We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Certificate of Excellence
Av. Mexico #1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    43
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
32
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

The hotel is nice, clean, in the heart of Puerto Vallarta city center, very close to a nice beach, with a small swimming pool and nice terrace on top of the hotel. The breakfast was also nice in the mornings. Rooms are clean and new refurbished in a modern style. Most of the staff is very nice mostly cleaners and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we are very saddened to read about the bad attitude of the receptionist spoiling the beginning of your vacation. Management has been informed of it, and we will pay close attention for it is inexcusable to provide such poor costumer service in a hotel, were people go to relax and enjoy their time off. Thank you for letting... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

This property is just moments away from the malecon (boardwalk) just as one enters the old town. As such, you're never too far from points of interest: restaurants and bars which line the boardwalk or others up the hill, historical sites such as Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, and of course the beach. It is not smack in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we loved reading you comment and how much you enjoyed our location, it looks like it allowed you to live the true PV experience. We value the time you took to post and comment so highly on our staff. It was our great pleasure to have you stay with us and we can't wait to have you back!... More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Food was great!! One of the best benefits is being so close to downtown. In my opinion, it was really worth what I paid for. The only things they need to fix is the leaking of water from the shower doors, and the internet seems to be very busy at times. The rooms were pretty small but again the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we have submitted your review to Management so we can double check the showers and correct the issue as well as to improve the Internet service. We feel very happy that you had a wonderful time and we can't wait to have you back! Thank you for reviewing and thank you for staying with us! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I booked this hotel due to the review on trip advisor. The hotel had no standard amenities; no safe, no clock, no dresser, no ice machine, or ice of any kind. We had to buy ice and then keep it in the one and only waste basket that was in the room. The bar was physically present, but was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, on TripAdvisor we don't list any of the amenities you mention we don't have, but we apologize if there was anything on the website that might've confused you. The only amenity that we did have listed -and that is temporarily out of service- is the bar, but we have removed tit from the amenities and services list. We... More 

Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We were just here two weeks ago. Had two rooms with two queen beds in each. Rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms. Bottled water in rooms each day was nice. Hotel staff very pleasant. Small rooftop pool and sitting area. Daily breakfast buffet had good number of choices both hot and cold. One block from beach. VERY short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such nice and kind review! We very much appreciate you appreciating the concept of the hotel. We are more than happy to know how much you enjoyed staying with us. Please know that it was our very pleasure to have you over and that we can't wait to have you and your son back! More 

North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

clean and comfortable. it's a newer hotel so no musty smell. great little pool and resturaunt on the roof. breakfast is free and basic. but edible. in the heart of the market. close to the malecon. will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, it'll be our very pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for the very nice grade you gave us. Come back soon! :) More 

Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We stayed at the Portonovo Plaza for seven days in February. The first 3 days in one room, then stored some luggage (for free) while we made a trip to Yelapa... and finally back to the Portonovo Plaza for another four days. The rooms were small but quiet, the bed in each room was comfortable and we always had hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to read your review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay, our location, cleanliness and that we treated you nicely. Thank you for your evaluating us so well, we appreciate your kind recommendation and we value very much you pointing out all the good things about our little great hotel. It was an... More 

Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Last thanksgiving weekend I experienced along with my friends a not only shining example of great hospitality but professional service at the Portonovo Plaza Hotel in Puerto Vallarta. Overly qualified as for to the price we paid for to be honest. I would certainly highly recommend it to anyone I ever know is visiting this gorgeous beach in Mexico. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you so much for your kind review. We were thrilled to read it, and to know we made your stay so pleasant. We enjoyed having you and your friends over and we sure hope to have you back in the near future. Thank you again! More 

southern VA, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

These are small rooms, but nicely done, very modern. Shower and beds are great. No view, but you're just a couple blocks off the beach. Good staff, English spoken, lots of food choices and shopping nearby, and close to the boardwalk. The price is definitely right and you can't go wrong here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you so much for your kind review! We know you had a pleasant stay for it was our pleasure having you over. Please come back soon "a su casa fuera de casa" (to your home away from home). It'll be our very pleasure to accommodate you again and always! More 

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The good: Price: paid about $50/night in January. Can't beat that. Location: close to everything, including grocery (Ley), buses, water, lots of shops, restaurants. Clean: no critters, maid kept room spotless TV: Good size TV, lots of channels including those in English Nice extras: I like the pool at the top floor - small although a nice view. Has AC.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we are very happy to know that your stay was overall pleasant. We thank you for bringing up the things we are missing/lacking, we have submitted them to management so we can improve. Thank you for staying with us! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

237 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Red Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room with Balcony (18)
Viewed
Standard Two Doubles Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
#51 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#50 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#33 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#18 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#57 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay