We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Caneel Bay hotels

Caneel Bay Resort

4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Caneel Bay Resort to your Saves list
Caneel Bay Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Kikiheff1 Saint Louis, Missouri
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (278)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (61)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    20
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
36
82
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Caneel bay is exactly what you would think of when you say beach vacation! We were fortunate to right on the beach (as I think MANY of the rooms are!) Open the door and walk right out to the water...paradise. The rooms are small, and a little outdated, but clean and comfortable. At first I was a little worried that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was worried about the rooms from other reviews but they were great - and we usually like to stay at Four Seasons, One and Only type places when we go away. Only complaint is no TV but we just used our ipads at night. Beaches are unbelieveable! Several great food options onsite but town is a short cab ride... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can't say enough good things about Caneel Bay. This was our first trip to Caneel with our kids, and we can't wait to get back! We were in an oceanfront room which was set up perfectly with two twin beds and a king. We spent very little time in the room anyway, as there was just too much to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Caneel bay exceeded all of my expectations! The food, accommodating, my kids had the best time, the beaches were amazing, staff was lovely. We paddle boarded and kayaked everyday. We stayed in The main beach Caneel bay and it was perfect! Breakfast every morning was delicious, zozo's was super yummy and so was the turtle bay house! I love it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely location, but the service is horrible. The majority of staff members I encountered were either indifferent or rude. For the price, I expect at least courtesy, if not true effort to make me feel welcome. My garden-view accommodations were quite nice, and about what I had expected. However, the customer service was the absolute worst. My arrival started on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anne H, Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. While I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and our property, I would like to extend my personal apologies to you for the disappointment you have shared regarding the service provided by our staff members. We take great pride in extending all the courtesies Caneel Bay has... More

new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I just returned from Caneel, our 5th trip there. Again, as before, our trip was perfect. The beaches at Caneel are nearly empty, even when the resort is full. Each beach has only between 10 and 20 rooms, and people try different beaches, so the beaches never feel anywhere near full. The snorkeling is incomparable. Turtles, barracuda,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Let's start on a positive note. Caneel Bay Resort's location is incredible and once you start exploring the 7 beaches and the rest of St John you may be able to accept the lack of luxury you may have expected from the high costs you will pay. But I just want to warn you what you will be getting so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bike 2, Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our location as well as our seven beaches and that many of the experiences you have shared were most memorable. I would however, like to apologize that you did not find value, in your holiday with us. It is true, we do not have... More

Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If staying at a resort with pristine, calm, and soothing beaches is important to you, than this spectacular resort is your place. The grounds, rooms, and staff are all amazing here as well and there are plenty of solid F&B options. While pricey, the premium beach front rooms on Scott Beach are worth every half penny --- you will wake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Irving, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me explain. My wife and I do not typically do resorts. We are vrbo kind of vacationers. Our friends booked Caneel Bay for their 25th anniversary. We were then invited and chose to stay at Caneel Bay also. It is pricey. I am sure some go more than once a year (met her) and some go just once for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had no idea what to expect when we arrived at Caneel Bay Resort. Now I know, beauty, luxury, pampering all set in a natural backdrop of ocean and wildlife. Words can barely describe the beauty of this resort. That coupled with their desire to provide great service and it makes for a vacation that is truly one to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Caneel Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

278 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (80)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (23)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Amenities (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
166

See which rooms travelers prefer