We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
10
53
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All in all we did have a good time staying here. It's in a superb location, has good security and friendly staff. The rooftop terrace and bar have a great view, though the bar tended to start playing really loud music really early - not exactly an early evening chillout spot. Dorms are ok but bunks are basic - you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they helpus to get better¡ We will talk with our bartender about his music, but we like to think that our bar its your as well, we are open to change the music, we take request all night long. Our breakfast, has hot and cold food, such as: eggs, hotcakes, fruit, juice, cereal, coffe, bread, etc.... More 

Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not going lie, when I first arrived in Mexico City I was a little worried about finding a good hostel but luckily my local friends there knew where to go. Located right in the middle of Zocalo, this hostel has a fantastic view overlooking Mexico City with plenty of restaurants nearby and the cathedral within a 2 minute walk. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios. Regresa cuando quieras¡ saludos More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives: Location, almost right on the Zocalo. Great free breakfast, cornflakes, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, hot cakes, toast and coffee. Roof top bar/terrace is nice. Dorm rooms are good, handy with a light and two electrical sockets to charge devices. Negatives: Wifi definatly needs improvement as it cuts out a lot. They do have a couple of computers downstairs but usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We are working with our internet provider, this problem its been fix as we speak... Hopefully will be ready really soon¡¡ please come back any time and let us know what do you think about our improvements. We are glad you have fun and enjoy your staying with us¡ Cheers. More 

Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good clean hostel. Professionally run and very good location for seeing the zocalo and the cathedral. The bar on the roof it's the best feature. Great views over the zocalo. The only downside is that the private rooms are very basic and that the bar tends to be a little party-hostel-esque. Overall a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios, sin duda nos ayudan a mejorar¡ Sobre las habitaciones privadas, tenemos de diferentes tipos, tamaños y... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

ups: small things like two Sockets and a reading lamp at each bunk, small dorm (4 persons), TONS! Of New People everyday perfect for Solo travellers and to get to know People on your Trip. rooftop bar with amazing view, Party every night if You want! LOCATION! directly on the zocalo and Metro is easy to reach. Nice staff, cool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios¡ Vuelve cuando quieras... Saludos y por aca nos vemos¡ More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I think this use to be a party hostel but is not any more due to the protests. Is nearly deserted, manager was rude and THERE'S NO WIFI. Pay only for your first night when getting there as if you decide you want to leave there's no refunds. I booked a double private room as a treat after a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments they help us to get better¡ We apoligize for your bad experience that you have with us, usually people like us¡ We did experience some problems with the wifi, we are working and fixing this matter "RIGHT NOW". I think we offer you some alternatives to help you with the internet problem, right? We have a... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

So close to everything in Centro Historico! The room I was in had a great view out toward the Cathedral & Zocalo. When I arrived, the staff were friendly and helpful - they let me know about the free breakfast, wifi password and hiring towels. The rooms have giant lockers where you can safely store your things and if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments... We are glad you have fun with us. Come back any time¡ Safe travels More 

Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Catedral is the most regular hotel of the line so far. Bad internet sign, unpleasant customer service especially from the Mexican people in the from desk ( they don't know where they are, they cannot advise you about train lines, they don't even have scissors). Some hand dryer machines don't work,they don't clean the sheets and sweep the room floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they helps us to get better... Just so you to know: - We send all our sheets (everyday) to a special loundry service. (we do take care of all our sheets, (cleaning, color, etc) If someboy wants change his (hers) sheets, the only thing that we ask is let us know in the frontdesk and we... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I stayed here for five nights and found it a lovely place to stay. Everyone, staff and guests alike, were very friendly and the location is amazing! Very close to the metro and you have breakfast with the beautiful cathedral each morning. In the dorms you have a light switch and two power points at your bed which is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We are working on our wifi and actually works good, but we are working to improve it¡ Cheers¡ More 

Tulum, Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

This hostel used to be numer one, but Not anymore., Some members of the staff are not polite at all, they are very nervous, Breakfast is not ready on time, they used to have excellent coffee, now it is awful instant coffee. Toilet paper was there during the four days of my stay, they didn´t clean the dorm properly. Roof... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better. We provide with free coffe in our breakfast, (we are sorry you dont like it) But as well we have a free coffe machine in the kitchen. (the machine has 3 different kinds of coffes) The weathe rin the terrace its cold, yes in did...... right now the weather in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay