We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carberry Tower

Certificate of Excellence
Musselburgh, Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carberry Tower
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carberry Tower
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    91
    24
    15
    31
See reviews for
54
205
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (379)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Stayed in the lodges which are directly next to the Main building and wedding venue. The room was simple but thoroughly clean and tidy, exactly what one expects for the low price. The building and gardens of the venue are simply stunning and offer up the perfect ambiance for a classy wedding. My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had been looking forward to this trip for a long while though was deeply disappointed with the whole thing. I was relegated to "the lodges" which should be re-named the poor house. Had booked a room in the main house, and when I asked why I had been moved I received no explanation or apology. Room itself was awful -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here on Sunday Morning and I had a really good experience. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for me. They were polite and friendly. A special mention goes to Amy who went out of her way and was very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cromer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

These lodges are within grounds much cheaper but can still be King or Queen! Lovely wild gardens staff friendly, room warm, shower and separate bath. Room overlooked garden room was small but fine for 1 night. Disappointed restaurant not open and had coffee but was instant which felt a shame for such opulent surroundings. Breakfast was very expensive so didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was so looking forward to staying here, pictures looked great. I didn't get the two rooms I'd booked, when I queried this at reception it was brushed off with 'I'm sorry about that' but nothing more. Deluxe room was disappointing, hard to see where the deluxe fitted in. Shower head was broken, en-suite was small as were the towels; large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
West Linton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a fabulous day and night at the wedding of my Sister-in-law in sumptuous surroundings oozing historical charm. Attentive staff, comfortable accommodation in The Royal Suite and an absolutely fantastic raindrop shower and a super comfortable 4 poster bed. The wedding itself was faultless , the food was outstanding , the staff carried out their duties with immaculate precision and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower, responded to this review

Dear tetslb Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have posted. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at Carberry Tower. I do apologise for the lift being out of action when you were here and I do hope that this did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. Your comments in relation to the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the carberry tower for a friends wedding, staying in the gorgeous Strathmore Suite however as lovely as the room and the hotel is there was quite a lot of disappointments. The worst being a male member of staff walking into our room around 2am and walking back out. The housekeeping staff hoovering and bashing their Hoover against... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We attended as a four for dinner at the tower on a Thursday after work. The menu was £25.00 for two courses and £30 for three. We were met by Blair who was our waiter for the evening. We were shown to the private dinning area called the whiskey room and quickly served with wine and bread overlooking the sunset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower, responded to this review

Dear PLJ1988 Just a quick thank you for the review you have posted following your dinner with us. I have already thanked Blair as it is clear from your comments that he delivered our high standard of service and customer care. Both John & Chef have worked on improving the menu and they too were delighted to hear the praise... More 

Oslo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our job went on a team building trip and what a fantastic place. Food, history, atmosphere is at the top level. We will gladly return. This 15th-century castle dates back to Mary, Queen of Scots, and is set in 35 acres of stunning parkland. Edinburgh city centre is 8 miles from Carberry Tower. Rooms at the magnificent Carberry Tower are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower, responded to this review

Dear Nor_wayone Thank you so much for the review of Carberry Tower following your stay with us. I do agree that you can the best of both worlds at this amazing venue- business amenities as well as being able to enjoy time to yourself. It was our pleasure to work with your group and I do hope that we will... More 

Wales
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Carberry Towers is an impressive place. We made a detour to take advantage of a discount deal. Our room was definitely in the servants' quarters - clearly the case if you are on a deal. We had a view of a wall! The bedroom looked a little small but this was probably because of the huge (and comfortable) bed. Full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower, responded to this review

Dear Culture_FanWales Thank you for the review you have posted. I am sorry that the room you were allocated did not meet your expectations. Our rooms do differ in size depending on their location in the Tower. I will update your profile so that should you return we will allocate you a different room. I am also rather disappointed to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities