We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Av. Blancarte 130, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Add Photo

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    83
    74
    30
    16
    14
See reviews for
38
72
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Central to restaurants and shopping, El Rey Sol is a fantastic hotel. My husband and I stayed for our ten year anniversary. Our room was clean and decorated with unique furniture to give the room a boutique hotel feel. They offer a continental breakfast across the street at their restaurant. You can choose between two plates: two eggs your way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your patronage and for writing such a thorough review. It makes us very happy to see a satisfied customer who enjoyed all of our amenities, such as our hot american breakfast. We are sorry that our pool was closed for remodeling, but happy to let you know it is done! You'll find our pool and hot... More 

Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had been wanting to take my wife to Baja California - Ensenada for years. While she is from Mexico she had never been there. I, on the other hand being originally from So-Cal had spent a few weekends down there when I was young and single. As we came up on our anniversary I felt lucky to find a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your patronage, and for taking the time to write your kind and honest review. Fun and adventurous guests like you make the hotelier experience worth it!! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room, the amenities and overall the property we are working so hard to remodel and be up to par for... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Front desk staff spoke both English and Spanish. Hotel is in close to all the shops, restaurants and port. The beds were comfortable only thing is trying to find a parking spot on Saturday night was a mission because it was full but other else than that no issues finding parking any other nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, We are happy to hear this was your first trip to out beautiful city, and hope it was the first of many! Thank you for your patronage and your review. We try to accomodate all our guests in the front and back parking lots, and I apologize for the inconvenience. Kind regards Jeannelle Bitterlin More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for the Rosarito Ensenada bike race weekend of May 2nd. At the time that we booked the only room left was an apartment. We paid $600 for a 2 night stay. It was HORRIBLE! The place was extremely dirty and the air conditioner was not working. The fans were so dirty we were afraid of turning them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for your experience with us, and thank you for writing this review. Client feedback whether is negative or positive is an amazing tool for us to improve. I did speak to housekeeping regarding this situation because our standard is absolute cleanliness. Our housekeeper reported that she cleaned the areas needed and... More 

Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well supplied. This place is pet friendly. We did not have one of those rooms but I certainly will ask for one next time. I often stay in Rosarita Beach but the extra drive to here is well worth it. I'm looking forward to my next trip when the newly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, amenities and overall experience. We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are also happy to hear that you gave Ensenada a chance! Rosarito is beautiful, but we like to think that Ensenada with the wineries, etc has a bit more to offer. We look... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The hotel was clean, excellent remodeled shower, plenty of towels, free coffee and tea in room, flat screen TV w/excellent cable reception, Bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and free parking and wifi. Very close and walking distance to local restaurants, shops, and nightlife. The only downside is the noise (we were on 1st floor) may be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello Philip, We are glad to hear that you had such a great experience with us, and that you were able to enjoy our hospitality. We aim to provide the best experience possible for our guests through great customer service and amenities. We look forward to seeing you soon, Jeannelle Bitterlin More 

San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Based on other reviews we expected something better. In the 3 days we were there not once did we get hot water. The sheets on one of the beds were not clean, they were stained. The door had a paper towel to plug a hole that apparently used to have a handle and there was no refrigeration in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and inform us how we can better ourselves. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in your recent stay. We are shocked that you experienced these issues, and We would have loved to hear about them at the hotel so that we could have moved you. As for the... More 

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Went here awhile back with a friend on a road trip around northern Baja, and we enjoyed our stay. In the heart of town and easy to walk everywhere. Service was friendly, mattress not bad. A good value overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully your overall experience in Baja. We have been remodeling our rooms, and by next month we will have a new jacuzzi and pool! Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Jeannelle Bitterlin More 

San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The staff is very helpful and friendly,our room was very cozy and it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay; coffee, sandals, plenty of towels,etc...All the main tourist points were walking distance and it was so nice to walk thru Cale Primera with all the little shops, cafes and restaurants just by stepping out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us your kind review. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! It is a pleasure to hear that we are doing a goos job with you, our customer. We look forward to seeing you soon again in our beautiful city of... More 

Pomona, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I went to Ensenada to meet with some friends for the weekend, and we stayed at The Americans Best Value Inn-Posada El Rey Sol, I was pleasant surprise, the rooms have a lots of character, very nice and clean. and the service at the front desk as well as the rest of the hotel staff were great, and been very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your patronage and your kind review. We like to hear from our clients, as that motivates us to improve ourselves and give you the best possible experience. We are happy to hear that you had such a great experience! We look forward to seeing you soon, Jeannelle Bitterlin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay