We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Plaza 31 de Marzo No. 10 | Col. Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At first glance the hotel is beautiful, it seems cured. We stayed in room 204. The room is pretty small, do not even know where to put our luggage. The bathroom is very nice, the sink is mini, the shower water goes down slowly, the bed is perhaps the only thing slightly comfortable. What bothers you is all the noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniele S
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

The hotel enjoys its position on the main square of San Cristobal de las Casas. I got a room in the interior courtyard, which as quiet, even though there was a band playing in the square outside. The hotel is a colonial style establishment, so no elevators, but stairs. Beware if you have heavy or bulky luggage! The room is... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin_matthew
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

We stayed in the hotel for 8 days just to catch up. Resting and catching up with emails. The room is not big but comfortable we stayed in the back of the hotel so not much problems with the noise outside. The people at the desk, restaurant where very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very central and great just... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClassicStrider
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

It is located in front of the Cathedral. We went to the restaurant in the hotel. The name is "Sensaciones de Chiapas". The food was excellent. You have to try the "Huevos a la Cazuela". Not expensive at all, spent 200 pesos for two persons.

Helpful?
Thank Maximino A
Medellin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I would have written a review sooner but the wifi at the hotel sucked. We stayed here for a night and were not pleased at all. While this hotel has an incredible location, it is definitely not worth the price. The rooms are extremely dark and not very spacious. The bathrooms are also small and honestly they're a little disgusting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mariaristi
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Nice hotel in general, but noisy, because it is in front of the main plaza and they have marimba pkaying at the kiosk every night from 7 to 10 pm and if you get an interior room, the window is overlookin the hall were everybody walks and has access to see the inside of your room. The personnel working there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
335 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here three nights and were glad to leave. Situated right in front of the centro it is a good location. But we found nicer and cheaper hotels on the streets around , specially on one of the streets closed to car circulation. The beds are hard . Very uncomfortable. What they call pillows is really ridiculous..it takes three... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shou1
HotelesCiudadReal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you took to share your comments about Hotel Ciudad Real. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had and for not exceeding your expectations during your visit. We are currently working on the wireless issue and we had pass along your comments to the ownership. We can guarantee that you will change your mind... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel has the perfect location and is a nice building, but unfortunately I found the rooms dark and the beds uncomfortable. The hotel is also really noisy. The service was fine as was the restaurant. If it wasn't for the bed and the dark room I would recommend this hotel but I think there are better options for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank NicolettaM123
HotelesCiudadReal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for sharing your opinion. Certainly hotel’s location is our greatest strength. We will take into consideration the issue with the beds and the dark room. We apologize for your restless night you had, but we guarantee that we will not miss a second chance to demonstrate we can exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we look... More 

sofia,bulgaria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

good hotel, nice breakfast i stayed only 1 night in january 2014 very good for people going from mexico city to cancun you must have in mind its in the center streets are very small so arrange some parking if you travel bt y car

Helpful?
Thank rumiana1951
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion about Hotel Ciudad Real. We are really pleased to hear your good comments. I would like to mention that you do not have to worry about parking, the hotel counts with parking lots for all guests. Thanks again!. More 

Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Ciudad Real following an organized tour around Mexico. The Hotel was considered a 4 stars hotel, but it is not true! The rooms are not so comfortable and very noisy, the air conditioning and the hot water were not working and none repaired during our 3 days stay. Breakfast is good with very tyipical mexican food... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ValeryIT
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this review

Dear ValeryIT, We really appreciate your comments about Hotel Ciudad Real. It is very important for us to hear your opinion in order to improve our services provided. As you said, the hotel’s location is one of our strengths; however we are sorry about the inconvenient you had in your last stayed. We are taking action to solve the problems... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#7 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#20 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#30 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Provincia
Hotel Provincia
#18 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nuestras Raices
Nuestras Raices
#14 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tierra y Cielo
Hotel Tierra y Cielo
#11 of 70 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay