We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jungle House

1 Km North of Soccer Field on Playa Matapalo | Next Door to Rafiki Beach Club, Playa Matapalo 6351, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Jungle House
Rate this Hotel

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had the most amazing time staying at Jungle House earlier this year (January 2015) and was very sad to leave! We had such a friendly welcome by the owner Charlie and stayed in a stunning suite, towards the back of the property. I was sharing a room with my friend Toyah, which had all of the modern day amenities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The most wonderful stay we have ever had in costa rica. The beach is spectacular. Miles and miles of seclusion. Charlie was very helpful! Even let us borrow a saw! We learned how to surf, rented boards for the week and just enjoyed fabulous sunsets all while In the comfort of our private home! Will be back very soon! Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Stayed at Jungle house one day with my parents, and I think we all regret that we made it just one night. When we first arrived we we're a little but surprised since the house looked very basic and didn't fit with our expectations of the picture we had seen. However, it immediately changed when we me Charlie and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

The Jungle House in Playa Matapalo felt like home to me. Owner Charlie has created a 'get away from it all' retreat that offers plenty of Costa Rica's Pura Vida lifestyle for a reasonable price. My suite was clean, roomy, and comfortably furnished. There was Wi-Fi and dish tv available but after a couple of days I wasn't interested in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We loved Charlie and we loved his place. We had initially only booked for two nights,but once we got there we booked for a third. Unfortunately he was fully booked, but he accommodated us by putting us up at his neighbours place. They were away and he was renting out and watching the place for them. Charlie's hospitality and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
willits
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

My husband, me, and our two year old daughter spent a week at the Jungle House and loved it! Charlie and his staff were very accommodating and helped arrange tours and reservations. Charlie checked in with us everyday at breakfast to see if we needed anything for the room or if we needed any help arranging our day. He had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

I've been making trips to Costa Rica for 20 years and have stayed in many locations and many types of accommodations. While the luxury resort hotels in the most touristic areas may be great for some folks, my friends and I prefer to experience the REAL Costa Rica, but without giving up all the comforts of home. So Jungle House... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We spent three weeks in Costa Rica staying at three different hotels. We stayed the same number of nights at each hotel and each hotel cost roughly the same...within a few dollars of each other. Charlie's Jungle House was the worst value of any hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica. The room was extremely hot and we were discouraged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
junglehouse, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this review

Bad value? 4 guests in 2 double beds, Mini fridge, hot water shower, AC, kitchenette, Flat screen TV with satelite reception in separate living room, internet via wifi, garden veranda, and all within 2 minute walk to the Pacific Ocean in front where we had hammocks, lounge chairs and tables set up for their exclusive use. $100 nightly... They should... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

This place wasnt what I expected. First of all the road to get there is horrible and when we saw the sign saying Jungle House and looked at it, we couldn't believe it, drove around it and looked for a nicer place that matched out expectations from the pictures in the website. But no, that was it. The room (the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
junglehouse, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this review

I have been hosting guests from all around the globe for more than 24 years and never had a guest complaint which resembles this one from Gaby and her husband. I wish only that she and her husband had come to me directly and immediately with their concerns. It makes it impossible to rectify any situation or dissapointing experience if... More 

Lake Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Jungle House is way off the beaten path. Right on the beach in a very small village. There is a small grocery and a restaurant within walking distance. There is a local taxi to take you to other restaurants or attractions in the area. If possible, it would be best to have your own transportation. The cabins are very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question