We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caneel Bay Resort

5.0 of 5 PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caneel Bay Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Caneel Bay Resort
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    32
    20
    17
    7
See reviews for
60
133
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (240)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Caneel Bay is a world unto itself. Seven gorgeous beaches invite you to explore, relax and learn about the history and ecology of this segment of the Caribbean. Several trails both on the resort grounds and beyond are appealing to hikers and walkers. You can walk to Cruz Bay for dinner or shopping in about 30 minutes, or you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Such a wonderful place to celebrate our wedding and honeymoon. The beaches are relaxing and very comfortable. The rooms are very clean and well kept. I cannot say enough about the staff of the resort and their great service. The bars and restaurants are very good as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited the resort in January 2015 and absolutely enjoyed the experience. We had heard about the resort through a couple we know that has been going to Caneel for years and we finally decided to experience it ourselves. From the beautiful beaches (Turtle Beach is my favorite) to the dining (amazing sushi & delicious fine dining at the Turtle Bay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
baton rouge, LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When I reserve a beachfront room at a Caribbean resort, I expect to be able to open my windows to hear the waves and feel the ocean breezes, not be shut into a sealed and air-conditioned room. Many people clearly love Caneel Bay and return year after year. We will not be returning, though. Caneel Bay is a modern, extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Michaell, Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. Please accept my apologies for your disappointments shared in your review. I am a bit confused by your review however, as our rooms have louver wall systems in place which offers our guests the choice of enjoying an air conditioned space, or opening the louvers to enjoy the sounds of... More 

New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is really unlike any other beach resort I have been to. It has remained largely unchanged since its beginnings, which makes it a wonderful place to truly escape. The seven beaches are unparalleled and provide gorgeous views and adventurous activities. Scott Beach was my favorite because who wouldn't be thrilled by friendly turtles who swim the waters! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Be prepared to pay $700 or more per night for access to one of the most beautiful beaches anywhere, with an odd mix of five star and two star service. Some of the staff are very thorough and attentive while others, including current management, seem indifferent. We had a serious problem with our stay. The beach right outside our door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wheeee314, Please accept my most sincere apologies for the disappointments you have shared. It is truly unfortunate your visit coincided with the unexpected sargassum seaweed event that challenged the north shore beaches of our island. We worked tirelessly for over a week to remove the seaweed, however Hawksnest Beach was the most challenging. Please accept my apologies, and I... More 

mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A few years ago my husband and I stayed at Caneel Bay Resort and had a wonderful time.We returned this January and it was a disappointment!! First we were left on the side of the road, in the hot sun, to wait for the boat/ferry to bring us over to the resort! We were brought around the property with other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear BeachMass, Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. Please know Caneel Bay is under the same management and ownership, however, we are no longer a part of the Rosewood Collection. Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you have shared regarding your recent stay with us. Upon arrival, guests who may have a brief wait until the arrival... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Info: I'm 26 years old and vacation here with my 50something year old mother January 9-15 2015 I cannot describe how amazing this resort is and how perfectly excluded and natural it is with the surrounding environment! The service was TOP NOTCH and I don't have any complaints! I can't wait to go back Rooms: We had a garden room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 1 week trip to the resort, for the price we paid, we should have gotten a nice room with view. We emailed them few weeks before our arrival and they emailed back saying they would put a note to upgrade our room when we get there. But to our disappointment our rooms were facing tennis courts, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Simi B, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. I apologize that we were unable to provide you with a complimentary upgrade, as you requested. During high season, we suggest booking the category you would like to be placed in, as many categories sell out far in advance. Please know our reservation agents are... More 

cincinnati
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a total disappointment at this property, one we do not plan on repeating! My husband visited this property some years ago and was eager to return. I had never visited the property. I have to share that I have no intentions of returning to this property! We arrived at the facility from another island at 6pm only to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

314 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (214)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (58)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (80)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay