We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crystal Palace

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
12 Crystal Gade, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
The Crystal Palace
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013
Steven G Thomasville
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
24
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Crystal Palace
See the most recent reviews
Thomasville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ronnie made our 3 days at the Palace most enjoyable. He picked us up at the airport, drove us to one of his favorite restaurants and returned us to the airport when we checked out. We opted for a room with a private bath and were very pleased with everything, including the toiletries. It was unseasonably warm, so we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopping in STT on way to sailing the Caribbean and words can not express how much I LOVE this place! Thank you Ronnie,once again... and Yes,,, I Will be back! A+++ but now I'm still here and soaking up all of the wonderfulness that IS The Crystal Palace. p.s. Ronnie makes his best effort to pick you up from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martinez
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent one night on our way back Stateside having sailed for a weekend in the waters off the BVI's. the Crystal Palace was only a few minutes drive from the ferry building, clean, affordable, quite with magnificent views and incredible hospitality by Ronnie the 5th generation owner of this magnificent colonial 6 bedroom home. Ronnie picked us up from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Ronnie is very welcoming and makes you feel home in his home, without being intrusive. He is so knowledgeable and willing to share what he knows! My family and I really enjoyed our one night stay in this atypical place, full of beautiful pieces of a vanished time. The bed was very good and the sheets were clean. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great view and a super covered porch for breakfast and dominoes. Lots of history from Ronnie the 5th generation owner. Everyone knows him, and I do mean everyone. The Crystal Palace felt like home, only better. We were on our way to a boat at Tortola and would happily book with The Crystal Palace on our next trip to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time for me staying at the lovely Crystal Palace. It is such a comfortable place to stay, and the prices are very reasonable, especially for very expensive St Thomas. The B & B is just like staying in a museum with great artifacts all around. Ronnie can tell you the history of the town and everything around there. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Reservation bungled. Flat bed vehicle from airport in rain soaked luggage. Room walls broken.no waste basket. Bathroom and shower nothing but disgusting. Sorry we are here. Place is rundown. Palace? To call it a palace is a FRAUD. Nothing about the place deserves praise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RonUSVI, Owner at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I expected it as one in your group told me you did it. One in your group also told me you are a constant complainer. The other guests that I picked up at the same time were equally shocked at you as I was of you chewing me out because the bed of my 4... More 

sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Second time for me staying at the lovely Crystal Palace, and it was even better than the first time. It is such a comfortable place to stay, and the prices are very reasonable, especially for very expensive St Thomas. The B & B was very clean & loved my room. I again appreciated it's central location. Easy to walk into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I couldn't decide between rating Crystal Palace as poor or as terrible... but I'm pretty sure terrible is a more appropriate description. Everything felt dirty, the sheets were old and tatty, the quilt induced a sort of water-boarding/suffocation feeling. My boyfriend and I woke up every morning with new bites whether from bedbugs, mosquitos or spiders, I'm still not sure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RonUSVI, Owner at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review

When I read this review I was appalled! I waited for some time to figure what my response would be. I am sorry you had such a bad time for the three days you stayed. Yes, we have mosquitoes, doubt any bed bugs. The welcome sign in the rooms clearly states that there is no maid service and it is... More 

Bellevue
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very helpful B&B host. Prime location, with plenty of room (outside of one's own bedroom) to relax. Fabulous view of the harbor, and a five minute walk to the shops. A slice of St. Thomas's past, the home reflects its history, with oil paintings hanging on walls, etc. The porch/balcony is set up with tables and chairs (in the shade)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay