We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Hotel website
1 Sea Horse Road | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Add Photo

2,042 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    709
    760
    318
    146
    109
See reviews for
572
861
67
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2042)
  • Mar-May only
    (667)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (563)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (304)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (508)
All months
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I came to Grand Lucayan on a cruise package. We stayed 7 days and 6 nights on the island. Overall, our stay was good. ...after we got pass the miserable wait to check in our rooms. Once we got our keys. ...the room was nice and clean. Housekeeping came every day. We had the all inclusive package.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello springdrive, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I'm really happy you had a good time while you were here and I appreciate the kind words said about Velma. I will be sure to pass this review along to her. I sincerely apologize about your experience with other staff members. We strive everyday to make the guests experience... More 

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stay away. Lanai suites smell of mildew, half the resort is closed during the Summer, service is non existent, grounds are tired and need work….and the list could go on. After a solid 1 star experience we then got the bill the morning of check out to learn there is an effective 34% tax/service fee tacked on to your room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello Samantha L, Thanks so sharing some feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize if you were not satisfied with your stay. I am a bit shocked to hear that you did not enjoy our Lanai suite, as the Lanai suites are a favorite amongst other guests. I wish your... More 

Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

my wife and I were here for our 18th anniversary. we have stayed at many all inclusive resorts over the years and this was by far the worst for service. you had to yell at the bartenders to even get their attention and if you were in the pool forget about getting a drink unless you wanted to get out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello greg c, Thank you for providing us with some feedback regarding your most recent stay. I would like to apologize for the service you received. I can certainly understand your frustration. If you would like to speak with us directly, please do not hesitate to reach out. Sincerely, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services More 

Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I surprised my fiancé with a trip for Fathers Day’s to the Bahamas. I bought the trip on Groupon and sprung for the ocean view. I called and made my reservation on the reservation hotline. When speaking to the customer service rep I wanted to make sure I had the best package possible and nicest accommodations available for this for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello Stephanie G, Thanks for leaving such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor for us! I am pleased to read you found our resort beautiful and our staff very friendly. I am also so very happy to hear Ben was able to assist with changing your room and that you had a fast and efficient check-in. I can't wait to share... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Grand Lucayan after a cruise over from West Palm Beach. The resort staff was fabulous! We did the all-inclusive package. The Plantation Cafe had great pastries and coffee drinks. The China Beach restaurant was a great option for lunch and dinner. For dinner you have to make a reservation for China Beach. The Hammerhead Bar in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello Samantha F, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am extremely happy to read that everything during your stay was perfect including the services. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and property. We hope that you choose to stay with us again soon in the near future. Sincerely, Bernadette... More 

Corydon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just stayed 2 nights and had great time. The hotel was clean . Nice pools and private beach was beautiful with plenty of chairs.. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping areas and casino. The lawns well kept and everything was beautiful. The room was large and one side is island view where as other side ocean view.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent two nights at the hotel as part of a cruise and stay package. The grounds are gorgeous and the view from our oceanfront room on the 6th floor was spectacular. The bathroom was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. The beach and the hotel pool were excellent. There are nice several restaurants in the hotel complex. Overall,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Pros: Service, cleanliness, availability of things to do. FANTASTIC view! Cons: Could use some renovation but it really does not detract from the experience. Location: Every kind of watersport you want is available. Fishing, diving, parasail, etc. Port Lucaya is across the street with many shops & restaurants. While the hotel is older, it is still a nice place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello jwatt28, Thank you for writing us such a fabulous review! I am so happy you had an awesome experience and that you found the views to be fantastic! We hope you will visit again soon! Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Services More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is beautiful from top to bottom. The lobby, facilities and rooms are top notch. The beaches are white and the water is very clear. If you're not so concerned with getting attention from servers, bartenders and attendants, then this might be the place for you. Read the poor reviews...they are VERY accurate!!! That said, I did experience some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello Shaughn W, I would first like to thank you for sharing some concerns regarding your recent stay. I feel the need to apologize for your experience with some of our staff members. I wish your experience had been different. Secondly, I would like to say how happy I am that Clayton and Romeo were able to leave a lasting... More 

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort/hotel is well below par. They pride themselves with no lines at check in and we waited over an hour in line. All areas of customer service were horrible and the lack of management is obvious. The gratuity is automatically added to everything you order on this WHOLE island therefore the staff has nothing to work for. Very disappointing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello rossi1229, Thank you for reaching out to us. I would like to apologize for the slow services you received. I wish we could have made a better impression on you. It saddens me to hear you were so disappointed with your stay. If you would like to speak with us directly, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely,... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(24)
  • Market place(18)
  • Ocean view room(14)
  • China Beach(9)
  • Great time(7)
  • Infinity pool(6)
  • Celebration cruise(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,847 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1578)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (403)
Viewed
View from room (149)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (471)
Viewed
Room/suite (166)
Viewed
Family/play areas (19)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (284)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Marina View (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean View (17)
Viewed
Lanai Suite (9)
Viewed
Lighthouse Pointe 2BR suite (15)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Prime Minister's Suite (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay