We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Offers & Announcements
Save MXN100 on select meals
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SusanJCobb Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    157
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
142
57
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (419)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After posting pictures of Casa Gonzalez on Facebook, a friend of mine commented that she remembered it from her grad school days. "Say 'hi' to Jorge for me," she said. OK, we're both in our sixties, but I dutifully delivered the message to the current Jorge. "Ah," he responded. "She must be thinking of my father. Tell her 'thank you.'"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for such a beautiful review. I do want to add that we have had guests that have stayed with us over 50 different times over the span of 75 years. We have been open 85 years, I am the fourth generation to manage this guest house. I love flowers, we try to change according to the seasons. I... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was way beyond our expectations. It's an older building, or set of buildings really, and that shows, especially in the rooms. But this is far out-weighed by the charm of the place, the art deco feel, gorgeous and quiet courtyard, unique art pieces, cozy dining room (faded elegance comes to mind), and the very helpful staff. The location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. All our rooms are different and you stayed in the old house (it was built by my grandfather in about 1920). This house has small rooms. The furniture in part of the rooms is my grandparents original furniture. It is about a hundred years old and we will not replace it because of... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I got a room by the main door also facing to street and it was so noisy that I could not sleep even with the ear-plugs on. After having read all the nice reviews about this hotel an how peaceful it was, I just had to state to my disappointment that my room was totally something else. Besides this the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion, we always appreciate it. We are sorry you had such a bad experience. We will work on improving what you point out. More 

llandogo, pembs
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lovely interior courtyards and beautifully decorated interiors make this a real standout. Our room was large with a small balcony overlooking the main courtyard. The breakfasts are worth paying extra for with delicious fresh fruit and a good selection of items from the menu. Don't try and pour your own coffee from the cafetieres though; the waiter gets tetchy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind and detailed review. I laughed at what you put about the waiter. We tell him that if guests need to get up and get their own coffee the services is not good. So he is supposed to bring everything to you. We did not think that not having glasses was important. We will reevaluate the... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located blocks from the column of independence and halfway between the Zocalo and Chupltapec park you'll be well situated for exploring the city. The courtyards create a sense of calm as soon as you're through the door.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely my only quibble with Hotel Casa Gonzalez was that my bed was hard. I had read earlier reviews that said the same thing, and found myself agreeing with them. However, if you like a really firm bed, that won't be a problem for you. My son thought his bed was ok. Apart from that, we loved it! We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are working on finding options for the hard mattresses. Most of our rooms have new (hard) mattresses and about half of our rooms have a matt that makes them softer. We have extra matts available upon request. I apologize we did not offer them during your stay. We had an earthquake... More 

sactown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With all the good reviews on this place, I booked it for 2 nights. It is a good location, nice atmosphere and I had a very nice balcony. The 2 ladies at the front desk were very helpful and accommodating. That is the good. Now, the bad. No wi-fi the whole night of my last night there and the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the problems you had during your stay. It is very frustrating because we have recently upgraded and invested a lot of money to have the latest Wi-Fi technology. Our internet service provider had some issues during your stay. Concerning the water shortage, Mexico City has had water shortages for the last forty... More 

San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I booked this hotel though bugeplaces.com and receieved a reservation confirmation and number. However, when my daughter and I turned up at Casa Gonzalez, they had received nothing from budgetplaces and were fully booked. Reception staff were very kind and called several local hotels until they found us a room. Budgetplaces charged my Visa card $20 and despite 3 emails... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry we had a problem with your reservation. We have had technical problems with budgetplaced.com, at this moment we believe they have been solved. We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us another time. More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

One of The best Hotels . We stayed here for 4 days Excellent Coffe and Excellent Dinner. Hotel staff speaks good english and its extremely clean. The advantages of this hotel are it is centre of many attractions and good hotels . its in a very safe neighborhood. Neatly maintained rooms and an amazing garden. Great to have a dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Casa Gonzalez in November, 2014. The hotel is charming; it is a few older houses surrounding lovely tranquil courtyards, and two beautiful dining rooms, where a very good breakfast is served at shared tables. We had a budget room immediately beside the front entrance, facing the road. We didn't have any issues with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review

Thank you for your most kind and detailled review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question