We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rat Trap

3.0 of 5 Old Chepstow Road, Llangeview NP15 1EY , Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rat Trap
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Rat Trap
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    120
    39
    34
    51
See reviews for
28
210
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (324)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one evening. The room had been recently decorated and was immaculately clean, albeit it quite gaudy by appearance for such a small room. However, I had dinner in the restaurant and it was delcious. The staff were absolutely delightful. It was not busy that evening, but the staff were exceptionally attentive and delightful. I would strongly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited a few months ago! Will never go back and tell people not to go there No atmosphere Was told only time we could be fitted in was 6pm when the restaurant was empty the whole time we were there Staff swearing about people complaining (won't let me write the swear word) Food not the best Avoid like the plague

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Llangeview hotels

Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good: • Friendly & helpful staff • Bedrooms comfortable & clean • Secure bike storage • Food & beer The poor: • Hotel guests should not pay daily, but on departure • Bills must be clearly itemised (essential should there be any dispute) • House Merlot was not drinkable! • Fresh coffee for breakfast a must • No visibility... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam c, Owner at The Rat Trap, responded to this review

You sent the exact same email to me but with this line added in at the end after your stay Overall we enjoyed our stay with you & hope this constructive feedback is received in the way it is intended. It is by this review quite clear with how you intended it and again you emailed me yesterday with this... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at The Rat Trap, and we were not disappointed, we did notice as soon as we walked in that the staff were all different from our last stay.... we were given room 10, a lovely bonus as it has a four poster bed!!... but couldn't get the tele to work on calling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we bought a Groupon (or similar) 2 day deal and paid to stay an extra night, and they allowed us to take our dog, for a further fee. We had a few reservations after reading such mixed reviews, going from 5* down to 0*, but we thought we would chance it anyway. We ate at the hotel every evening, my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We booked this Inn several months in advance but due to a long term illness we could not make the date and phoned up over a month before the arrival date to change it to a later date when we were able to get there. This was all agreed. To our complete dismay and annoyance, on the day after the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

It is some years since we visited this establishment and then our experience was disappointing. We were bought a gift for a meal by a family member who had heard things had changed. How right she was. We were looked after by Andre who was courteous and helpful throughout our 4 course meal. The food was good and creatively presented.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stayed for two nights. We probably had the least attractive room as we had a dog with us, but it was perfectly adequate, warm and reasonably comfortable. There was no chair to sit on. The bathroom was clean and the hot water very plentiful. The dinner was well cooked but some of the menu choices were unavailable and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruthin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night only. We asked for an early breakfast at 7 am due to us having to set off early but were turned down. We did get a breakfast baguette to take away that was made the previous evening. We were disappointed after getting up at 6.30 am to find we had no soap or hot water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We booked for 3 nights for a long week end break.Ask for 70 pounds on arrival extra for staying at the week end, Once we saw the room, there was no way we would stay the night dirty carpet, cheap bed, duvet cover not ironed,very thin no warmth in it. furniture old and chipped, lighting bad, over looked the flat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rat Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rat Trap

Address: Old Chepstow Road, Llangeview NP15 1EY , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llangeview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rat Trap 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Rat Trap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rat Trap Hotel Llangeview
Rat Trap Llangeview

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay