We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island

42629 E Mall Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Hotel amenities
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014
enricodar Rome
Rate this Hotel

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Rome
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I stayed there for one night after disembarking from a ship... the hotel is ok but nothing special... people at the reception are friendly and helpful... room was spacious and confortable... dinner was simple... breakfast was adequate and with wide choice...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

You get what you pay for. Staff friendly. Basic Rooms. Little creatures in the rooms on the walls. Close to El Casino and International Bazzar. Not bad for your basic roof over your head. Restaurants nearby are expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Castaways is a regular hotel and not a resort. It is clean but the bedspread needed to be washed. The A/C broke on last night and advised the front desk. No one available to fix it but they did offer to move me. Changing rooms is a pain and at least the fan worked on the A/C. The Resturant could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
charlotte
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The surrounding area was dismal . The pool was closed. The room was small- the comforter and bed linen looked scary . Bathroom was suspect . I didn't last the night. The staff was gracious and pleasant but not enough to keep me there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I've stayed here before and once again the place was very quiet - maybe 6 or 7 rooms occupied out of perhaps 120!. Nevertheless, the reception welcome was efficient and pleasant. The room (on the front) was clean and well maintained but dated - just like all the other rooms. The wifi was working this time and is now open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

We at the Castaways Resort and Suites Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have looked into the Air conditioner as you mentioned and can confirm that we have serviced them all. We hope that you visit us again. More 

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here while we were working on a boat in the shipyard, Friday Nights is the local Rake and Scrape celebration, i recommend this and you will have a blast. They have breakfast in the mornings, it is fresh and try the local bacon. it is really good. Front Desk is very pleasant and will attend to your needs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! More 

Nassau
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For the price paid, there was nothing wrong with this hotel. The room was basic, but clean, and everything inside it worked. The WiFi was fast. Breakfast was actually quite good. But that part of town... is a ghost town. When I went to have dinner, I walked into an empty hotel restaurant. (That's because the hotel had a total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Too Expensive, and dirty, I usually carry an portable ultraviolet light with me and when i turned that thing-ON the towels and the bathroom floor had some much DNA that it look like a messy crime scene. I when to eat to the Flamingo restaurant next door and took 30 min to get my breakfast and i was the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

I would like to apologize that you felt we did not meet your standards as we aim to please all of our guest. We have done a check and noticed no complaint was filed from anyone in regards to cleanliness or any other matter in fact during the month of July. I really wished we would have been informed that... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights due to plane breaking in Freeport. Plus: Close to airport (less than 10 min drive) Hotel has free wifi AC worked well Cons: VERY outdated Dirty towels in room No restaurant in Hotel Overall the hotel was very old and dated. The dirty towels in all my co-workers rooms as well as mine was gross.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natasha T, Manager at Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island, responded to this review

Good Day We appreciate all reviews. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest. The Castaways Resort and Suites take pride in our customers and their concerns. If a guest has a complaint such as they dont feel the towels are clean we would love to know so that we can take care of it immediately.... More 

Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel, both times on business. I doubt that there were more that a dozen guests on this night. The reception staff are friendly and efficient. My room was clean and comfortable. There were 2 beds, an old CRT TV and a fridge. The rooms do have a/c although I didn't need it. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question