We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Villa Mercedes

Diagonal Hermanos Paniagua 32, San Cristobal de las Casas 29264, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Villa Mercedes
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

First and foremost, this was an OK experience with no significant drawbacks. With that being said, there were some less-than-ideal situations. First, the staff seems to be out of sync and not that friendly. Second, the beds and sheets are nothing to write home about. I would also point out the buffett, wi-fi system and lobby as low points for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andres R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Nothing really bad happened during our stay, just the overall experience was nothing special. Staff is there but is slow and seems confused with pretty standard stuff, the breakfast buffet is nothing to brag about, and they have a really outdated, voucher-based, wi-fi system going on. The hotel is not in the center of San Cristobal, and I'm pretty sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank German R
Adelaide
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Our room was clean and comfortable except for the hard bed (common in Mexico it would seem). There is a coffee machine and an iron and ironing board - two things that have been rare during our stay in Mexico. We arrived quite early after an overnight bus transfer from Oaxaca and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

stayed for a week and everything was excellent, everybody was super friendly and the hotel is very clean, besides being located in a great location right in the heart of the city, would recommend to all my friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Juan Miguel R
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

the hotel is outside the city of San Cristobal, so if you want to visit it you have to take a taxi, the hotel is very noisy, you can hear from your room every step and door of your neighbors, so sleep is impossible, and there were a big excursions arriving and leaving, so sleep were impossible ¡¡ you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank pfl0res
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I stay there for few days for a working meeting. It was nice!! There are some cons: it is Noise during the night (apparently excursions get there and leave very early 3,4,5 am) and they make such noise that sleep is impossible !!! Also the isolation between rooms are poor and you can hear your neighborhood. It is not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank darwinsail
VILLAMERCEDESSC, Director General at Hotel Villa Mercedes, responded to this review

Dear Sr. First at all we want to thank you for have stay with us, we appreciate your comments because is the best way to help us to improve our service; Please accept my apology for the inconvenient you found during your stay, usually in this season we have more vacationist therefor sometimes it may cause noisy, however you can... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is located outside of the center of town, so if you are looking to be right in the action this is not the place for you. It is about a 20 minute walk downtown but a cab is like 30 pesos. The hotel itself is nice enough, clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moni558
VILLAMERCEDESSC, Director General at Hotel Villa Mercedes, responded to this review

Dear guest. I appreciate your valuable comments that every day helps us to better our facilities. I remind you that Hotel Villa Mercedes San Cristobal reflects elegance in its architectural concept and is true colonial style, the colors ocher, stone work, wood carving and antique furniture. Currently we have 16 executive rooms featuring a more modern and innovative design. Waiting... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

we just stayed there 4 nights, all staf was very helpfull, price is worth what you get, very spacious room , quiet , far from the Downtown noise.

Helpful?
1 Thank viajerosmex
Mexico City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

We have just returned from the Villa Mercedes Hotel after having spent 3 nights. It is a brand new hotel with excellent service staff. Quiet and nice. The rooms were ok. The restaurant was ok, although we got bored of the breakfast buffet, it did not have variety, every day was the same, the last day we went to another... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yela
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2005

My wife and I stayed there on a trip right after Christmas 2004. The hotel is located outside downtown so it was quiet. However, it was close enough so that we could walk in about 20 minutes to the park with the cathedral. We took a cab coming back and they charged us 15 pesos. Also, it was 2 minutes... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Transylvania
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 69 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#30 of 69 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#9 of 69 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#14 of 69 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espanol
Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espa...
#24 of 69 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 69 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay