenities, food and customer service. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were able to reserve a table in the Italian restaurant in advance by e mail. The hotel is spotless and constantly maintained. It's not a contemporary, modern hotel but is cosy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for a week in mid-match with our children 13 & 10 and everyone had a great time. The tropical feel of the facility is wonderful and the place is wonderfully maintained. The entire staff is friendly, hard working and there for you at all times. We can't say enough about the entertainment team. The offer a variety of activities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful family experience and for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for the second time. We cannot thank you enough for your overall positive comments regarding your stay. The hotel is tailor-made for guests of every age, especially our tropical garden that joins families together by exploring new animals and plants. Your nice evaluation... More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I use this quote from previous review as a headline – “This probably was once a nice hotel, but it's horrible ran and an embarrassment to the Iberostar name.” I used to be very loyal to the Iberostar brand and had been to many Iberostar hotels through the world. Iberostar Tucan is the worst among ALL. I’m still in shock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What shame that such a beautiful hotel was completely spoilt by an influx of American Students on their Spring Break. The hotel went from being a 5 star hotel to a 2 star as it was impossible to get away from them!! The swim up pool bar was completely out of bounds as there was at least 40 of them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and for publishing your experience. Thank you for your compliment regarding our beautiful grounds and facilities. However, we regret deeply that you were not able to enjoy your holidays due to the young students staying at the resort on the same time. We... More 

Cecil, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently took a 6 day winter getaway to the Iberostar Tucan. We had been there once before 15 years ago. Much has changed since then. Nothing as far as the rooms has been updated. They are very dark and old. We had a problem with our room when we arrived (didn't get what we asked for)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the time you spent in order to create this review and for returning to IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal after so many years. We really appreciate the fact that you had a good week at our resort and your positive comments regarding our always friendly and helpful staff. Thank you as well for highlighting our genius... More 

Golden, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a room at Tucan for a week for my husband, 11 month old baby and me. They gave us a room too close to the entertainment, so our room was super loud and the walls shook with the bass from about 8pm-1130pm. The front desk assured us it wouldn't be like this the second night. It was, so they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for publishing your opinion regarding your last holidays. Your feedback is very welcome and valued. We are sorry to read that your stay was not what you expected. The problems you mentioned certainly do not reflect the commitment and the quality that you... More 

Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay 3/15/2015-3/21/2015 There were many wonderful things about this resort, such as the wildlife area, the beautiful grounds, and the abundance of shady spots on both the pool and beach. I have never stayed at a resort with so much available shade. There are palapas all around the pool and on the beach, making it easy to get out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and for writing this detailed review. We appreciate all our guests’ feedbacks as they help us to identify the points where we can improve, so thank you for writing the positive and negative points as well. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and the... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(48)
  • Steak house(33)
  • Great time(25)
  • Lobby bar(24)
  • Star Friends(23)
  • Specialty restaurant(22)
  • Pool area(13)
  • Ice cream(11)
  • Beds are hard(9)
  • Other resorts(9)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5,845 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5416)
Viewed
Room/suite (384)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1414)
Viewed
Dining (376)
Viewed
Family/play areas (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1215)
Viewed
View from room (188)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (33)
Viewed
5:43
Videos (17)
Viewed
Other (1701)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (417)
Viewed
Adults' Pool (2)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Junior Oceanfront Suite (60)
Viewed
Pool (57)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (83)
Viewed
Sport Pool (4)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question