We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Orford hotels

The Crown & Castle

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2-night October Offering
The Crown & Castle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Crown & Castle to your Saves list
94%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Gill L
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    84
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
367
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (475)
  • Mar-May only
    (135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Crown & Castle for three nights in a suite, dinner bed & breakfast. Absolutely faultless... amazing customer service, attentive but unobtrusive staff. Our suite was fabulous, furnished very well, fresh milk in the rooms on a daily basis, sat out on the balcony taking in the view, stunning! The breakfast was good, tea / coffee / juice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary long weekend – thank you for choosing the C&C as the place to enjoy your celebration. Thank you too for the lovely remarks about the suite, food, service etc. We appreciate them enormously but must confess it does help when the weather is as good as it was over the weekend! We... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed one night at this lovely hotel and received a wonderful warm welcome from the Manager and his staff (other hotels in the Aldeburgh area please take note!) We were upgraded to one of the new Garden Rooms, a fabulous room, tastefully decorated, with a king size bed, flat screen TV and spacious bathroom with a large walk in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review. We were glad to be able to give you a free upgrade to a Best Terrace room. It's something we always try to do if we have a better room available than the one booked, and it's very nice to have it acknowledged. We are glad, too, that you enjoyed... More

Temple Cloud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you stay in an establishment owned by the redoubtable TV Hotel Inspector Ruth Watson you just know it's going to be everything a hotel should be. She doesn't disappoint; the C & C is superb. The beautiful location, quality furnishings & fittings, ambiance, the friendliest, helpful & downright efficient staff you could hope for. Oh! And did I mention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

One day I'll live down the Hotel Inspector sobriquet but obviously it's going to take longer than the 7 (???) years since I last presented the show! That aside, thank you so much for your extraordinarily generous review. We are really grateful for all the praise showered on rooms, service and food –it gives everyone a real boost. Thank you... More

East Horsley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As many people have mentioned this is an excellent hotel - the location, quality of the rooms and the food. However I am afraid that these aspects are off set by the fact that the hotel charged the full rate for the room and dinner weeks in advance, unlike other hotels that merely take details of the credit card at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your praise of the hotel, rooms and food. I am sorry you objected to having your card charged for the room and dinner at the time of booking but it was made utterly clear on the phone (and in written confirmation) that we ONLY do this for a single Friday night stay, which you booked, or bookings... More

Glasgow
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
59 hotel reviews
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely, relaxing weekend here. As we had our dog with us, we stayed in a garden room each of which has a semi private terrace with table and chairs looking onto the peaceful garden. Our room was spacious, well equipped and very comfortable, although the wifi was a bit unreliable at times. Everything a dog could want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

We are so please you all enjoyed your weekend with us. Thank you very much indeed for the lovely comments about the rooms, food, welcome etc. I am glad you enjoyed Orford itself, too. Your remark about a recipe for the dog biscuits has been duly noted and we will make sure this is available in future. (I should add,... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently stayed for four nights at this hotel and arrived with great expectations after reading the reviews. We were not disappointed but have to confess that, on first impressions, we were a little underwhelmed and readers may well ask why. Our room was very comfortable but one had to ask for certain toiletries, bathrobes or a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

It's a great pleasure to know you "will soon be back". Thank you very much for all the nice comments about the service, food, village etc. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. As for the criticisms, you are absolutely right that the reason we don't distribute dressing gowns etc., as the norm is because of... More

St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a lovely hotel and although it was good to be here on business it will be nice to come back with my partner, this is an exceptional place and it is made this by the excellent staff, nothing is to much trouble, the decor is very good and the food is excellent . I would recommend this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your positive review of the C&C. We are delighted you enjoyed the service, decor and food. We hope you will, indeed, return with your partner the next time and are able to enjoy more of the hotel and environs. More

London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Crown & Castle and returning after such a first rate initial experience is often dangerous. However, we were not disappointed and we definitely demand of ourselves another stay in the future. After a 3 night stay, with our dog, we returned home several kilos heavier (despite the fantastic walks in Orford and surrounding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

You are right: going back somewhere you liked can often be a disappointment. We are so glad this was not the case on your second visit to the C&C. With due modesty, we are aware most guests appreciate our food, service and the comfort of our rooms but how lovely that you also enjoyed the company of our other guests.... More

Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to the really friendly team - we only stayed one night and would have loved to stay longer but even so, we both felt wonderfully recharged. Our dog was made to feel very welcome in both the garden room and in Trinity restaurant. Lovely garden room, great food and I too particularly loved the soap - I now... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you and Monty enjoyed your stay with us. We do love our canine visitors and it's as much a pleasure to make them feel welcome as their owners. Thank you for the compliments about the food, room and, of course, the soap! Arran Aromatics grapefruit soap IS quite divine. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We returned to the C&C for a 2 night break and found it to be just as good as when we visited 3 years ago. We had a Better House Double in the main building (no 7) with lovely views of Orford Ness and the castle (keep). The hotel had warned us on booking that the room is above the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review

It is particularly good to receive reviews from guests who are returning after a few years because it gives us a benchmark as to how we are progressing. So, thank you very much – and for all the useful detail, especially about room 7 being quieter than you had expected. (We just like to make sure that anyone especially sensitive... More

Do you own or manage The Crown & Castle?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Castle
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay