We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Hotel amenities
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Elle T Nassau
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Nassau
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel twice. Clean lobby and rooms, very good service by staff, nearby restaurant with delish breakfast, hot and tasty! The local buses run directly in front of the hotel, cinema across the street. I would compare this hotel to any la quinta hotels in the US. Same type of deal. Rooms are good size, clean and comfy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK, I've stayed before but this place is convenient for my office. My room on the third floor was on the front of the hotel but not too much room noise. The room was clean and functional. The BIG downside was that the wifi was not working and even though I reported this immediately, it was not fixed on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I stayed there for one night after disembarking from a ship... the hotel is ok but nothing special... people at the reception are friendly and helpful... room was spacious and confortable... dinner was simple... breakfast was adequate and with wide choice...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

You get what you pay for. Staff friendly. Basic Rooms. Little creatures in the rooms on the walls. Close to El Casino and International Bazzar. Not bad for your basic roof over your head. Restaurants nearby are expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Castaways is a regular hotel and not a resort. It is clean but the bedspread needed to be washed. The A/C broke on last night and advised the front desk. No one available to fix it but they did offer to move me. Changing rooms is a pain and at least the fan worked on the A/C. The Resturant could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
charlotte
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The surrounding area was dismal . The pool was closed. The room was small- the comforter and bed linen looked scary . Bathroom was suspect . I didn't last the night. The staff was gracious and pleasant but not enough to keep me there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I've stayed here before and once again the place was very quiet - maybe 6 or 7 rooms occupied out of perhaps 120!. Nevertheless, the reception welcome was efficient and pleasant. The room (on the front) was clean and well maintained but dated - just like all the other rooms. The wifi was working this time and is now open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

We at the Castaways Resort and Suites Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have looked into the Air conditioner as you mentioned and can confirm that we have serviced them all. We hope that you visit us again. More 

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here while we were working on a boat in the shipyard, Friday Nights is the local Rake and Scrape celebration, i recommend this and you will have a blast. They have breakfast in the mornings, it is fresh and try the local bacon. it is really good. Front Desk is very pleasant and will attend to your needs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! More 

Nassau
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For the price paid, there was nothing wrong with this hotel. The room was basic, but clean, and everything inside it worked. The WiFi was fast. Breakfast was actually quite good. But that part of town... is a ghost town. When I went to have dinner, I walked into an empty hotel restaurant. (That's because the hotel had a total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Too Expensive, and dirty, I usually carry an portable ultraviolet light with me and when i turned that thing-ON the towels and the bathroom floor had some much DNA that it look like a messy crime scene. I when to eat to the Flamingo restaurant next door and took 30 min to get my breakfast and i was the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

I would like to apologize that you felt we did not meet your standards as we aim to please all of our guest. We have done a check and noticed no complaint was filed from anyone in regards to cleanliness or any other matter in fact during the month of July. I really wished we would have been informed that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question