We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Merthyr Tydfil hotels

Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8BG, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    17
    23
    35
See reviews for
21
20
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a moldy hotel! I will say only one thing that, I won't come this hotel ever again! Please don't waste your money. I could have gone to some other place. Owner should do something about the renovation of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A ceiling from an old office block , mould , shoddy dangerous electrics, windows that are meant to but do not open constant smell of damp and a tv that did not work the list could go on . The rooms are so tired I personally think they should not be sold. The only upside to this awful place is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel had mixed reviews so I was slightly wary but it turned out fine. It suffers from being outdated in terms of style- it is rather 1990s- but leaving that aside, it is much better fitted out than an average three-star with some very generous-sized rooms and a full range of fittings and extra luxuries. The double glazing kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived for a nights stay because of a wedding . Checked in ,made me pay straight away . Room awful ,very 1980's ,had to sleep on top of the bed ,mattress awful .. Decor very dated and tired ,tea coffee facilites dirty . Whole experience ruined my weekend .. £49 is way to expensive for this quality of accommodation. Never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked 3 rooms in this hotel for the night of 16th August 2014, being the night before my Sons Wedding. I booked this only a week before, so was not pleased to find when we arrived that a VERY loud party was going on, which no one had had the decency to tell us about when booking. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a last minute booking and I was very pleasantly surprised at the high standards to be found at the Castle Hotel. The hotel was clean, well decorated and the staff very friendly and welcoming. The public car park across the road was easy to use and just a few minutes' walk away. Our room was of a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

we recently stayed in this hotel. i paid for executive room the room we got was dreadfull there was a hole in the tiles in the ceiling, the wallpaper was ripped off on one side of the room, in the bathroom the towel rail was broken off the wall, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor when it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

When coming to Merthyr Tydfil recently, I was surprised to see that some well known hotels had bumped their prices up. In some cases double, due to the summer months. But I was lucky enough to find The Castle Hotel in Merthyr Tydfil. I travel a lot and tend to stay in cheapish good value for money hotels and in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merthyr tydfil
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked for a executive double room. Manager insisted executive double room at higher rates. I paid for executive double room at discounted rate. Only had standard double. I complained but they didn't want to know. Would not recommend. Uncomfortable very dated and not as described .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
castlestreet, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Guest booked a double room with en-suite. We do not have 2 classifications of a double room. The guest expected a suite for the same price as a double. When offered to upgrade to a suite for the additional cost the guest declined. No further complaint was made in regards to the room, even on check out. Unfortunately we cannot... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very clean and tidy hotel. All the staff were so helpful, they were very attentive even though the hotel was fully booked. The location of the hotel was ideal for me, very lively atmosphere. If I am every in the Merthyr area again, I will surely return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8BG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Merthyr Tydfil, Wales

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Merthyr Tydfil with
any amenities