We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Freeport hotels

Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Hotel amenities
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
enricodar Rome
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Rome
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed there for one night after disembarking from a ship... the hotel is ok but nothing special... people at the reception are friendly and helpful... room was spacious and confortable... dinner was simple... breakfast was adequate and with wide choice...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. Staff friendly. Basic Rooms. Little creatures in the rooms on the walls. Close to El Casino and International Bazzar. Not bad for your basic roof over your head. Restaurants nearby are expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Castaways is a regular hotel and not a resort. It is clean but the bedspread needed to be washed. The A/C broke on last night and advised the front desk. No one available to fix it but they did offer to move me. Changing rooms is a pain and at least the fan worked on the A/C. The Resturant could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
charlotte
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

The surrounding area was dismal . The pool was closed. The room was small- the comforter and bed linen looked scary . Bathroom was suspect . I didn't last the night. The staff was gracious and pleasant but not enough to keep me there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I've stayed here before and once again the place was very quiet - maybe 6 or 7 rooms occupied out of perhaps 120!. Nevertheless, the reception welcome was efficient and pleasant. The room (on the front) was clean and well maintained but dated - just like all the other rooms. The wifi was working this time and is now open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

We at the Castaways Resort and Suites Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have looked into the Air conditioner as you mentioned and can confirm that we have serviced them all. We hope that you visit us again. More 

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here while we were working on a boat in the shipyard, Friday Nights is the local Rake and Scrape celebration, i recommend this and you will have a blast. They have breakfast in the mornings, it is fresh and try the local bacon. it is really good. Front Desk is very pleasant and will attend to your needs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! More 

Nassau
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For the price paid, there was nothing wrong with this hotel. The room was basic, but clean, and everything inside it worked. The WiFi was fast. Breakfast was actually quite good. But that part of town... is a ghost town. When I went to have dinner, I walked into an empty hotel restaurant. (That's because the hotel had a total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Too Expensive, and dirty, I usually carry an portable ultraviolet light with me and when i turned that thing-ON the towels and the bathroom floor had some much DNA that it look like a messy crime scene. I when to eat to the Flamingo restaurant next door and took 30 min to get my breakfast and i was the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

I would like to apologize that you felt we did not meet your standards as we aim to please all of our guest. We have done a check and noticed no complaint was filed from anyone in regards to cleanliness or any other matter in fact during the month of July. I really wished we would have been informed that... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights due to plane breaking in Freeport. Plus: Close to airport (less than 10 min drive) Hotel has free wifi AC worked well Cons: VERY outdated Dirty towels in room No restaurant in Hotel Overall the hotel was very old and dated. The dirty towels in all my co-workers rooms as well as mine was gross.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

Good Day We appreciate all reviews. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest. The Castaways Resort and Suites take pride in our customers and their concerns. If a guest has a complaint such as they dont feel the towels are clean we would love to know so that we can take care of it immediately.... More 

Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel, both times on business. I doubt that there were more that a dozen guests on this night. The reception staff are friendly and efficient. My room was clean and comfortable. There were 2 beds, an old CRT TV and a fridge. The rooms do have a/c although I didn't need it. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

Address: 42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Suites Grand Bahama Island
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island Hotel Freeport
Best Western Freeport
Freeport Best Western
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island Bahamas/Freeport

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay