We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

3.0 of 5 Av. Blancarte 130, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    64
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
32
65
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in room 112 and I was shocked that they even rented the room. The drapes were falling off the rod, the floor was dirty, the shower tile was cracked substantially and the shower door didn't fit well and there was leakage and mold in the corner. The clerk gave us a good deal At $80 a night. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, I apologize for the overall bad experience; and I appreciate your honesty and the pictures. Unfortunately some of the rooms in our property are not up to the standards we uphold, as you say we used to be better. Some of the stuff you showed is not dirty, but old, and then not being supervised closely. The GOOD NEWS... More 

chula vista, al
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I have stayed here numerous times over the past 20 or so years, and was always willing to pay the higher than normal rates, because the property was reliably impeccable, with obvious attention to maintenance details, unlike some other nearby hotels. This time I was disappointed. Right after we registered and went out to the elevator, I saw dirt bulld-up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of I would like to thank you for your continued patronage over the years, and your sincerity in your review that allows us the chance to continue improving ourselves, as you have witnessed over the years. I truly apologize for your last experience. Now here are the good news, we have begun our remodeling of our rooms,... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Maybe a little spendy for Ensenada. Hotel in good location, easy walking distance to restaurants, bars and the waterfront. Shower and sink area had soap, shampoo and conditioner wall dispensers which as handy. Front staff was pleasant and helpful. Room included breakfast at their restaurant across the street...no complaints about our breakfast. Overall, good stay!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the amenities were to your liking. Our prices are comparable to the hotels in the area, and we feel that with all that our room includes such as fast pass to cross over to the US faster, american breakfast, parking, coffee and bottled... More 

Loreto, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We spend one night a year in Ensendada on our way back to Loreto from San Francisco. We have usually stayed in another hotel 1/2 a block away, but decided we wanted a change. Posada El Rey Sol looked inviting and the location was perfect. The front desk clerk was very helpful as we wanted a king bed on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear friend, We are glad you stayed with us on your way down to Baja South, we are happy to hear you had a good experience in our Posada El Rey Sol, we take pride in our staff and are always looking foward to see our customer again. Thanks for taking your time to write this review, is very important... More 

Downey, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

They have bad customer service, check in is at 3pm and they had my rooms ready until 5pm. rooms are old nothing compare to what i saw on pictures. Another person walked into my room because reception sold the same room next monring. which could be dangerous for your belonings or your family. if you want AC you need a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Springboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was an ok place, a bit outdated, dirty carpet with a loud a/c unit. They were very nice people, but they should invest in their property and really work to pull this up to par with some of the other hotels in the area. If they did, they could charge much more and people would be so excited to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Terri: First of all, we appreciate you taking the time to comment about us, as it is very important for us to listen to our clients. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit, and would like to explain that we are constantly improving out property. In fact, we just installed 37 brand new ecological AC... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I submitted my review and it conveniently didn't make it onto here. My mom and I stayed here for about a week and a half and ended up switching hotels, finally had enough. Dirty, out dated, rude management, pool and jucuzzi are filthy, a/c in the room leaked and left a huge wet area on the nasty carpet, absolutley no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, First of I apologize that you had such an unpleasant experience with us, and that we were unable to give you the experience that you deserve as a customer. We are a family-owned business and we take great pride in bettering ourselves. It is unfortunate that you did not give us a chance to remedy some of the complaints... More 

Santa Ana, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Well located to central tourist strip. Do be careful driving to Ensenada until the private road is rebuilt. I have seen many accidents (bad ones) on the old road going into ensenada. There is one particular girl working the front desk at the Posada who has a wonderful smile, is cute and was extremely helpful to me both times I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear David S, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We love to hear from returning customers, and we truly appreciate your patronage. Our receptionist was very proud and happy to hear that she has made a pleasant impression on our customers. Indeed we had some nudists in our hotel for the first time ever!!!! And we... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times and have always had positive experiences. The staff is friendly and helpful and most speak English (better than my rusty Spanish) The location is great, easy walking distance to the harbor and downtown Ensenada. Easy access to great restaurants, fun bars, and all of the nightlife of Ensenada. The pool and jacuzzi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear Ruggerscoot thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you are a loyal customer of ours. For our staff is a pleasure to help you out with all your needs. We hope you have the opportunity to visit our facilities once again really soon, and enjoy one of the rooms... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I'd booked a room with 2 queens on booking.com. It was advertised as being nicely decorated with a private balcony and air-conditioning. The air-conditioning didn't work, the water pressure in the shower was very low, and there was no balcony. We were tired, I didn't remember that I'd been promised a balcony and I didn't think to ask to change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing ​your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the misunderstanding you experienced through your reservation with booking.com. We are a boutique hotel and each of our rooms is decorated differently, and we only have ten rooms with balconies out of our 52 rooms. If our clients would like to reserve a room, it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Address: Av. Blancarte 130, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay