We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jungle House

1 Km North of Soccer Field on Playa Matapalo | Next Door to Rafiki Beach Club, Playa Matapalo 6351, Costa Rica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Jungle House
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (7)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been making trips to Costa Rica for 20 years and have stayed in many locations and many types of accommodations. While the luxury resort hotels in the most touristic areas may be great for some folks, my friends and I prefer to experience the REAL Costa Rica, but without giving up all the comforts of home. So Jungle House... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three weeks in Costa Rica staying at three different hotels. We stayed the same number of nights at each hotel and each hotel cost roughly the same...within a few dollars of each other. Charlie's Jungle House was the worst value of any hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica. The room was extremely hot and we were discouraged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
junglehouse, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this review

Bad value? 4 guests in 2 double beds, Mini fridge, hot water shower, AC, kitchenette, Flat screen TV with satelite reception in separate living room, internet via wifi, garden veranda, and all within 2 minute walk to the Pacific Ocean in front where we had hammocks, lounge chairs and tables set up for their exclusive use. $100 nightly... They should... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This place wasnt what I expected. First of all the road to get there is horrible and when we saw the sign saying Jungle House and looked at it, we couldn't believe it, drove around it and looked for a nicer place that matched out expectations from the pictures in the website. But no, that was it. The room (the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
junglehouse, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this review

I have been hosting guests from all around the globe for more than 24 years and never had a guest complaint which resembles this one from Gaby and her husband. I wish only that she and her husband had come to me directly and immediately with their concerns. It makes it impossible to rectify any situation or dissapointing experience if... More

Lake Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Jungle House is way off the beaten path. Right on the beach in a very small village. There is a small grocery and a restaurant within walking distance. There is a local taxi to take you to other restaurants or attractions in the area. If possible, it would be best to have your own transportation. The cabins are very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We just enjoyed our last week in Costa Rica at jungle House in playa mataplo . This place was truly paradise not yet on the beaten track we had perfect waves to ourselves and only a few locals . The sunsets are magical. We stayed with Charlie at jungle house not only are his rooms amazing they are 20 meters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visited Jungle House a few years ago, and I have wanted to go back ever since. Charlie, the owner, will make you feel welcome and right at home. Jungle House has an amazing location, right across a small dirt road from the most beautiful beach and waves. Saw monkeys and sloths in the trees outside outside our "room." Actually,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

The Jungle House was amazing! It was clean and comfortable with outstanding views! To describe my experience in a few words, I would say...friendly and welcoming, great atmosphere, awesome service, delicious food by personal chef, and epic surf! Who can ask for more?!? You'll have to check it out for your self!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle House

Address: 1 Km North of Soccer Field on Playa Matapalo | Next Door to Rafiki Beach Club, Playa Matapalo 6351, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jungle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle House Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay