We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Offers & Announcements
Save MXN100 on select meals
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 294 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Ryan K Tempe, Arizona
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    158
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
144
59
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (424)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent a week in Mexico City in the middle of May. It was my first time there and I was going all over the city to see as much as I could. This hotel is in a great location just off the Paseo de Reforma, one of the most important routes in the city. It is a 20 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, what it is not: 1. Glass and steel cookie cutter overpriced high rise that looks like it was transplanted from LA or Dallas 2. Budget (or expensive) place where the staff makes a point of NOT helping you. What it is: 1. Cozy group of well maintained and secure homes with clean rooms 2. A staff that cares... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind and detailed review. We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a great way to meet fellow travellers and share information at the breakfast table. Huge selection of dishes on the menu in Friendly, helpful staff and a very comfortable room. Would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I would like to add that if for any reason you prefer a more private setting you can have your meals either in the courtyard or in the second dining room. Although we encourage you to meet our other guests. More 

Tuxpan, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, cheap, confy and the breakfast is quite good!!!! Every time I entered the hotel it smelled nice! the people there is nice and always ready to help you with anything you need and everything is clean!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review! We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future. More 

Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After posting pictures of Casa Gonzalez on Facebook, a friend of mine commented that she remembered it from her grad school days. "Say 'hi' to Jorge for me," she said. OK, we're both in our sixties, but I dutifully delivered the message to the current Jorge. "Ah," he responded. "She must be thinking of my father. Tell her 'thank you.'"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for such a beautiful review. I do want to add that we have had guests that have stayed with us over 50 different times over the span of 75 years. We have been open 85 years, I am the fourth generation to manage this guest house. I love flowers, we try to change according to the seasons. I... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place was way beyond our expectations. It's an older building, or set of buildings really, and that shows, especially in the rooms. But this is far out-weighed by the charm of the place, the art deco feel, gorgeous and quiet courtyard, unique art pieces, cozy dining room (faded elegance comes to mind), and the very helpful staff. The location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. All our rooms are different and you stayed in the old house (it was built by my grandfather in about 1920). This house has small rooms. The furniture in part of the rooms is my grandparents original furniture. It is about a hundred years old and we will not replace it because of... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I got a room by the main door also facing to street and it was so noisy that I could not sleep even with the ear-plugs on. After having read all the nice reviews about this hotel an how peaceful it was, I just had to state to my disappointment that my room was totally something else. Besides this the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion, we always appreciate it. We are sorry you had such a bad experience. We will work on improving what you point out. More 

llandogo, pembs
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The lovely interior courtyards and beautifully decorated interiors make this a real standout. Our room was large with a small balcony overlooking the main courtyard. The breakfasts are worth paying extra for with delicious fresh fruit and a good selection of items from the menu. Don't try and pour your own coffee from the cafetieres though; the waiter gets tetchy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind and detailed review. I laughed at what you put about the waiter. We tell him that if guests need to get up and get their own coffee the services is not good. So he is supposed to bring everything to you. We did not think that not having glasses was important. We will reevaluate the... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Located blocks from the column of independence and halfway between the Zocalo and Chupltapec park you'll be well situated for exploring the city. The courtyards create a sense of calm as soon as you're through the door.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Absolutely my only quibble with Hotel Casa Gonzalez was that my bed was hard. I had read earlier reviews that said the same thing, and found myself agreeing with them. However, if you like a really firm bed, that won't be a problem for you. My son thought his bed was ok. Apart from that, we loved it! We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are working on finding options for the hard mattresses. Most of our rooms have new (hard) mattresses and about half of our rooms have a matt that makes them softer. We have extra matts available upon request. I apologize we did not offer them during your stay. We had an earthquake... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

200 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities