We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caneel Bay Resort

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Caneel Bay Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    230
    55
    30
    24
    8
See reviews for
85
197
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (347)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only spent 5 days at Caneel Bay and are already talking about coming back. This is how a resort should be: the service is impeccable. A shuttle takes you around to various beaches and someone fills the ice bucket in your room each day. The beaches are perfect: turquoise water, white sand, lounge chairs, plenty of beautiful tropical fish,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second year staying at Caneel. We stayed in a beachfront unit on Scott Beach which was wonderful. The units are certainly in need of some refurbishment however they were very clean and the housekeeping service (twice daily) was outstanding. Our housekeepers,Evelyn and Marcella were the best! The daily buffet breakfast was very good. We spent all of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cancel is a magical place. This is our third trip in 10 years and our only repeat vacation site. It is one of the most relaxing and beautiful places we have ever visited. The rooms are simple. There are no TVs or telephones and the internet connectivity is spotty; however that is part of the charm of this place ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed on Cottage Point in cottage 50.. it was beautiful and peaceful... we had the best of both worlds.. water view, nature, and pretty much in the center of getting to everything.it was very private and quiet... very easy walk to breakfast( which was great) and to caneel beach... also an easy walk to paradise, and scott beach.. our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The beaches, views and sunsets are stunning. That is what you pay for. The rooms are extremely dated. I read some other reviews before booking and some negative reviews mentioned the dated rooms,cockroaches, bug bites, poor service etc. I booked anyway. Those reviews were accurate and we experienced all of the negative aspects mentioned. If you don't care about any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dan L, Thank you for sharing your first review on Tripadvisor. I apologize for your dissatisfaction with the rooms at Caneel Bay. We strive to provide luxury and comfort as well as adhering to the original design and tone of the resort, which remains faithful to the vision of founder Laurance Rockefeller and his reverence for the environment. The... More 

Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel were either really nice, or really rude. When we first checked in, the front desk told us that they wanted to take us on a tour of the resort. Well- the woman running the tour obviously did not want to run the tour. She was talking a mile a minute, and she was mad at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear SLAbins, Thank you for sharing your first review on Tripadvisor. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the lapse in service you have described. We strive to provide our guests with a most memorable experience, and it appears in these instances we fell short of our expectations. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, and will be... More 

Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

With the new ownership, we were a little leery but happy to find that very little has changed - still a beautiful and relaxing property. Some attitude was noted by other reviews - and we agree, but mostly all was great. One oddity was the stinging plankton in the water - a warning would have been appreciated so that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Made a late June trip to Caneel with a pre-teen and teen. Thought Turtle Bay would be too remote for them, but they loved it. Swimming and snorkeling in the bay was great, as it was in Hawksbill. Saw hawks billed turtles and lots of tropical fish. Sailed, read, sunbathed. Sailing, kayaks, SUP all available with no extra charge. Gorgeous.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently spent 10 days at Caneel Bay. It was incredibly relaxing. Everything we needed was right there at the resort. We easily traveled via taxi to Cruz Bay for shopping, excursions, great food and entertainment. 5$ per person, each way. After seeing the other resorts, we were certain we had made the right choice, while many of the others... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Caneel Bay Resort for our honeymoon. A friend had recommended Caneel Bay over the Westin, which are two of the main resorts on the island. Caneel Bay was perfect, they pace of the resort is very relaxing and makes it easy to get away from it all. They have 7 beaches on the property and they offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

385 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (284)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (70)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (92)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay