We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benarat Inn

Sg Pala, Melinau River , Mulu N Park | Opposite Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa, Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia
Benarat Inn
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
2
11
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked three days in Mulu National Park with Borneo Tropical Adventures, culminating with a trek up to the Pinnacles. The staging area for the big hike is the park's Camp 5, where I spent the second and third nights, but I spent the first night at Benarat Lodge. I felt very welcomed there with a friendly reception and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tumby Bay, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just completed a Mulu trek along the head hunter trail, camp 5-pinnacles and Mulu caves organised by Tropical Adventures and tours. Can't speak highly enough about these guy's the organisation and professionalism was first class.Our guide Andy is a legend- really is one of the best out there. He shared with us a lot about the local customs and belief's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Stayed here as part of a tour arranged through Tropical Adventures and Tours - can't recommend them more highly. Accommodation at Benarat Inn was very basic and staff very friendly. Meals included and there is a small shop (canteen) in walking distance for basic supplies. Power only available 6-11pm, which seems pretty standard in Mulu. As we were the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

All the staff here is helpful and really friendly. There is a mistake by MASWings staff at Miri for wrong bag tagging, our luggage had been sent back to KL instead of Mulu. So we have NOTHING for the 1st and 2nd days. This mistake actually made me a bit not in a mood, but to see our travel agent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marzuki, Thank you for visiting Mulu and staying at our lodge. I am glad that in the end you had an enjoyble trip in Mulu. We try our best at all times. Please do visit us again in future. Regards, Richard Owner More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Happy, friendly staff. Clean, basic rooms. Good food served on veranda overlooking river. Just across river from $$$$ Mulu/Marriott Lodge but 1/10 the price. Cold water, electricity only at night, fans (a/c not needed at night). No internet in Mulu except at park canteen.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear PSG104, Thank you for your support and kind compliments. We try our best at all times. We apologise that we do not provide hot shower at this moment, and our electricity runs on generator as you know. If you subscribe to MAXIS, you may be able to access internet at our place via your smartphone, though at a slow... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The Benarat Inn is a very bare bones accommodation outside of Gunung Mulu National Park. It provides rooms with attached bathrooms, cold water, no wifi and no electricity for a good part of the day. Given that you will be occupied with the wonders of Gunung Mulu National Park for much of your trip , and that the Benarat Inn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ramya_Ti, Tq for visiting Mulu National Park, and for staying at our place. We are glad that you had enjoyed the beauty and wonder of our playground Mulu NP. ;) We hope to see you again in Borneo in the near future and do bring friends over to see our beautiful Mulu. Thank you for your compliments to our... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Mulu National Park is spectacular. Unfortunately this lodge is absolutely the opposite end of the spectrum. I stayed at the Benarat for two nights - both were painful due to the dirty and decrepit state of the hotel. The light switch in my room was hanging off the wall by the wires and arced when I switched it on and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BorneoKid, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear NicdJ, First and foremost, thank you for staying at our lodge recently. You have raised several issues with my lodge, and I have personally flew to Mulu to find out the exact situation, and rectify what needs to be done. With regards to all your issues stated, it can easily be solved by calling our 24 hours maintenance staff... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were glad it was only two. The first night it was difficult to sleep as the power is only on from 6.00 to 12.00 pm, so the fan goes off and it is so humid. We were fortunate that the second night that we were staying there it had rained which cooled everything down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BorneoKid, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn, Thank you for your review. When you booked with us, we have informed you that it is a basic accomodation with electricity running form 6pm till 12 midnight. The electricity runs on generator and there is solar power for lighting after midnight. If you wish for more comfort, then Mulu Marriott Resort would be a better choice at... More 

Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had an amazing holiday staying here. It allows you to experience being close to nature. The pricing was okay for the excellent sleep my family and I had. A minor issue was with the lack of electricity during the day however that did not bother us as we were out exploring the park and this could keep my kids off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for visiting Mulu and staying at our Benarat Inn. We hope you will visit us again with the kids. It is a good learning experience for the children to learn about nature, caves and all. Regards, Richard More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

we paid 40euros per night. It was extremely expensive. No hot water, no internet, no electricity after 6pm, shower and toilet problem. Staff are very unhelpful, they were supposed to pick up after the night walk at the park. they forgot us, we manage to call them to come. They arrive 45 min later, without any apologise. Even if there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear Siapsarah, Thank you for your visit to Mulu National Park, a UNESCO Heritage Site and for staying at our Benarat Lodge which although is a basic accomodation, is not a bed and breakfasts as we do not have dormitory rooms. Allow us to explain to you that Mulu National Park is created to preserve the caves and the forests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question