We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glen Clova Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Glen Clova Hotel
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    63
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
58
120
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (270)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Dropped in for a light lunch and opted to sit in the bar instead of the restaurant. Unfortunately the menu was the same for both rooms. There were no snacks on the menu only full meals and the kitchen were unable or unprepared to organise a sandwich for the hungry trio. Ended up with a bowl of excellent soup and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

had dinner after climbing Mayer and Dreish munros... by the time you have done that your looking forward to some hearty food, The atmosphere is really good with lots of hillwalkers coming together after a great day of hill climbing, there is also rooms available if you want to stay overnight too. The food is excellent and for people travelling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had our wedding here in April 2015 and what an amazing time was had. The location is fantastic but the staff truly are wonderful. Every one of our guests commented on how friendly; helpful and accommodating they all were. The food is excellent - compliments to Paul. Lesley organised everything superbly. What can we say but a HUGE thank-you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped over for food and refreshment after day out. A wedding function was booked and as a result no food was served to passers by, even in the bar. Very disappointed to be turned away hungry...this will not encourage us to go back. 👎 to the Glen Clova Hotel. In the absence of somewhere nearby, we carried on to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glen Clova H, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandyt236, many thanks for your review and email you sent us. We can only apologise for not being able to provide you with a meal on Saturday as we explained in our email we are a small family run hotel and we only have the capacity to cope with a set amount of customers (approx 60 people the size... More 

West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great little hotel at the end of a very secluded glen. Lovely base to bag munroe's, walk up to lake brandy or simply stroll around. Being so quiet the wildlife, birds in particular are many, and varied. Beautiful location. Hotel is very clean, staff very friendly, bar area has games room and has a pub feel rather than the often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice and clean, rooms are comfortable and well appointed. However, the food and food service lets the hotel down. The food is average at best and the service needs to be greatly improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glen Clova H, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DB, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms to be clean and well appointed but we are disappointed to learn our service and food wasn't for you. We are a small family run hotel, that use only the freshest ingredients for our menu, in fact all the... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a fabulous stay over easter in the bunkhouse and found it to be very clean,warm and well equipped, all rooms en suite and have their own front doors, fantastic!. We enjoyed lovely walks and had a superb meal in the evening in the hotel followed by an equally superb breakfast the next morning, all food was of the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
26 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a rare find at the top of glen clova. The meals were excellent value and the choices quite good for a country pub. Give it a try. My family lived in the glen 80yrs ago so it was good to explore some family history as well as enjoy a good meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have recently been exploring what's on our doorstep and that resulted in a trip to Glen Cova. We stayed at the Glen Clova Hotel for one night, in the newly refurbished room 1 which was lovely. A real highlight for me was no phone signal or wifi. For the first time in 15 years I completely switched off which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of us (Caledonia Harley Club) spent the weekend (27th-29th March 2015) in the bunkhouse at the rear of the hotel. £20.00 pppn clean rooms, bedding, showers and a well equipped kitchen and common room. The hotel has friendly staff and the bars are cosy and warm with log fires. The food, although we did do our own mostly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question