We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Kidlington B&Bs / inns

The Bell at Hampton Poyle

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11 Oxford Rd, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bell at Hampton Poyle to your Saves list
The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
88%
Ranked #3 of 8 Kidlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Paul L Manchester
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    51
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
22
165
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are from North West. Had to go to heathrow Airport to pick up daughter so thought we would stop over night in Bicester arae and go go the Factory Outlet..Which is when we came across THE BELL in Hampton... Little Gem, Great Food, Great Accommodation nice Staff Would Recommend Paul & Maddy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small and friendly this is more of a restaurant with rooms. The food was very good and the staff helpful, efficient and friendly. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Parking can be a problem due to the popularity of the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a business trip. Seems to be a very popular place to eat for the locals which is always a good sign. The bedroom was very clean, large and airy. Bathroom very modern and clean too. Food at dinner and breakfast a treat. All in all, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have eaten at The Bell a few times now and felt it deserved a review. Every time I have been here the food and atmosphere has been fantastic. As soon as you walk in there is a very warm, inviting and friendly atmosphere. The staff are friendly and attentive and the food is great. Can highly recommend the Roast Beef... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review! We are very pleased to hear appreciation from our regular customers. Sunday roast is always a winner and we look forward to welcoming you here at the Bell soon. More

London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from a lovely weekend at The Bell, picked this hotel as close to Bicester Village and it didn't disappoint. On arriving the staff were friendly, helpful and made you feel so welcome. We stayed in Room 7 and it was stunning and very comfortable. Dinner didn't disappoint the food was fantastic as was the breakfast. This is definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed the whole package. Do not forget that we still have 10% discount vouchers for Bicester Village, which you can collect next time you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. More

Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We like to stay in Oxford for a couple of different reasons but this visiting this pub has now made it three! Great location to be close to Bicester Village for an early shop and not to far from London to make both an option for a long weekend. You know if you have picked the right place in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review! As you have rightly mentioned about the barman and the service - a warm welcome and a smile is very important so I do appreciate your acknowledgement and comment. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the whole package the Bell has to offer. Please, do give us a call next... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Many years since I visited The Bell. No longer a tired village pub, there has been a very stylish upgrade with extension added giving Hampton Poyle a lovely oldie world pub and hotel. Siting outside on a lovely summers day we ordered drinks and lunch my wife deciding on the lamb and I the grilled prawns, the service was friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to see happy returning customers and we hope to see you around soon again. More

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Went for a wedding and what superb choice of venue. The place is country smart and extremely well done. Our room was great, well furnished and comfortable. Food was excellent, and for saying it was for 70 people it was superb. I would love to go and try their normal menu. Particular praise must go to the staff who were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. We are very happy to hear your satisfaction of the Bell. I must say the Bell is very popular for a wedding venue and we wish the newly weds all the best. Hopefully we will see you soon to sample our full menu. More

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Beautiful large room and Bathroom. We stayed in room 1. Excellent air flow, beautiful Scandinavian/New England feel to the room ( probably the shutters). Excellent service. Everyone kind and thoughtful. Food was delicious. Prawns cooked to perfection served with flat bread and tasty dips. A marvellous thing called a gentleman's lunch - cold rare roast beef served almost like carpaccio,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. The owner's wife decorated the whole place, she has a very good eye for detail and we are very pleased you liked it. We are also very happy the service and the meal during your evening went well and we look forward to having you with us again. More

Isle of Man
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

First and foremost I must mention the staff; everyone was so polite, friendly and helpful - they really couldn't have done more for us. We were in room 6, which is in one of the cottages, and the room was spotless and full of character. If you are tall, you may want to note that it does have a low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. We absolutely agree with room 6 - it is a charming room, but low ceiling. Thank you again and hope to see you with us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Bell at Hampton Poyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Address: 11 Oxford Rd, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell at Hampton Poyle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Bell at Hampton Poyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Hotel Kidlington
The Bell At Hampton Poyle Kidlington, Oxfordshire

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kidlington with
any amenities