We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Casa del Angel

Positos #17 | Centro Historico, Guanajuato, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hostel Casa del Angel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

We only spent one night there because the place was so awful that we had to leave. There was no hot water, no breakfast, no lockers, no windows in the room, no keylock even though they asked us for 50$M for a key... The room was very small and dirty and so was the bathroom -which is shared by all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ana O
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Unfriendly staff All facilities are dirty- there is no hot Water in the bathroom And the owner doesnt Want to take care of it. The same applies for the bed sheets: dirty And full of stains. No wifi available in the room. I do not recommend this place At all.

Helpful?
Thank laura n

Travelers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Awful place! The windows are broken,so it gets very cold at night plus you hear the noise from the street.very uncomfortable beds.the owner is a liar and super rude! Bathrooms not very clean.the place is quite dark and needs urgent remodeling!it was almost empty and I had a very bed vibe of that "hostel" I will never stay there again....save... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pac R
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This has been my worst experience in Mexico or I can say the worst in all my experiences in all countries.I was locked out of the hostel for a whole night, then get questioned n kicked out of it the next morning. when i got back to the hostel to claim my money back, the female owner called me bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank waninacc
Aguascalientes, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We regret that we stayed here. The owner of the hostel lives in the same building. She is very rude. The bed rooms are smelly and dusty. We all woke up with sore throat. The reception is always with no employer. The locker in the room did not have a lock and they did not provide us. The room door... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Doulanori
Guanajuato, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed there for a week while looking for an apartment, the hostel isn't very fancy but very cosy and with a good atmosphere. Internet works good in the common area, it's clean and breakfast which can be a lot of different things is included. The lockers could be better and the bathroom is a bit shabby but the friendliness... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kaellan
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at the hostel for 2 weeks whilst I found myself a more permanent place to stay. Veronica, Sylvia & Karen were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here at a discounted rate for paying up front. The wifi didn't work very well in the dorm and some new coffee mugs would help. Other than that the hostel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank coatsie79
Guanajuato, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had a great stay in this hostel in the centre of Guanajuato. It was relatively cheap and clean and the staff were friendly. Although the weather was cold at night there were hot showers all day long and the dorm was warm at nighttime. The dorm had a choice of bunk beds and normal beds and had a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hedser D
hostelcasadelangel, Director General at Hostel Casa del Angel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias, estamos Orgullosos de Servirte y darte lo que sabemos, Servicio, Calidad y Precio. Gracias! More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We were slightly sceptical after reading the reviews, but after travelling in central America, we booked with an open mind! We were rewarded with excellent value for money - we had a huge private double twin, with high ceilings and a balcony. It felt like a proper Mexican escape, with birds flying past and bells tolling in the distance. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank GMonster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked this hostel online due to acceptable reviews, arrived and was shown to our rooms in another hostel (Hostel Alonso?) and this was very poor, beds were clean but pillows were dirty. Rooms were very poor on terms of facilities. We booked a room with a private bathroom and did not get this. Very poor experience all round. Definitely... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RHaddon
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#9 of 57 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#5 of 57 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Socavon
Socavon
#16 of 57 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Tio
La Casa del Tio
#12 of 41 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 65 in Guanajuato
5.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Casa de Dante
Hostal Casa de Dante
#3 of 65 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay