We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Channel Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Kings Road, P.O. Box F-43817 | Lucaya, Freeport 43817, Grand Bahama Island
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bell Channel Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

Hello I had to write a review when I saw the ratings of this hotel. I go to freeport bahamas about four times a year. I have stayed in this hotel once. The rooms where horrible and dirty. Don,t get me wrong its a cheap hotel but still not worth it. They also try and force you to a time... More 

Helpful?
Thank AIR_Review
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review

Dear AIR_Review, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not find your room satisfactory, even though it was a year ago, I still wish we had known so that we could have had a chance to rectify it. As you mentioned you have only stayed with us once, and... More 

Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

The location is ideal in Port Lacaya. The staff is superb and the owners are genuinely caring. We are glad we found this jewel!!! The restaurant had great food and awesome drink specials. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Lacaya Market and on the public bus rout.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nancy B, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back soon!!! :-) Have a great day, Susie More 

Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

2nd trip to Freeport to stay at the Bell Channel Inn. Scuba diving with Presley and the gang. Great family run location. Diving is close and always fun. First floor room was steps from the dive boat, patio and pool. Close enough to walk to the Lucayan Market, or take the local bus to get around, which is what we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shayna C
Sicamous, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

We dropped in last minute,when our plans were changed, and found the staff very accommodating! The front desk was very willing to see that we were taken care of.We ate at their restaurant that night and found the food to be exceptional! It's very clean and well run! Not fancy and new...but very reasonably priced and functional.We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank John D
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review

Dear John D, We love to hear feedback from our customers - so thank you for your review! Our staff takes great pride in going the extra mile in order to give excellent customer service - everyone from the maids to the front staff and the restaurant staff as well. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your food... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Want to pay half to enjoy a good dive vacation then Bell Channel Inn is the place to go. The hotel is clean and the employees are very friendly and helpful. If you don't dive don't let that stop you Jenny in the lobby will fix you up with the attractions to see. If you do dive Presley and Jerry... More 

Helpful?
Thank JHrouda
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review

Dear JHrouda, It warms my heart to read such a wonderful review from a happy repeat customer!!! As you know, we are not a 5 star hotel - but we do have a 5 star staff, who believe in giving 5 star customer service. A lot of people such as yourself has taken advantage of our hotel and dive packages... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

You need to know that the rooms are always spotless but are quite worn. Feels like a throwback to the era in which the place was built. But you want to stay because of the people. Great intro for scuba diving...learning about the Grand Bahamas and the island offerings. Best Bahama Mama on the island and wonderful restaurant. Love to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank studebap
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Studebap, Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you know, we are not a 5 start hotel, however our property is well taken care of and we take great pride in offering large, clean rooms. We are however, always improving and modernizing whenever we have an opportunity... More 

tampa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

This hotel is very inexpensive, especially for the Bahamas so I was weary of what to expect. The reviews all said that the rooms weren't anything special but were very clean. I was prepared and that's exactly what they are. Nothing fancy at all but very clean and good size. The bed was ok, not great but the linens were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mariah M
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review

Dear MariahM, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I see that you now know why our restaurant is often referred to as the island's Best Kept Secret! :-) We do hope to see you back again soon! Have a great day, Susie More 

Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

This hotel is on the opposite side of the canal to the Port Lucaya complex. The rooms are a little dated but ours had a modern TV and excellent A/C. The room was large, had it's own fridge and a coffee maker was provided when we asked The balcony faces the channel and was basically but comfortably furnished. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisintheBahamas
BellChannelInn, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Channel Inn, responded to this review

Hi ChrisintheBahamas, We love to hear from our customers, and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am sure your review will be a great help to future travelers, as they determine if Bell Channel Inn is the right fit for their vacation... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at bellchannel inn 14 days and was made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left were looked after by all members of staff Liz and her family charmian and millenia and all staff and locals. Upstairs and a very special thanks to genie who Made our stay very special with her very caring... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank briannetom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We arrived at the Bell Channel Inn by taxi from the ferry terminal, it cost us $30 between 3 people which wasn't too bad. We stayed for 5 nights, and would have stayed even longer if we could! Very warm welcome from the lady at reception who checked us in quick and answered any questions we had. Beach towels are... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Abbie B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 2,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Memories Grand Bahama Beach and Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#3 of 16 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay