We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sungai Melinau, CDT 62, Gunung Mulu National Park 98007, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Mulu Resort to your Saves list
Royal Mulu Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
42%
A recent review
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    55
    66
    36
    39
See reviews for
31
100
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

They are in the process of converting this resort into a Marriott resort. It may be a nice spot in the future, BUT I would NOT recommend staying there right now. The rooms are very old and tired. The bathroom had serious mold issues. The staff really didn't care about the guests. The food was mediocre at best. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed one night in March 2014. We didn't select this place, our tour operator did after finding that their normal lodging was fully booked. I don't know what the cost was and haven't stayed at nearby competitors so I'm not qualified to speak to value. That said, this place was awful. Icky, dank, primitive room. Rock hard bed. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear raymagee, Firstly, my sincerest apologies for your recent experience at the Resort. Agreed the old rooms are tired. Since your visit that section of the Resort has been closed for its much needed renovation. We have begun operation of 56 all new guest rooms in their place. I respect however this does little to change your personal experience. Very... More

Travelers are raving about these Gunung Mulu National Park hotels

Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No doubt the outlook of the resort is great but everything else is just not impressive. The room that we were put into is huge but musty. The table lamps are not working for night reading and internet connection is expensive; RM35.00 per hour. Luckily I subscribed to mobile data to go on-line however slow. Eating out in Mulu is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear AoraKuching, I appreciate you spending time on reviewing Royal Mulu Resort. Please accept my apologies we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. Choices are indeed limited in Mulu which is why we are investing in significantly improving our offerings here at the Resort. It would be great to have you back later in the year to... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the misfortune to stay here when our flight to KK was cancelled. Prior to this we stayed at the Park Headquarters in a bungalow. Best to say we were not happy, and were pretty sure that the hotel would not be putting us up in a refurbished room, they do exist, as we had met a couple in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear mikeyk64, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience and sorry to hear of your flight cancellation. It is correct we had 3 renovated “mock up rooms” in with the old rooms whilst renovation was taking place on the other side of the Resort, as is usual practice in renovating hotels. Typically these rooms... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don’t be misled by the ‘Marriott’ brand attached to this hotel. This is not like any Marriott I’ve ever stayed in… Currently under massive renovations, after which time it may be worthy of the ‘Royal’ in its title, right now this place is a disaster. Our agents warned us it was ‘being refurbished’, but we were not prepared for how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear FilmTraveller, Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your stay from July last year. You will be pleased to note our new facilities are right around the corner with operation of said facilities expected imminently. Our new executive chef comes on board next month which will also yield substantial increases in the quality of our food... More

Scottsdale
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all this is the best place in Mulu so the others must be really awful. This place has potential and we booked it because it was branded as a Marriott but it single-handedly destroys Marriott's fine reputation. On arrival they had two people trying to check in a plane load of guests so there was a long wait.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear PeterAZ, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies your experience was not up to par. I was disappointed to note your comments on the food quality. Whilst it does little to change your personal experience, I am pleased to advise that a new Executive Chef has been recruited who... More

Munich, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we were on Honymoon, we wanted to stay somewhere nice (and not in a dorm in the parc HQ) before we started our tour in Mulu parc. So we stayed at Royal Mulu Ressort which is really nice situated at a small river. We payed about 280 RM for a room - and got a bad smelling (but okay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear MichdelaMich, Thank you for your balanced feedback, and congratulations on your recent marriage! I appreciate your kinds words on the efforts of the Resort team. I have shared your feedback with the staff accordingly. It is unfortunate you were not able to enjoy much of the facilities during your stay. We are now in a position where our new... More

Gelderland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went to Mulu as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is currently under (much needed)renovation, yet except for a few facilities that are out of order, we were not really disturbed by this. The great asset of Royal Mulu is its staff. They are extremely helpfull. Don't book tours beforehand, but let the hotel arrange a private Guide for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear BastiaanB, I was delighted to learn of your experience here at Royal Mulu Resort. Thank you for your kind words on the Resort staff. Philippi was particularly pleased to learn of your positive experience. As you made mention, we are expecting some of the new public facilities and 56 new guest rooms imminently and hope to be operating them... More

Bloemfontein
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The staff at Royal Mulu Resort are extremely friendly and helpful. Within two minutes after we asked for a hairdryer one was provided. Breakfast and dinner were adequate. Nothing to rave about. The room was spacious and clean. There is a shuttle service between the airport and the resort, as well as to the entrance to the rainforest heading towards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear CoreneBloemfontein, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was so pleased to hear the staff took such good care of you. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team. CoreneBloemfontein, ee hope to host you again in the future. With kind regards, Grant Young Resort Manager More

Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Agree with all of the comments here...Renovation completion cannot come soon enough ! Staff tried hard but everything was old and showing signs of neglect. The location so close to the magnificent caves was the one redeeming feature that kept us tolerant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant Y, Manager at Royal Mulu Resort, responded to this review

Dear Col l, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is appreciated. I was pleased to note your comments on the efforts of the team here in the Resort. Thank you for your understanding whilst we renovate. Exciting changes are coming. We know we will have a fantastic Resort once construction is completed.... More

Been to Royal Mulu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mulu Resort

Also Known As:
Royal Mulu Hotel Gunung Mulu National Park
Royal Mulu Hotel
Hotel Royal Mulu
Royal Mulu Resort Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia - Sarawak
Address: Sungai Melinau, CDT 62, Gunung Mulu National Park 98007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Gunung Mulu National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gunung Mulu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mulu Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Royal Mulu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mulu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.