We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westin St. John Resort & Villas

4.0 of 5 P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Westin St. John Resort & Villas
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    714
    307
    190
    130
See reviews for
605
725
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2013)
  • Mar-May only
    (536)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (541)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (448)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (488)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Based on the number of bad reviews we were a little worried about booking. We only stayed for one night (on the villa side) but can say the service was nothing less than excellent -- from checkin to concierge to transportation, bartenders, servers. Whatever service problems used to exist have clearly been addressed. We had dinner at the restaurant on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackson
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here the week before Thanksgiving for a girls getaway with 6 women. Stayed in a 3 bedroom villa and the rooms were magnificent! Some previous reviews were not very good but I have zero complaints. Even though there are renovations going on we were never inconvenienced or even noticed the workers. Hopefully someday I will come back with my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Sounds like you had the perfect girl’s getaway. I was pleased to read that you had zero complaints and plan on returning with your family. I hope to see you soon More

Minneapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Like so many others, we were a bit nervous about staying here after the mixed reviews. In a nutshell, we found many of the negative comments didn't really pan out. The employees were kind and helpful, even stopping their golf carts several times to ask if we needed anything. While the rooms weren't fabulous or lavish, they were clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

To exceed your expectations is our goal and I was very pleased to hear we did that during your stay with us. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us despite some negative reviews. I’m happy you encountered the opposite and had great things to say about our resort. Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. More

Austin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were concerned after reading some of the reviews related to the renovations and the staff. The renovations were barely noticeable from the pool area and beach. The staff was friendly, accomodating and took pride in their work. A big thank you to Ivy who greeted us upon arrival and escorted us to our room. There was a female manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a chance despite some of the negative reviews. I’m glad you were pleasantly surprised that the construction wasn’t really noticeable and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our ferry transportation is a convenient way to arrive at the resort and thank you for taking advantage of this service. Thank you for choosing the Westin St.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the villa and had a wonderfully relaxing week. Most personel could not help enough and all were super pleasant. Had a problem with the room key four times however, and was the only hitch in an otherwise lovely stay, Very laid back week with gorgeous beaches, great snorkeling and superb food, and lots of drink. Locals very friendly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us. I was glad to see our staff was helpful and you had a nice laid back stay. I’m sorry you had an issue with your room key and hope this didn’t have much of an impact on your stay. Thank you for your review. More

Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to St John once a year for the past three years. We stayed at the Westin two of those years (once in a beachfront room, the other in a hillside villa), the other year we stayed at Villa Amorosa (beautiful). Neither room at the Westin was great. We keep coming back because of the price. Last year... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing St. John for your vacation destination and the Westin as your preferred place to stay. It’s nice to hear you get off the resort and experience all that St. John has to offer including the stunning beaches on the Northshore. I hope you will enjoy your room on your next visit, may I suggest one of... More

Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just returned from spending 5 days in St. John with a party of 15 people for a friends birthday. The location and resort are beautiful and our room location was perfect (bldg 11) right off the pool and close to the beach. The grounds are well kept and disruption from ongoing construction was fairly minimal. We had the Westin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

It was nice to read you enjoyed the resort and location of your room. I’m sorry the service you encountered at our restaurants was on the slower side and you had some room service issues. Management is working with the staff to try and improve in these areas. Next time you come back I’m sure you will notice a difference. More

Union, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Westin twice. The second time we unpacked and then found roaches in our room. I called the front desk and they told us to go to another building - they didn't assist with the luggage and they didn't upgrade us. We went to the next room, unpacked everything and then went into the bathroom, only to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Although we are on an island and have some island creatures make their way into our rooms from time to time, I want to apologize for the way your room moves were handled. This is not the type of customer service you should receive from our resort and I will share your experience with our management team. Thank you for... More

New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at St Thomas Airport and were immediately directed to the Weston Lounge where we were provided with much need air conditioning. From there we went on their private water shuttle to the Resort and Island of St. John. Greeted with a warm welcome, hot towel (a high towel-which felt so good) and were taken to the hillside villa.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

I was proud to read your review as a renewing and relaxing stay is how it should feel. I’m glad we exceeded your expectations and you truly had a renewing experience from the warm Westin welcome to our over the top poolside service. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wife and I had a great experience at the Westin St John. Our room was very clean and spacious. We were in one of the lower villa, which is within walking distance to the main resort area and also to the market just down the street. The lower villas are nice with their own private pool and enclosed yard with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at Westin St. John Resort & Villas, responded to this review

Although I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our resort and had a great experience I want to apologize for your departure issues. I will check with my staff to find out why the 5:30am ferry was not running that morning. Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Westin St. John Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Golf cart(33)
  • Very nice(25)
  • Mango Deli(20)
  • Hotel room(18)
  • Bedroom villa(14)
  • Beach cafe(8)
  • Grounds were beautiful(6)
  • National Park(5)
  • Breakfast buffet(5)
  • Public ferry(5)

Additional Information about Westin St. John Resort & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 8310, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. John Resort & Villas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Westin St. John Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Cruz Bay

1,198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1084)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (290)
Viewed
Room/suite (150)
Viewed
View from room (81)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (184)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (324)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Poolside room (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay