We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4

Certificate of Excellence
Oxford Rd | Moto Service Area A34, Chieveley RG18 9XX, England
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
snuggie1957 Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    34
    17
    4
    13
See reviews for
32
32
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Chievely travelodge was pleasently surprised . Staff were happy & very helpful one in particular that bought iron, board & hairdryer to our room then went back & got coffee tea etc as cleaner had forgotten to leave some. All of the staff said good morning which was nice. The services at the travelodge were good nice... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bedding was indescribably filthy and had clearly not been changed after a guest with appalling hygiene. I was moved to another room where the next day they forgot to leave towels in the bathroom. Oh, and the remote didn't work. And the wifi is only free for half an hour and then charged for.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We understand the importance of customers receiving a clean room so we are sorry to learn that this was not delivered to you on this occasion. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. In any case we... More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The toilet was falling off the wall so it moved about when using it and made a terrible noise. The lock on the main door was loose and felt really unsafe - spent the whole night thinking someone could come in.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4, responded to this review

Thank you for review our Newbury Chieveley M4 hotel. We are sorry to hear of your experience, in such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. In any case we would like to thank you and apologise for your last stay with us and... More 

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good Travelodge with efficient staff & free parking to the front and rear of the hotel. This Travelodge has been refurbished and yet it is already showing signs of wear. And where are the sumptuous pillows? The staff work hard to make your stay pleasant. Food is available in the service area but unfortunately it is a trek across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cold shower. Worn out chairs in the room. Corridors smell of smoke. Poor location. Didn't receive my breakfast even though it was included in the booking. Bathroom basin was dirty. The only thing that worked was the TV.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location if you want to be by the M4 motorway or the A34 going north or south (no, that's no sarcasm although you might be forgiven for thinking so after what follows), the rooms appear to have been "done-up" recently and this traveller appreciated the early morning shower (more. later). The "long term" parking is in front of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review Steve. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. We’ll be sure to pass your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our Newbury Chieveley M4 hotel as this is the best way for us to improve the service we offer. If you wish to contact us... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very very noisy both inside and out of the room by residents using a fire exit door right next to my room (123) when they clearly should not have been. Requested a move to another room but this was not possible due to maximum occupancy. Receptionist could not do anything about fire exit being used as a main traffic door!... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to hear you were disturbed by other guests at the hotel. We do ask all of our customers to keep their noise levels to a minimum and our staff will patrol corridors regularly to be aware of any disturbances. As the overall experience you had was... More 

boston lincolnshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked to stay at this hotel as a short stop over on the way south , we are a family of 3 and had a family room which we could not fault . The room had the main bed and 2 camp beds but the camp beds were a tad hard I ended up having to sleep on this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northallerton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

1st room unmade room, dirty bedding, towels on the floor, rubbish everywhere 2nd room 2bags under the bed from another customer 3rd room hairs in the bed, blood on the walls, damp in the bathroom, no clean towels, no soap dispenser, no toilet roll, crumbs in the wardrobe

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re truly sorry to learn that your room was not cleaned to a high level of cleanliness as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day.We would like to investigate further so please use the contact us section on our website to provide your contact and booking details. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We only stayed for one night but I cannot fault the room, staff or location. The place was clean, with ample parking. Lovely pub down the road for evening meals and receptionist who did an excellent job.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
0.1 mi away
Hilton Newbury North
Hilton Newbury North
#12 of 18 in Newbury
3.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
3.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
5.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#8 of 18 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay