We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Merthyr Tydfil hotels

Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT , Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil to your Saves list
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity
53%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Andrew B Wyemouth
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyemouth
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The directions to find the hotel could be improved. The stay was very good: quiet location helpful reception, smooth booking in, the bed really comfortable. Room staff a bit lackadaisical. Excellent location with various entertainments and variety of restaurants within walking distance . lackadaisical

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Amazing value for money, I just wish travel lodge would keep up their maintenance - cracked tiles on a newly refurbished property. Fabulous beds. Plenty of eating places on site. Short walk in to town.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights as a friend got married in Merthyr. The location is good as there is a pub next door and it's situated in a large leisure complex with a cinema, restaurants etc. (didn't use any apart from the pub). The room was clean and fresh but we only had 1 working plug socket and only 1... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We traveled 7 hours from scotland to visit friends for a wedding in mothers day ... When we arrived we were given room no 110 ... We arrived at 110 to find it absolutely stank of cigarette smoke ... I then went straight back down to reception to ask if we could be moved but unfortunately there was no rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Magsgxx. We are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your room. Our cleaning staff are required to routinely check all our rooms and to notice any smells. We expect them to air out any affected rooms and notify the Hotel Manager if necessary however we’d like to sincerely apologise as this was... More

Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night here in March 2014. Hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment. Room was large with extra space for another bed and clean and tidy. There is no restaurant but snacks or breakfast are available but the hotel is situated on a leisure village so plenty of choice is nearby. No problems with stay and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got a discounted room rate by booking in advance, I had a bad experience that was not the fault of the management or staff but they put it right immediately. Hotel is in a good location close to the town centre. If you are staying for a couple of days seek out the local Wetherspoons pub at the top end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'll start with the positives. Clean room with much improved decor and beds. The bathroom was spotless and the location is perfect with leisure facilities and the town an easy walk. Now... The most aptly numbered room in hotel history, 101. Avoid at all costs for one reason only. Noise. It has a unique distinction of being above reception, facing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly, helpful staff, modern and clean hotel, very handy and close to BikePark Wales, good sized rooms and very good price. Lots of close choice of restaurants within a minutes walk. Nothing not to like. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembrokeshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

this is a terrible place to stay the room was not clean the bathroom , tiles cracked and the tile grouting was black and gone in places , the bath seal was coming away from the bottom , the toilet was stained yellow on the seat and one of the light was broke i think as it didnt come on,... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Service at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn of the poor experience you had Emma P. We would expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh so we are concerned to learn of the cleanliness issues during your stay. We can confirm that we have recently undergone a refurbishment and all of our rooms have also been provided with brand new... More

Modbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have been staying here for work purposes for nine weeks now and it does what it says on the tin - no more, no less. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but cleanliness isn't all it could be - I have had to mention this to the management in the past. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil

Also Known As:
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Hotel
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil Wales
Address: Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 1UT , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.