We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Certificate of Excellence
11 Oxford Rd, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    211
    63
    20
    13
    4
See reviews for
31
205
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WE stayed here for a friend's party. They squeezed us in to the restuanrat and the food was divine. The room was incredibly comfortable, a little small and it got very warm quickly. Great shower and service from staff was brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are extremely pleased that your experience with us was satisfactory. We will keep the standards high and we hope to see you with us again. Best wishes! More 

Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights and just a short 15 minute drive to Blenheim Palace. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff made us feel very welcome. We had an evening meal here both nights and were not disappointed. The breakfasts we had were also excellent. This is a fabulous place to stay will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed all of the aspects of the Bell and you chosen us as your first review! We wish you all the best and hope to see you in the future. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second lunch here, this time with a colleague. The bar and dining areas are well thought out, with excellent service from attentive staff. We had the cold rib of beef (pink), which was delicious. It was lunch, so the portion was spot on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

How lovely. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch and we hope to see you soon! More 

Monte-carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean, but very small with a low beamed ceiling. The bed was comfortable and there was a reasonable amount of storage space. There was no fridge or safe in the room. Lighting was inadequate. The car parking area was at the back with no short cut for loading or unloading which was not easy in the rain.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you for your time taking to review the Bell Inn. We are sorry to hear your disappointment regarding the hotel. However, if I may - we are a small Inn not a hotel, therefore we do not provide fridge or safe in the bedroom. However both facilities are available behind the bar. Some of the bedrooms are original 200... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiance and I were looking for a hotel for the night in the area - I wanted the typical English pub/ hotel in the countryside! Came across this on trip advisor. Booked an executive room. We arrived at 2.30 and were able to get straight into the room. Staff on reception were lovely, friendly and helpful. Room is perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

How lovely! Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are extremely happy that you have enjoyed all of the aspects of the Bell and we wish you all the best in your married life! More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely country pub with luxury touches such as stone sinks in the toilets and fresh flowers throughout the pub. Friendly staff. We both had steak and triple cooked chips, not cheap but we both cleared our plates. Room was spotless, possibly a bit snug, but again unexpected lux extras such as great coffee and l'occitane toiletries. Great breakfast too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Lovely. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon. Please, do give us a call next time to ensure the best room available. Regards. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited the Bell a couple of times for an overnight stay and dinner before, my husband and I fell in love with it and decided it was perfect for our wedding reception. We got married at Oxford town hall and then got a red bus back to the Bell for the reception. We had 75 guests and without exception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Dear Steph and Martin, thank you so much for your wonderful review!!! We are all very pleased to hear that you and all of your guests enjoyed your special wedding day. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and my personal pleasure to assist you with all the details. We wish you all the best and hope to see... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff at the hotel are exceptional; they are efficient, polite, helpful and friendly - just faultless. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and we were very impressed with our meal. My husband had a seafood starter followed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We all take pride in our roles at the Bell, I must say that chef in particular takes extra consideration with his steaks. We are also pleased that you have taken advantage of the ideal location. We hope to see... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after my friend's wedding in Oxford. It was exactly what we needed. It was quiet, clean, stylish and inviting. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was outstanding. It was presented beautifully, well cooked and exceptionally tasty! It is also reasonably priced. We visit Oxford quite regularly and will definitely be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Wow, what lovely comments! We are very pleased to hear that this was your ideal getaway. We hope you have enjoyed the wedding of your friends and we hope you will be back in the area soon. All the best. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

My partner and I stayed here at the weekend after booking last minute...we were not disappointed! We stayed in the executive suite which was not only beautifully decorated but spotlessly clean. Following check-in and a few drinks outside on the terrace (road traffic minimal and slow despite other reviews) we changed and went for dinner. Orders were taken at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed all of the aspects of the Bell. It is rewarding to hear that we are keeping our standards up to date. We hope to see you with us soon. Best wishes. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidlington
2.7 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 stars 998 reviews
3.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 43 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
6.7 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 43 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay