We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caneel Bay Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Caneel Bay Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We truly enjoyed the property, service and food. Dinner at both ZoZo's and Turtle Bay Estate House was delicious! Most of all, though, we enjoyed snorkeling right off the many beaches that are part of the property -- we saw sea turtles, rays, eels, and numerous types of fish and coral. As others note, though, you are mostly paying for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MattLeeA
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went for a week in January to take advantage of off-peak prices that were still a ridiculous $750/night. We had decided to splurge but it definitely wasn't worth it. The rooms are spacious & clean, although outdated. There are no TVs in the rooms, but wireless is free and good. Our outdoor chaises were in particularly bad shape (but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ProfPauletteNewYork
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went for a wedding in June, and were really disappointed with our stay. As other reviewers have shared, this is a Best Western at best. The rooms were 2 stars at the most - outdated and old furniture, shabby towels and hangers that still say Rosewood (Rosewood divested this property and we can see why) Service was also poor... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CARokoNYC
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear CARokoNYC, Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you have shared regarding the wedding celebration you attended last June. I do, however, hope you enjoyed the festivities while you were with us. Please know we are very excited to begin our renovation project that will take place during our seasonal closure period this year, the first phase will be... More 

St. Louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The public areas are beautiful as are the multitude of beaches. Be sure to take several walks around the property to soak it all in. But frankly for over $500 a night (not even peak season) this place needs some serious renovation. The air conditioner in our room leaked on our heads, the bathroom is one of the smallest I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hhball
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at Caneel Bay in January of this year. We had been there once before three years ago. It was a business meeting for my husband and we paid for premium facilities at a cost of over $700 a night. We were shocked to discover that things just didn't seem quite the same as when we visited before. The... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Traveler46_11
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Traveler46_11, Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you have shared regarding your stay. We continuously strive to provide our guests with a most memorable stay, and in this case, it appears we may have fallen short of our goals. I have shared your review with our housekeeping staff to ensure our very high standards are maintained if not... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WOW!! We had the most beautiful views from our room. Facing the East on Hawksnest Bay. Snorkeling just a few feet from our door to the East and a beautiful grassy area out the West door. Early morning and late afternoon whitetail deer grazing out the door to the West. This resort is located inn a National Park, very unique.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to pick the ultimate rooms at cottage 7. While even these rooms are old & basic, they have amazing views! The beds are very comfy & they give you big fluffy bath towels! Our patio was the biggest asset as it had amazing views! It was very private and steps away from Scott beach! Scott beach is absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank BethA02
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been to this property several times and you simply can't beat the location or the beaches. Unfortunately, things seem to be slipping or perhaps we simply caught them at a bad time. We had real bug issues in the room. Had to change out a rollaway bed as my daughter was bit up badly after two nights. Also had... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Beach-lover1096
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been to many resorts in the Caribbean, Caneel is our #1 destination. With 7 beaches spread out over the resort that blends in with the beautiful natural surroundings, you feel you have the place to yourself. Top notch service, clean rooms, great dining and wonderful hikes on or near the 170 acre property makes this destination a place to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Frank P
Pacific, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great resort very relaxing and peaceful! Wonderful place to reconnect and let stress go! Loved no tv or phones in room! Lots of sun water and relaxation! We will return! Rooms were nice and clean and staff was very friendly ! Gelato was a great afternoon snack!

Helpful?
2 Thank 109Patti
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

489 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (388)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#4 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay