We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Schoemanskloof B&Bs / inns

Old Joe's Kaia

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Old Joe's Kaia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Joe's Kaia to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
MrCats NL
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    46
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
121
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
NL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for only one night and Marian and Paul were able to steal our harts in such a short timeframe. When we arrived it was raining Cats and dogs and the electricity had a hard time keeping up with the demand. The open fireplace was burning and the comfortable seats made us feel like home. There is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A number of friends visited Old Joe's Kaia for a Sunday lunch en route to one of the Game Parks in the Lowveld. The lunch was divine, the cuisine was superb, the hospitality exceptional and the environment was very special. This was a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you for your review of the lunch we prepared for your party. We are thrilled you loved it and hope you stay longer next time, perhaps for an overnight and our 4 Course Dinner experience. Warmest wishes from the Lowveld and the Old Joe's Kaia Team More 

Belfast, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family group of 15 members enjoyed a fantastic lunch at Old Joe's Kaia! The food was excellent, the hospitality exceptional, the ambiance and milieu exquisite with special arrangements for a 78th birthday luncheon. Attention to detail formed the main ingredients for a very special and unforgettable family gathering! Thank you Marian and Paul; we will revisit your little peace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Lizet Thank you for the wonderful review. We love it that you all had such a great time - and hope to share in more momentous family occasions with you. See you soon we hope! Warmest wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More 

Midrand, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I went for the third time, welcoming still very friendly , love the cat's, dinner very nice with fresh vegies , breakfast too absolutely excellent with home made muffins. Unfortunately little disappointed with room, need refreshment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Brigitte Thank you so much for your review. We always love hearing the great stuff and about the things we do well! And also value hearing about the areas that need improvement. So thank you for your honesty. We are in the process of moving through each of our rooms one by one and upgrading, changing and giving lots... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We visited Old Joe's again this weekend. When we arrived we were greeted like old friends, Marion and Paul always make one feel MORE than welcome. The food is excellent and well planned. Marion also cates for vegetarians, and they have a good selection of boutique wines. A walk down to the labyrinth is a calm peaceful experience. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Elrieta Thank you for your lovely review. We do love hosting you both so much - and welcoming back old friends is really what makes us tick! Come home again soon! Warmest Lowveld wishes Paul, Marian and The Old Joe's Kaia Team More 

Johannesburg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

What a delightful charming place. We went for a Bookclub weekend away and were absolutely spoilt. The food was perfect and the presentation made for great photos. Our every wish was catered to and I will definitely be recommending this place to anyone who wants a stopover on the way to Kruger Park or to spend a lazy weekend away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Natasha It was such fun hosting and spoiling you ladies! And a delight to see you unwinding and laughing loads. Please do come again soon and thank you for your fabulous review! Warmest wishes The Old Joe's Kaia Team More 

White River
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Have just returned from a Writer's Retreat weekend at Old Joe's Kaia. Great workshop venue. Nothing is too much trouble. Being able to enjoy sublime food, beautiful surroundings and participate in a writing workshop was heaven. I have run several of my own Women's Retreats at Old Joe's and they never disappoint. Marian, Paul and their team go out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Di It is an absolute pleasure hosting you here each and every time you come., Thank you for your fabulous review - and the tips to other guests. The retreats you have hosted as well as assisted organised bring such a fresh flavour to Old Joe's Kaia. We so look forward to more time spent together. Have a stunning... More 

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I simply loved it! Whole the weekend was worthy! The food was divine, the accommodation excellent, very clean, nice warm people that makes you feel at home. The books are great to read, very good wine, decoration unique. Is very peacefully, calm. The gardens are beautiful! There is an interesting labyrinth in the garden, and I loooved the swing. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Hello Anny! THANK you for your stunning review. We loved having you here- it truly was a special weekend. And yes, the swing is great. Such beautiful photo opportunities on it too! We hope to see you soon again. Warmest wishes Marian., Paul, Melissa and the Old Joe's Kaia Team More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The welcoming was friendly, we could say what we would like to have for dinner. The room was defenitely not up to date. Old furniture, dirty rugs on the floor. In the bathroom was a bag standing under de sink from the previous guest with some dirty things in it. Dinner was not our taste, but nicely presented. The service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Dear Gisela D Thank you for your review of Old Joe's Kaia. We are saddened to read that we did not live up to your expectations with every aspect of your stay with us. However, we are glad that you enjoyed our gardens, the presentation of the food and our efforts to accommodate your daughter and your personal culinary tastes.... More 

Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

5 stars in all respects. we cannot say any more!!!! Everything was just much more what we expected. We stayed in the neighborhood and originally we just went there to enjoy breakfast- we were so impressed that we came back for breakfast and dinner for a whole week. Excellent and thank you. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaiaOfJoe, Manager at Old Joe's Kaia, responded to this review

Oh How delightful to read how much you loved being here! We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to spoil you and your taste buds. Do come back. We are always growing and enhancing our offering, including the amazing fresh vegetables we grow for your food on the property. So we do hope you return to experience that. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Joe's Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Joe's Kaia

Address: N4 Schoemanskloof Road | Btw. Machadodorp and Nelspruit, Schoemanskloof, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Schoemanskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Joe's Kaia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Joe's Kaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay