We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Certificate of Excellence
11 Oxford Rd, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Hotel amenities
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 8 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Hugh P Oxford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    203
    62
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
31
196
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been going to The Bell since it opened. It is incredibly reliable, our go-to place, and that doesn't mean it's dull, it's consistently good.The staff always very helpful and the service prompt. The cooking always spot on. Please though, keep an eye on the prices - we have just been for lunch and on the specials menu a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Dear Hugh, thank you very much for taking time to write your comments. We do appreciate your loyalty and are always happy to see you here at the Bell. We absolutely understand your concerns and we did have a meeting about it. Consistency is very important and we would like to reassure you that size of the portion will reflect... More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great place this is , never been before but will most defiantly be going back , even if it is a long way! It was pretty busy for a Saturday night but that wasn't a problem as the staff were fantastic ! What great food , the squid was a winner for a starter as was the prawns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

What a fabulous review! Thank you very much for taking time to write your comments. We are very glad to read that our famous grilled king are still very popular. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Oxford, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am always hesitant to eat out on a Monday as I always feel that after the weekend service is not as good and things tend to be off the menu. This is not the case however at The Bell, we started with their wonderful prawns in garlic, cooked in the pizza oven, this came with garlic pizza base, exceptionally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Every day, even on Mondays we are doing our best to keep high standards of the Bell. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you soon. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

Having called The Bell at 13.45 to check if lunch was still available, we arrived at 14.20, just before the lunch menu finished. We found a scrupulously clean pub with quietly courteous staff who gave us prompt attention and served excellent food. The salad with pine nuts was made with supremely fresh crisp vegetables, an excellent balance of flavour, artichokes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

How lovely! Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are all very pleased to read your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed all of the aspects of the Bell and we hope to see you again. Best wishes. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Stayed for bank holiday weekend. 3 nights and enjoyed clean and comfortable rooms and great food. Staff were accommodating at all times. Would definitely come back again. Beautiful surroundings and some great local walks. Another 12 characters.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review. We look forward to your next visit. All the best! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Great pub and restaurant, rooms are all private cottage type toons and food really good value If you are over 5'8" remember to "duck" Rooms are nice but probably exec are better Would recommend for Oxford and Bicester village visits as between the 2 as good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Lovely, thank you very much for your kind comments. You are absolutely right, if you are too tall, please make sure you reserve one of our executive bedrooms as the cottage rooms maintain old historical ceilings. We hope you will reserve with us soon and do not forget to get your free mini prosecco! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We were recommended The Bell by another pub in the area who were already fully booked. I phoned to ask if I could bring my (well behaved) dog with us and we were given a table in the bar area which was beautifully set up when we arrived. We ordered fish and chips, Cotswold lamb and one of the burgers.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your lovely review. As you have correctly mentioned dogs are allowed in the bar area, the quality of service and food is not affected. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I found either the portions slightly too small for the price or the prices are slightly too high , The food was very nice and perfectly cooked however £15 for basically burger and fries or fish and chips is a tad too expensive never mind what fancy name you call it , £10 to £12 would be more like it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time taken to review the Bell. We do appreciate all your feedback. We believe the price reflects the locally sourced produce and home made quality cooked food. However I will pass the comment out to our head chef and see what we can do about it. Based on your disappointing first visit, we do... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We stayed here for two nights in one of the executive double rooms which was spacious, spotless and well equipped apart from the lack of bath robes, something you would expect from an establishment advertising itself as five star with prices to match. The rooms are tastefully furnished and our stay was most comfortable. Our evening meals were excellent, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest review. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed all of the aspects of the Bell. I do apologise about the breakfast, I do remember that weekend and I must say that we did have a new member of staff in training. We wish you all the best and we hope... More 

oxford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We had the pleasure of staying here last night 24th April 2015. Just one night and just my husband and myself.... And what a pleasure it was! Check in was fast and lovely. Room 2 was very spacious. I am very hard to please, but I couldn't fault The Bell. Lovely bed, lovely bathrooms, lovely linen. If I was being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your great review. We are extremely pleased that all aspects of the Bell were up to your expectations and met all standards. Again, we would like to thank you and we hope to see you again soon! All the best. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay