We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Schoemanskloof B&Bs / inns

Old Joe's Kaia

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Old Joe's Kaia to your Saves list
Old Joe's Kaia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
97%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AnnyKhan2014 Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
118
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I simply loved it! Whole the weekend was worthy! The food was divine, the accommodation excellent, very clean, nice warm people that makes you feel at home. The books are great to read, very good wine, decoration unique. Is very peacefully, calm. The gardens are beautiful! There is an interesting labyrinth in the garden, and I loooved the swing. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Hello Anny! THANK you for your stunning review. We loved having you here- it truly was a special weekend. And yes, the swing is great. Such beautiful photo opportunities on it too! We hope to see you soon again. Warmest wishes Marian., Paul, Melissa and the Old Joe's Kaia Team More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The welcoming was friendly, we could say what we would like to have for dinner. The room was defenitely not up to date. Old furniture, dirty rugs on the floor. In the bathroom was a bag standing under de sink from the previous guest with some dirty things in it. Dinner was not our taste, but nicely presented. The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Gisela D Thank you for your review of Old Joe's Kaia. We are saddened to read that we did not live up to your expectations with every aspect of your stay with us. However, we are glad that you enjoyed our gardens, the presentation of the food and our efforts to accommodate your daughter and your personal culinary tastes.... More

Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

5 stars in all respects. we cannot say any more!!!! Everything was just much more what we expected. We stayed in the neighborhood and originally we just went there to enjoy breakfast- we were so impressed that we came back for breakfast and dinner for a whole week. Excellent and thank you. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Oh How delightful to read how much you loved being here! We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to spoil you and your taste buds. Do come back. We are always growing and enhancing our offering, including the amazing fresh vegetables we grow for your food on the property. So we do hope you return to experience that. Thank... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed one night here after arriving in Johannesburg and getting our rental car to drive towards Kruger. We arrived after lunch time but the owner arranged to have their cook fix us a wonderful sandwich plate. The grounds are beautiful. We included dinner and breakfast in our stay and the food was very good. The morning we headed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad we were able to make your first night in South Africa a great one. We hope your time in the Kruger was just fabulous. Please come back soon! Warm wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We started our holiday at old joe's after a long flight and search for a place. It was perfect!! Very friendly, perfect rondavels, great breakfast and diner and possibility to walk trough the crocodile river. We decided to stay another day and... To end our holiday there. That says enough we think.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

We are delighted that you stumbled upon us - and that you loved it so much you booked again. Thank you for the great review! Warm wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More

Cape Town
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A conveniently situated well established owner managed country inn for those en route from Johannesburg to The Lowveld, the Kruger Park area and beyond, in a scenic setting with a large river fronting garden. Whilst the accommodation is somewhat dated, and the property a mix of different room types, some simple and quite rustic, the warm hands-on hospitality however is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Thank you! It was wonderful to host and meet both yourself, Lew and Barry. We appreciate your honest feedback - the fabulous as well as pointers that include ways to improve. We would love to host you again, the summer blooms from our garden are even more spectacular that our winter ones. More

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our Stay at Old Joe’s Kaia was regrettably far to brief. Old Joe’s was everything I remembered and hoped it to be. What a beautiful location. Dinner was excellent with some adventurous menu items. All the food was delicious. Great atmosphere and we had a fabulous evening. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold offerings. Everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Thank you Derelle for the wonderful review! We so enjoyed hosting you and Beth at Old Joe's Kaia. And are delighted we met your expectations after such a long time. We look forward to your return, hopefully for much longer this time. Warmest wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I participated in a weekend of photography hosted by Old Joe's Kaia. What a pleasant surprise Old Joe's was! Apart from getting my head around Lightroom and the opportunity to photograph amazing landscapes (with the aloes obligingly blooming), I enjoyed Marianne's wonderful home-cooked meals and Paul's serene hospitality. Being nuts about indigenous trees, I found the gardens surrouding Old Joe's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Thank you Marissa for your fabulous review! We are thrilled that the birds, trees and aloes all played along so well to contribute to am enchanting weekend for us all. Please come back soon - the summer flora and fauna are so different and just as exquisite. Warmest wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More

Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After a reference from a family member we decided to also visit Old Joe's Kaya on Sunday afternoon for lunch. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the owners. The food was nice, the service was excellent, and the views are stunning. We will definitely visit soon again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our establishment. Please do come and visit again we would love to spoil you! Warmest wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More

Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Thank you for the relaxing afternoon. We arrived for lunch and received excellent service and the food was very well priced. The food is of exceptional home made quality. Had such a great time and an excellent afternoon. The people were so friendly and professional. Will definitely recommend Old Joe's Kaya to any of our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our establishment. Please do come and visit again we would love to spoil you! Warmest wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Old Joe's Kaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Joe's Kaia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)