We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Certificate of Excellence
Av. Mexico #1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kielce, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the location was really good (15 min walk to city centre, close to the open beach) and the price is good, there are lots of things that could be fixed: - We had huge problems with Wi-Fi and we couldn't connect it in our rooms - Breakfasts and the whole restaurant was very disappointing (the same meal every day,... More 

Helpful?
Thank adamb2203
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read that your experience was overall not a positive one. We have acknowledged all of your comments in regards to the WiFi and restaurant service. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for staying with us, it was our pleasure to have you over! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good value here. Booked a room for $50 to lay my head for an evening. Pros: - Centrally located downtown. Easy access to beach, clubs, and malecon. - Check in was a breeze. - Good price - Breakfast included Cons: -The room didn't have a safe -WiFi in the room was spotty at best -Hallway had a bleach like smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank evan_h20s
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for all inconveniences, we are working on solving all of them so we can provide a better experience. We are glad to know that overall, you had a good time with us. It was our very pleasure to have... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is close to attractions and the "scene" in PV. It's nothing fancy, and the pool is small, but it's a clean, quiet place to lay your head down. Beware of possible room changes. We requested a double bed and were given two singles. As compensation, they moved us to a queen for the other 6 nights of our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Although the bedding is not guaranteed until the time of arrival, we are glad to read that we did well by accommodating you in a better room. Thank you so much for staying with us! Come back soon to this your home away from home! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room is nice we paid $40 Canadian... (Expedia) Super clean, no bugs... But the room (114) smells like and old dirty mop.. We also need to keep bathroom door closed as it smells like sewage... But at $40 ?!?! It's pretty good price. You get used to the smell after a few tequilas and we are not here to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Po- C
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We apologize on the inconvenience that the smell caused you; we work diligently to solve this issue. We are glad to read that you had an overall good experience and that you enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for your kind comments to our staff, we were very happy to have you stay with us. Thank... More 

Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on recommendation from a list of options for a destination wedding. The staff was friendly, but that was about the best part of the hotel. When we checked into our room there was pubic hairs in the toilet and hairs in the shower. Our room was like a prison cell, small and very dark. The lighting was... More 

Helpful?
Thank FatdogThyme
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are sorry to read your stay was not what you expected. We appreciate your feedback and we thank you for staying with us! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the Superior room through expedia.com When I arrived I got a superior twin room, two twin size beds in a room smaller than some american bathrooms. As soon as I opened the door, I went straight to the phone and called the operator who said that was the only room they had available. I did get the superior... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albert752k2
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We are glad to read you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel. We apologize for all inconveniences caused during your stay. For us, it was a pleasure to have you over. Thank you for staying! More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

My wife and I made the mistake of waiting until the last minute to book our hotel during the December/Xmas break busy season and were forced to pick some random places that were not as highly rated in the B&B/affordable category. The Portonovo is by no means a bad place to stay-I just probably wouldn't stay here again if other,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank longhorn2006
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate your feedback, specially to read you enjoyed the food and location. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

All of the staff were very friendly and ready to help. For our room, the AC didn't work, they attempted to fix it, they couldn't and exchanged the room at no cost. The second room was nice (with working AC), but it was right on the front of the hotel, making it very loud due to road noise. Overall, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AFowler08
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are happy to read you had a good, pleasant stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the nice details we had with you; but most of all, thank yo for staying with us. We hope to have you back soon enough at this you home, away from home! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first two nights in PV. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I felt especially welcomed by Fernando, our singing porter. The free breakfast buffet was very generous and included sweet breads, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, chilaques salsas, beans, meat etc. Along with orange juice and coffee. The rooftop pool is cold and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thaisamused
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

We are happy to read that your stay was overall pleasant. We loved having you over! Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us, but mostly, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you soon! More 

Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

I was there for pleasure for a weekend, and the hospitality recieved by everyone was amazing!! Hotel is located in the best part of town, ideal for walking everywhere, the malecon (boardwalk) is 2 blocks away and most importantly, the beach is only a few steps away!!! Breakfast is very good, and it has all kinds of options for different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulina R
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate all your kind comments on our hospitality, location and added values. We work hard every day to make our guests happy and to make them feel at home . We are very happy to read our goal was fulfilled with you. Thank you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

240 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
#50 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#44 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#33 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#57 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay