We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broomhall Castle

Certificate of Excellence
Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Broomhall Castle
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    275
    124
    40
    24
    14
See reviews for
100
266
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (477)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night whilst on business in room 10. The castle looks very grand on arrival & staff were very welcoming. The room was in need of a good clean & a few amendments. The blacked out bedroom door window & window in to the bathroom made it feel very nursing home ish which is what it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

I am quite taken aback by your review as our rooms are normally cleaned to a high standard an i wish you had pointed these issues out at the time but all i can do now is apologise for this!! There is music in the restaurant so i can only presume that the 'friendly' staff had forgotten to press the... More 

Lincs
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Such a disappointment, this castle hotel has so much potential and could be something really special but it is tired and lacking! The staff were all loveky but you felt as if they did not have a constant stream of guests! Our room was in need of TLC, iron burn on the carpet, leaking pipes in bathroom, dirty shower and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and unfortunately the iron burn mark had been caused by a previous guest and for the leak and other issues you had, I wish you had informed me at the time as i would have gone out of my way to try and rectify these for you(apart from the burn mark) and we do ask... More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was really lovely here and so was the welcome. It is perfectly placed to visit so many great things in the area. I was quite disappointed with my evening meal though which I had the first night and then chose to eat out for the following nights. Staff were all lovely! I would say this place is best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review although i am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us as we do have a good reputation for our food, but i do hope this wont put you off staying with us again in the future. More 

Escondido, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in late December for one night on our way to touring the highlands. We arrived late at night 10 or 11pm and were immediately awed by the design of the building. Granted this is not a medieval castle but still an amazing place to spend the night. We were greeted by a very friendly man who helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review about your experience staying here at at Broomhall Castle and we do our utmost to help all our guests...mind you carrying cases up stairs is going to be the death of me one day. Thanks again and if you are ever back over here please come back and stay again. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We celebrated our wedding here with a mix of Scottish, German, Italian and Finnish guests. Everyone was amazed by how beautiful yet homely the venue was. The food is honestly just amazing! And the staff can't do enough to help you. Gavin 's catch phrase should definitely be "Not a problem" because honestly nothing was. He managed our wedding like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Hi Guys. Thank you so much for your review and it was an absolute pleasure having you all here and you all seemed to have a blast which it is all about. Nothing was an issue and i hope you will be able to come back again very soon. More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is beautiful to look at. The rooms are very large. The bed was really comfortable. The room was very clean including the bathroom. The breakfast was really nice and the plates remained hot even after we had eaten our food. They cater for veggies at breakfast time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant menu on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Good evening Alison. Many thanks for your review and i am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed one night with my wife at Broomhall Castle. We had relatively high expectations given the external appearance (stunning) and the location (close to Stirling overlooking the valley) but we were a bit let down. There is almost everything to make it a great hotel, the setting is very promising, the bar and lounge are great but the final... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and to point out we do not want a normal reception desk as we have found from experience that they are normally manned by staff who just look up at you and ask a name not great the guests and as for a bell....we have had a few now and they have all been stolen... More 

Cambewarra, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This really is a castle, our room and ensuite were enormous with amazing views. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, they could have benefited from having a few more on duty, they were working really hard and it was difficult to find someone to check us in when we arrived. The castle is probably due for a revamp, some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Hi...Many thanks for your review and we are a small team and we always look to have enough staff on duty but unfortunately this is not always the case so apologised and being an old building things do creak including my knees sometimes. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Myself and my partner stayed here on the 11th of July for our anniversary and we loved it! The food was amazing, the staff went out of their way to help and the hotel room was comfortable. Yes when we arrived the staff were sparse, but we thought we were the only people in the castle until we went for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Hi Natalie... Many thanks for your review and i am pleased to hear that the other reviews didn't put you off as we do really try to please our guests but unfortunately whatever you try and do this is not always the case. Many thanks again and we hope you will be back again.. More 

Lasswade
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Castle it is. Very proud to be Scottish and have a B&B in a castle. Loved the location and the features of a stately home. Did have one problem with exterior dirt on windows. so I cleaned them myself. (not very well I might add) Staff were very attentive and seemed to enjoy the job of looking after the visitors.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and sorry to hear that you had to clean your window as we do get these cleaned every 4 weeks but being surrounded by trees sometimes the windows get dirty again very quickly. The wi-fi is an ongoing battle to try and get into the rooms and it seems to be down to the thickness... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

170 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
7.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#10 of 22 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay