We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dos Playas Hotel Cancun

blvd kukulcan km 6.5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 72160, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Dos Playas Hotel Cancun
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #110 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015
OhtheWearyTraveler Columbus, Ohio
Add Photo Write a Review

856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    165
    244
    169
    124
    154
See reviews for
132
284
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (856)
  • Mar-May only
    (257)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (179)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (174)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (246)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

13 persons of my family went there a week ago. While we was at Xoximilco one of the rooms burnt and so many things of my aunt and cousins get damaged. The manager never came and talk to solve the situation, nobody knew what to do and nobody say anything. At the end the give us less than the half... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Dos Playas Hotel Cancun, responded to this review

Ximena, a member of your family already posted a review on June 22 and was responded with a very detailed explanation of the incident which significantly differs from your comments. For your knowledge, please, be advised that the origin of the fire was NOT electric. As you may know no electric device can operate in the room if the saving... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived there early and had to wait to check in until 1500. It was raining hard for first two days. By 1500, only one room was ready, so I gave the room to my parents, so they don't have to wait. Was promised the room will be ready in 15 minutes, still needed to be cleaned. Had to wait for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my friend never booked this hotel with the intention of recieving 5* accomodation and service but we definitely didn't deserve what we got! During our stay there was a horrible storm (no ones fault) but the hotel was definitely not equipped for this. We had two leaks in our room, one coming from a light in the ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Dos Playas Hotel Cancun, responded to this review

First of all, please, accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused by the storm while your staing at Dos Playas. All the circumstances you mention in your review were originated by the heavy raining that affected our facilities and rooms. Even the WIFI was down due to the weather conditions, however, you can have internet in your room for... More 

Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently on day number two of my 6 day stay at Dos Playas..., and boy am I pissed! I came expecting the worse based on the price and reviews, but was secretly hoping the reviewers were bougie, hard to please, snovs just looking for reasons to complain. ..., boy was I wrong! I could not find anything, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Dos Playas Hotel Cancun, responded to this review

We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, based in your comments. Please, remember that Dos Playas is a budget hotel that most of our guests choose by its low rate and excellent quality/price ratio. If this is not your case, we understand that you might be interested in higher category hotels. We hope that, if you... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When booking this hotel I requested a king sized bed. I was visiting with my girlfriend and ended up with 2 small beds instead. I requested a king sized bed 5 times, and ended up getting tired of asking for it and never getting it. We decided to spend our whole vacation sleeping in different beds. Drinks and food are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Dos Playas Hotel Cancun, responded to this review

We appreciate the objetivity of your comments. Our hotel meets the basic standards coresponding to a 3 stars property, however, as you mention at the end of your posting, more quality comes together with higher rates. More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

My boyfriend and I just graduated from college and wanted to treat ourselves to a reasonably priced vacation. We found this place and booked our stay from May 16th to the 22nd. I did not read the reviews prior to booking and I became very nervous after reading some of the reviews posted. CHECKING IN However, my nervousness quickly faded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Let me first start by saying my post will give you some of the pros and cons. Cons: the decor in the room is outdated. The mattresses are old and there are no "extras" such as brochures to advise you, etc. My fiancés legs were hanging off the edge of the bed. The pillows were about half of the size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
524 reviews 524 reviews
54 hotel reviews
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We booked this hotel as we wanted a simple, non-all-inclusive hotel close to the hotel zone and also close to downtown Cancun, with a decent beach. And this is exactly what we got. We were never going to be spending too much time in our room so the upper ground floor room we had overlooking the tennis courts facing towards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

There were a number of issues we had with the vacation pertaining to the accommodations. I am going to go through in sequential order day by day as this will help show the progression of the issues at hand. I booked this vacation with my boyfriend in order to celebrate our anniversary, so it held particular sentiment to us and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile

I booked the trip for my daughter & myself prior to reading the trip advisor reviews. Once I read the reviews I was getting very nervous, but for no reason! The hotel is wonderful- my daughter is having a great time in the pool and the beach is gorgeous. The rooms are simple but we are only in there to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,017 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (711)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (147)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (162)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Family/play areas (13)
Viewed
Other (180)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (297)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Beach (48)
Viewed
Children's Pool (11)
Viewed
Main Pool (29)
Viewed
Maya Caribe Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (48)
Viewed
Standard Room One Bed (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay