We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4

Oxford Rd | Moto Service Area A34, Chieveley RG18 9XX, England
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015
anjelichapel Spalding, United Kingdom
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
29
31
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4
See the most recent reviews
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Great beds , peaceful area , shame you have to ask for extra tea bags , there are never enough left in the rooms , WIFI is free for 30 minutes but could not access it the next morning without paying .

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I have just stayed at Newbury Chieveley as it was well placed for visiting family. We chose travelodge as three adults can stay together and most hotels would have meant getting an additional room for twice the cost. We also were able to bring my mums little dog who was also welcomed ! Staff were welcoming and seemed interested is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Having stayed here previously in September 2014 to visit family, we used this hotel again in December 2014 for the very same reason. It's conveniently situated on the junction between the M4 and A34, so gave us easy access for family in both the Newbury and Oxford directions and though the hotel doesn't have any bells or whistles, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fakenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

Terrible!! Loose toilet seat, cobwebs, tangle in duvet as bed made wrong, main door stuck, bleach over used and smelt the room out, low level cleaning left something to be desired, noisy neighbours above. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I was assigned a room on the back of the hotel, and it was overlooking the lorry park - after a few hours, there were refrigerated lorries parking up for the night, and with their compressors running, the continual drone did get very annoying. Usual Travelodge offering - room clean, and bath/shower worked well - and the bathroom fan was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

This represents Great value for money, very clean and comfortable accomodation and none of the noise problems that exist in many city venues. Reception staff most helpful and recomended a reasonably priced restaurant a short distance away. Definitely recommend this economy hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

There is not much to say about this place, it follows the usual format that Travelodge apply With this location, there is nothing local apart from the services located next door - not somewhere is get a meal, you will need to make a trip elsewhere for that. Overall for what I needed it met those requirements perfectly, word of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. It was a short notice booking, and even though my company was paying, my heart rate from the onset was high from the staggering £90 a night price being charged. Budget hotel indeed. Upon arrival I wasn't impressed. There was nobody at reception, and the buzzer didn't seem to be working, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn of your poor experience and we’d really like to find out more about your stay and help fix the problems you encountered, so please visit the “contact us” form on our home page. It’s feedback like this that helps us improve our service for your next visit. More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I originally book the Tothill Travelodge but was transferred to Chieveley. The hotel is located on a Services between the A34 and M4, with the entrance being poorly signposted. Parking was easy and free if a hotel guests. There are no restaurant facilities at the hotel and the options at the services are limited. The room was fine and spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We know the importance of offering a functional and comfortable room and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual high standards. Feedback like yours is important to us and will be used to improve our service. More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We were visiting friends and needed the room just for sleeping. For us the location next to the motorway was very convenient. The room was nice and had everything we needed. Nothing fancy but also nothing to complain about really. It is just great value for money. At the back of the hotel you do not hear any traffic. There... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question