We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rat Trap

Old Chepstow Road, Llangeview NP15 1EY , Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rat Trap
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Rat Trap
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    145
    50
    39
    57
See reviews for
31
258
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (393)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms tatty, management ignorant - would not stay there again if you paid me. Could not believe that they wanted clients to pay a corkage charge for ANY drink consumed in their room unless purchased in their hotel !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sam c, General Manager at The Rat Trap, responded to this review

Dear Guests..... I checked my bookings and I didn't had a guest from Nottingham in room 8. I checked all bookings , since I re-opened this Inn 8 weeks ago Our exclusive room pole post bed is our room 8 ......picture was taken from internet ..our home page. Why competitive people from other Hotels are doing this to each other... More 

Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited the Rat Trap on a special deal. The room was very comfortable & clean, the staff very friendly & took interest in everyone. Best of all was the restaurant food - delicious. Have no hesitation in recommending. Can`t understand negative reviews, obviously personal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My Mother and I stopped here for the last 2 days. We had a lovely room with four poster bed and a country view to die for. The bathroom was sparkling clean and was great to have coffee/tea facilities in the room. We made our way to the restaurant and had a fantastic meal cooked by a fabulous chef. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked a 2night break at the Rattrap Inn through An Amazon Local Deal, which meant we paid half price. We had room 4 which sounded terrible on some of the previous reviews I'd read on here, but as the booking was for a standard room we found it perfectly adequate for our needs. The room was clean, the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food reasonable, room a bit tatty with old furniture and some of the wallpaper hanging off the wall. Shower did not work properly as cold water flow appeared restricted. Overall building ambience - it didn't have one. Wanted balance paid up each night even though they took CC details. The wifi signal was too weak in our room so could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sam c, General Manager at The Rat Trap, responded to this review

Dear reviewer ...... The Rat Trap inn is a Inn that is almost 100 years old. the main building was always a Pub , the ceiling is lower and with beams. Years 1930 style .......... We are working hard to upgrade and make the Inn very nice. i cant do wonders in 6 weeks ......but we do our best with... More 

uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just left the rat trap. Please don't be put of by the negative reviews try it yourself. We did and had a fab weekend. Don't forget they have only been there 7 weeks as new owners. We were given a room clean tidy nice beds and en- suite ok I do admit it needs updating but we have to give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife booked a mid week stay for two nights with our small dog. .Poor first impression. .No pub garden. .Not dog friendly as no facilities.(very fast dangerous road with no footpath). .Rooms tired and in need of facelift. .Very good food but you were eating with Smart radio playing on the TV giving traffic updates. We decided as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sam c, General Manager at The Rat Trap, responded to this review

Dear Guests , thank you for the honest response. I took over general management to upgrade the RAT TRAP Inn , six weeks ago. Yes , our Check in Desk is open after 16.00 We are a small team , we serve breakfast , we clean rooms and upgrade our facility between 11.00 am and 16.00 ...than our Pub is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Llangeview hotels

bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely two night stay at the Rat Trap on 15th and 16th July 2015. Room 9 was clean and comfortable and had a very nice view. Breakfast was lovely with good quality sausages and bacon. Also staff were more than willing to accommodate my request for decaf coffee (thank you for that ). We had an evening meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sam c, General Manager at The Rat Trap, responded to this review

Warm greetings from USK thank you so much for your honest and nice review. You two where lovely guests . We all are working hard to make this lovely Inn to be the best in USK. its not always the clothing that makes a man.....the heart has to be pure and fair That is what we are trying to give.... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bought an N Crowd voucher on Wednesday, rang the following day to try to arrange a booking for a weekend away.. ..and was told there was no availability on a weekend until November! The voucher expires in November! Male who "spoke" with me was so rude, his response to me was "well just get a refund then!" Clearly he should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sam c, General Manager at The Rat Trap, responded to this review

My dearest Cass Our Rat Trap Inn located in a lovely valley in Usk ( Wales ) It is very popular. for hiking , bike and nature watch. I know you where disappointed that we don't have rooms available until late November. i tried to explain that many times ......and again i am sorry ..we are fully booked. our service... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good plentiful food. Room comfortable but probably not worth the upgrade for £20 the owner phoned us to offer 2 days before departure. Other guests had the same offer but rooms looked similar. Breakfast a bit basic. Dinners were really too big. 10 ribs for a starter, but food good standard. Wifi didn't work in our room. Ok in restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangeview
1.8 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
2.1 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay