We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Benarat Inn to your Saves list
Sg Pala, Melinau River , Mulu N Park | Opposite Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa, Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Benarat Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunung Mulu National Park
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    6
    10
    4
See reviews for
2
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Happy, friendly staff. Clean, basic rooms. Good food served on veranda overlooking river. Just across river from $$$$ Mulu/Marriott Lodge but 1/10 the price. Cold water, electricity only at night, fans (a/c not needed at night). No internet in Mulu except at park canteen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear PSG104, Thank you for your support and kind compliments. We try our best at all times. We apologise that we do not provide hot shower at this moment, and our electricity runs on generator as you know. If you subscribe to MAXIS, you may be able to access internet at our place via your smartphone, though at a slow... More

Bangalore, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The Benarat Inn is a very bare bones accommodation outside of Gunung Mulu National Park. It provides rooms with attached bathrooms, cold water, no wifi and no electricity for a good part of the day. Given that you will be occupied with the wonders of Gunung Mulu National Park for much of your trip , and that the Benarat Inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ramya_Ti, Tq for visiting Mulu National Park, and for staying at our place. We are glad that you had enjoyed the beauty and wonder of our playground Mulu NP. ;) We hope to see you again in Borneo in the near future and do bring friends over to see our beautiful Mulu. Thank you for your compliments to our... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Mulu National Park is spectacular. Unfortunately this lodge is absolutely the opposite end of the spectrum. I stayed at the Benarat for two nights - both were painful due to the dirty and decrepit state of the hotel. The light switch in my room was hanging off the wall by the wires and arced when I switched it on and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BorneoKid, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear NicdJ, First and foremost, thank you for staying at our lodge recently. You have raised several issues with my lodge, and I have personally flew to Mulu to find out the exact situation, and rectify what needs to be done. With regards to all your issues stated, it can easily be solved by calling our 24 hours maintenance staff... More

Travelers are raving about these Gunung Mulu National Park hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were glad it was only two. The first night it was difficult to sleep as the power is only on from 6.00 to 12.00 pm, so the fan goes off and it is so humid. We were fortunate that the second night that we were staying there it had rained which cooled everything down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BorneoKid, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn, Thank you for your review. When you booked with us, we have informed you that it is a basic accomodation with electricity running form 6pm till 12 midnight. The electricity runs on generator and there is solar power for lighting after midnight. If you wish for more comfort, then Mulu Marriott Resort would be a better choice at... More

Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had an amazing holiday staying here. It allows you to experience being close to nature. The pricing was okay for the excellent sleep my family and I had. A minor issue was with the lack of electricity during the day however that did not bother us as we were out exploring the park and this could keep my kids off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for visiting Mulu and staying at our Benarat Inn. We hope you will visit us again with the kids. It is a good learning experience for the children to learn about nature, caves and all. Regards, Richard More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

we paid 40euros per night. It was extremely expensive. No hot water, no internet, no electricity after 6pm, shower and toilet problem. Staff are very unhelpful, they were supposed to pick up after the night walk at the park. they forgot us, we manage to call them to come. They arrive 45 min later, without any apologise. Even if there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hee3033, Owner at Benarat Inn, responded to this review

Dear Siapsarah, Thank you for your visit to Mulu National Park, a UNESCO Heritage Site and for staying at our Benarat Lodge which although is a basic accomodation, is not a bed and breakfasts as we do not have dormitory rooms. Allow us to explain to you that Mulu National Park is created to preserve the caves and the forests... More

NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently stayed at the lodge and found the property an excellent budget choice. The staff were attentive. They provided EVERYTHING...transport to and from the airport, food even at Clearwater cave, and Tour Guide Mr Ting who was excellent in his knowledge of the caves and had a great sense of humor. The food was very good and plentiful. It's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Verona, Italia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only 1 night,in a planned tour. Room was big and quite clean. Bathroom was essential. Food was ok and all the staff is very gentle and helpful (Garry and Eddie really took care of us). Position is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Everything has been allready told here, toilet leaking, wash basin pipes leaking, electricity only in the evening ! I wonder why I didn t read the pages of Tripadvisor beforhand (I m stupid) The second day I found there is another resort opposite. Funny I had walk (not very bad to have some excercise) to Neighboring resort to byu some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent 4 days and three nights in December 2012, booked through Tropical. The accommodation is petty poor compared to others at a similar price- temporary electricity, uncomfortable beds, no ac, and my toilet leaked. Staff are unfriendly, unhelpful and not welcoming, except for a few exceptions. On the whole they would rather hang out among themselves than interact or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Benarat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benarat Inn

Address: Sg Pala, Melinau River , Mulu N Park | Opposite Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa, Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Gunung Mulu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Benarat Hotel Gunung Mulu National Park
Benarat Inn Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia - Sarawak

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay