We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Hotel website
1 Sea Horse Road | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Add Photo Write a Review

2,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    729
    784
    330
    151
    118
See reviews for
596
892
68
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2112)
  • Mar-May only
    (667)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (633)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (304)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (508)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We took a cruise and stayed at the Grand Lucayan in a Breakers Cay room for 4 nights. For a spectacular ocean view, be sure to request a room above the 4th floor. Checking in wasn't that bad at all. The cruise ship staggered the departures well so there weren't a ton of people checking in at the same time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lone Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to this resort as part of a cruise/time share package. This resort is Aces with us. Everyone we dealt with was helpful, courteous and pleasant with only one exception (and even in paradise it is possible to have a bad day). The experience started with check in...there was a piano player who had excellent taste in music. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wonderful resort! You don't have to leave? Everything is located within walking distance. We had a king size room with ocean view. Hotel was clean, room was clean and room service provided items we needed quickly. Beautiful view! Good coffee shop and access to the market Across the street

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've stayed at this resort twice already. This resort has breathtaking views and architecture, but I think the current owners have let it down a little since Westin left the resort. The rooms are nicely designed, but the bathrooms are outdated and the showers are old and musty. The restaurants on the resort are pretty good, especially China Beach. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent two nights at this resort, the coffee shop did not take cash, I guess they did not trust the employees to collect cash. When I checked out I left my tablet and phone charging system in my room by mistake. After a few hours I called the hotel and asked them to recover my charging system and please... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New York City, New York
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

hotel and grounds was clean and large but felt like everything was catered to take every cent from your pockets. every item overpriced - water was 7$. bag of chips9$. Really!! Food was okay but all "american" cuisine nothing special and again overpriced. Service at the restaurants was poor probably due to too many guests. Rooms were clean There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello OliviaLivy, Thank you for reaching out to us on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry to hear you were so displeased with your stay. I wish your experience had been different. It saddens me that you feel this way. If you have any other concerns please reach out at guestservices@grandlucayan.com. With warm regards, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Service More 

Tampa, Fl.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a very comfortable, very clean and presentable resort, the only downside is that the service is not according to the category of the resort, check in was quite delayed and disorganized, we had to wait in line about 2 hours to check in and then 2 hours until we got the room key. Pretty good food but again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello asigabi, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm so happy to hear you found the resort to be comfortable and clean. Also, I really appreciate your feedback on the slow services you received during your stay. I hope you'll visit us again in the future. Keep a lookout on our website for special offers. With warm regards,... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall memorable trip, beautiful ground, spectacular white sandy beach, rooms were clean with a magnificent ocean front view but need updating. Excellent food once you got it ☺ The staff was pleasant and helpful . Not the best place for kids but management informed us of the new upcoming renovated hotel section which will be much more accommodating for kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello MammaTurquoise, I am so thrilled to hear that you and your family left the resort with such a memorable experience. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor, and thank you for providing us with beautiful photos. We hope to see you again soon. With warm regards, Bernadette Arty, Director of Guest Service More 

Phoenix, Arizona
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Grand Bahama is a fantastic island in many ways. The beaches are fantastic and some of the best that you will find. My wife and I just came back on July 25, 2015 and we have been coming here for 10 plus years. The Grand Lucayan is a very solid hotel. The rooms are clean and the view (you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello shane841, We cannot thank you enough for such an awesome review! I am honestly flattered by your compliments and that you continue to choose Grand Lucayan to vacation with. I am sure your review will be very helpful to many of our future guests. Again, thank you for the review and we can't wait to host you again. :-)... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that we were on our honeymoon. We arrived and the Grand Lucayan gave us vague details about our stay. Our first room did not have a working A/C we requested them to fix it multiple times with no action. Finally 3 days into our trip we were switched to a new room. Upon our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review

Hello cychosz8150, Thank you for reaching out to us on TripAdvisor. It saddens me to read you didn't have a pleasant experience while staying with us. Most guests describe the beach and our pools as relaxing and clean, but I am sorry you felt so differently. I'd also like to apologize for the broken AC in your first room, but... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(24)
  • Market place(18)
  • Ocean view room(14)
  • China Beach(9)
  • Great time(7)
  • Infinity pool(6)
  • Celebration cruise(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,896 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1627)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (417)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (484)
Viewed
Room/suite (169)
Viewed
View from room (151)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Family/play areas (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (300)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Marina View (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean View (17)
Viewed
Lanai Suite (9)
Viewed
Lighthouse Pointe 2BR suite (15)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Prime Minister's Suite (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 16 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay