We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Hotel website
Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    281
    109
    49
    36
See reviews for
162
291
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (703)
  • Mar-May only
    (248)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (206)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 8 days for the first time and having never been to Mexico we were a little apprehensive. But the staff at Costa Sur made us feel right at home from the first moment we arrived. Our concierge Gustavo was happy, helpful and went above and beyond everyday. We planned trips, dinner, gold, adventure through him and everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The concierge Gustavo helped us everyday with simple requests and provided information to make our trip extra special. The resort was beautiful and had all the amenities that we were looking for. We would definitely like to return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went there for a wedding this past weekend and it's just sad to come to this page to find out that people were getting sick already before our stay because that's exactly what happened to us! all the guess and even both brides got sick from the food or water or whatever it was, one of them was even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gia, As I read your review I feel the need to inform you how the Norovirus works: It is a virus that is mostly common in places with large groups of people like airplanes and cruise ships. It is highly contagious and it spreads very easy if proper hygiene is not practiced like washing your hands after using the... More 

Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I attended a wedding here less than two weeks ago and nearly all the wedding guests got sick. No it wasn't "Montezuma's" from drinking the water. As soon as my friends started describing to me their symptoms I knew.. Norovirus, because I got it on a cruise ship 8 years ago. After returning home a few of us were still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dera Lindsay, Thank you for your comments. I see you are familiar with norovirus. The hotel is taking additional steps to eliminate the virus, but the virus does not live at the property. It is carried from person to person that may well get in contact with the virus on a plane which is were it is commonly found. There... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As our one year wedding anniversary quickly approaches, we figured that there's no better time than the present to provide this long-awaited and well-deserved review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa. So here it goes: We had the most incredible time at Costa Sur last May 2014. Most notably, we were fortunate to have had our wedding there, hosting nearly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for your extensive and so detailed review of that wonderful, once in a life time, experience. We are very proud to have been able to satisfy and exceed your expectations, as well as providing that unique stay through our great staff and service. We will make sure to let Eric, Stefani, Flavio, Mabel and... More 

Northport, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The costa sur management company who sets up trades and deposits the owners guests are unprofessional, lack a caring attitude and are very inefficient. The manager of the office Dale ( I believe) has no authority to fix any of this staffs errors. A true Lame Duck!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir good afternoon. After reading your review I am a bit at a loss, as I am not exactly sure what the problem was (is), as we do not have any Dale working at the Resort, our Member Services rep being Veronica. I am leaving my email address on this comment (Trip Advisor advised me you were not receiving... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Costa Sur Resort & Spa for 4 nights. Now let me break it down for you: 1. The Room. Prior to reserving the room, trusted some TripAdvisor reviews and booked a room on the 8th floor. Was definitely the right move! The rooms were updated with new tile floors and bathroom with stand up shower. Stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad to have provided such a nice vacation experience and satisfied your expectations, beginning with the room reserved and all the way to the sertvice provided by our great staff. Our staff does make a difference... More 

Los Banos, California
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here in mid-April for 2 weeks. Although the room was out-dated, it was a minor inconvenience when we walked out on the patio & saw our view from the 5th floor. It's a view to not soon forget! We enjoyed some of our meals in their restaurant and of course Happy Hour every day from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the vacation experience was a great one. All our rooms, as you very well mention, fully face the ocean, therefore whatever floor you are on will... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll try to make this as short as possible. My wedding was at Costa Sur and I had about 40 family and friends stay here too. This is long overdue as my wedding was a year ago, but still. Here you go... Review on our Stay: Cons: - Old rooms/resort: Although everything was super clean, with age comes old rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Catalina thank you very much for your great review about Mabel, your wedding and overall recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very proud of our staff and Mabel has just shown, through your words, what and how things are done at the Resort, We love to take care and pamper our guests, making sure every detail is... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Read a few reviews before booking so was not surprised that this place is old. Our room was larger than expected with a king size bed, sofa that I think turned into a bed and wouldn't take up all the space even when open, small balcony, bathroom with large shower, small kitchenette. There was plenty of counter space in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are glad we were able to satisfy most of your expectations and would like to confirm we have taken note of your concerns. We want to confirm that we are in the process of upgrading the wifi system (the Resort is full concrete... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

862 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (431)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (86)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (157)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (339)
Viewed
Adults Pool (12)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (94)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (54)
Viewed
Studio (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay