We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Merthyr Tydfil hotels

Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8BG, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (101)
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    17
    22
    30
See reviews for
20
19
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When coming to Merthyr Tydfil recently, I was surprised to see that some well known hotels had bumped their prices up. In some cases double, due to the summer months. But I was lucky enough to find The Castle Hotel in Merthyr Tydfil. I travel a lot and tend to stay in cheapish good value for money hotels and in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merthyr tydfil
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked for a executive double room. Manager insisted executive double room at higher rates. I paid for executive double room at discounted rate. Only had standard double. I complained but they didn't want to know. Would not recommend. Uncomfortable very dated and not as described .

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlestreet, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Guest booked a double room with en-suite. We do not have 2 classifications of a double room. The guest expected a suite for the same price as a double. When offered to upgrade to a suite for the additional cost the guest declined. No further complaint was made in regards to the room, even on check out. Unfortunately we cannot... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean and tidy hotel. All the staff were so helpful, they were very attentive even though the hotel was fully booked. The location of the hotel was ideal for me, very lively atmosphere. If I am every in the Merthyr area again, I will surely return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Looking like one of those old Indian Restaurants, it was cheap and the staff cheerful. Coming off the mountains and arriving late in the day, the fact they allowed us to order in take-aways and kept the bar open was just the ticket. Perfect to crash out after a hard day, nothing to hold us to linger in the hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Travanca, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

stayed over weekend,welcome reception on arrival by lovely lady on reception,hotel was full but was trying to lookafter every guest,although hotel need bit more upgrading but stiil worth what we paid,there was a little noise from out side but you expect when something is going on in the area,good location in the centre close to all local facilities,good food,clean tidy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here over the weekend as we were at an event in Raglan Castle, and this was the nearest hotel available due to other big events on in S. Wales. Arrived 8pm on Friday and booked in, lobby was presentable and staff very friendly and helpful. Dropped things off, and went to the restaurant for a meal. We were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandhurst
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I went on a Meat Gold course for work and they put us up in this hotel. The staff were very nice. The rooms are the big let down in this hotel. They are in serious need of an update, very dated. But they were clean. Although no one else in my group had this problem, I had a missing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Booked three rooms for three nights at this hotel, received a call from the owner asking us if we definitely wanted the rooms as it is bank holiday and the rugby also. We confirmed that we wanted the three rooms for the three nights as we are attending a family wedding and would have been travelling from Ipswich (257 miles).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were looking for a cheap hotel in the Cardiff area for a single night stay and came across this hotel online. The pictures looked pretty good, so we decided to reserve two rooms. We happened to be coming into Merthyr Tydfil during the worst construction detours imaginable. We could not find the road where the hotel was located, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heathfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my partner and we found the hotel to be perfectly acceptable for the price (£120 for two nights). The decor is a little outdated, but overall the room was large and clean, the bathroom included a bath for a change, and nice hot water. Breakfast was good, ours was hot and served quickly. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8BG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Merthyr Tydfil, Wales

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A superb privately owned hotel situated in the town centre with 45 En Suite rooms fully modernised and tastefully decorated, with telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, T.V, Hairdryer, trouser press. etc., Excellent menu's available including a la carte evening menu, off road secure parking. Convenient for all local routes and town facilities such as law courts, civic centre. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer