We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Ensenada hotels

Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Av. Blancarte 130, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
72%
Ranked #5 of 36 hotels in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
BajaAlley Loreto, Mexico
  • Overview
  • Reviews (182)
  • Photos (97)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    61
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
30
60
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loreto, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spend one night a year in Ensendada on our way back to Loreto from San Francisco. We have usually stayed in another hotel 1/2 a block away, but decided we wanted a change. Posada El Rey Sol looked inviting and the location was perfect. The front desk clerk was very helpful as we wanted a king bed on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downey, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They have bad customer service, check in is at 3pm and they had my rooms ready until 5pm. rooms are old nothing compare to what i saw on pictures. Another person walked into my room because reception sold the same room next monring. which could be dangerous for your belonings or your family. if you want AC you need a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was an ok place, a bit outdated, dirty carpet with a loud a/c unit. They were very nice people, but they should invest in their property and really work to pull this up to par with some of the other hotels in the area. If they did, they could charge much more and people would be so excited to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Terri: First of all, we appreciate you taking the time to comment about us, as it is very important for us to listen to our clients. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit, and would like to explain that we are constantly improving out property. In fact, we just installed 37 brand new ecological AC... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I submitted my review and it conveniently didn't make it onto here. My mom and I stayed here for about a week and a half and ended up switching hotels, finally had enough. Dirty, out dated, rude management, pool and jucuzzi are filthy, a/c in the room leaked and left a huge wet area on the nasty carpet, absolutley no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, First of I apologize that you had such an unpleasant experience with us, and that we were unable to give you the experience that you deserve as a customer. We are a family-owned business and we take great pride in bettering ourselves. It is unfortunate that you did not give us a chance to remedy some of the complaints... More

Santa Ana, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Well located to central tourist strip. Do be careful driving to Ensenada until the private road is rebuilt. I have seen many accidents (bad ones) on the old road going into ensenada. There is one particular girl working the front desk at the Posada who has a wonderful smile, is cute and was extremely helpful to me both times I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear David S, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We love to hear from returning customers, and we truly appreciate your patronage. Our receptionist was very proud and happy to hear that she has made a pleasant impression on our customers. Indeed we had some nudists in our hotel for the first time ever!!!! And we... More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times and have always had positive experiences. The staff is friendly and helpful and most speak English (better than my rusty Spanish) The location is great, easy walking distance to the harbor and downtown Ensenada. Easy access to great restaurants, fun bars, and all of the nightlife of Ensenada. The pool and jacuzzi was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear Ruggerscoot thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you are a loyal customer of ours. For our staff is a pleasure to help you out with all your needs. We hope you have the opportunity to visit our facilities once again really soon, and enjoy one of the rooms... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I'd booked a room with 2 queens on booking.com. It was advertised as being nicely decorated with a private balcony and air-conditioning. The air-conditioning didn't work, the water pressure in the shower was very low, and there was no balcony. We were tired, I didn't remember that I'd been promised a balcony and I didn't think to ask to change... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing ​your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the misunderstanding you experienced through your reservation with booking.com. We are a boutique hotel and each of our rooms is decorated differently, and we only have ten rooms with balconies out of our 52 rooms. If our clients would like to reserve a room, it... More

Salton City, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at his hotel on my first trip to Ensenada. The Hotel has a quaint feel to it. It is comfortable and in a great spot. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. The price was also good and they were able to recommend some good spots for food and sight seeing. The only reason why I did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Dear Juan, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. For our staff to make you feel like home is one of our mottos. We apologize for the pool appearance, it was not dirty but needs Some maintenance, and we are working to get it ready for summer. And regarding the WIFI,... More

Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have been visiting Ensenada for almost 50 years now and have stayed at many hotels and rented many vacation properties, but this was my first time staying at the Posada El Rey Sol. The staff is great. We reserved three rooms during Carnival Ensenada. Needless to say the hotel was quite busy, but the highly professional front desk staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and letting us know what we are doing right. Our receptionist Andrea was very excited to read your review, and happy to hear she contributed to your good experience. We look forward... More

california
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The location and private parking are the first good things about this place, unusual in Ensenada. Our room was large with good TV, in-room coffee, good bed and bathroom. The shower was pretty but hot water a bit iffy. All in all I would stay here again for the location and security, a good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We like to hear from our customers so we can continue improving our service. We do apologize for the hot water situation, but are happy to hear you had an otherwise good experience with us! We hope to see you again very soon Regards, Jeannelle Bitterlin General... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Address: Av. Blancarte 130, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ensenada with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
52

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer