We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Beachcomber Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jimmy G Chicago, Illinois
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    69
    39
    29
    31
See reviews for
35
63
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Rockland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to stay on St. Thomas the night before an early morning light and chose this location for two reasons. It is on the beach and on the airport property. Truly a unique setting. However this hotel is good for only needing a place to sleep. The rooms are beyond run down and are disgusting. There is no wireless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two months on St Thomas and I spent almost the whole time at this great hotel. Right on the beach.... great view and beautiful beach. The staff was outstanding,, tavia, marga, even cory...... were great. The kitchen staff was great, The food was excellent. The place was relaxing friendly and accomodating... highly recommended for a relaxing get away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How can it be possible to ruin the most beautyful place in the world and letting the buildings more or less continuously deteriorate like this? This must be one of the most beautiful beaches in the area but the hotel is doing its best to make it the worst by not maintaining an acceptable maintenance standard of the buildings. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendliest staff, great bar...decent food...nice beach. Rooms are dated but the people make up for it! Very close to airport ...but for us not a big deal. I would recommend! Note...if you want to spend hours in your room ....not for you. Pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As in the past had a GREAT stay!!!! Friendly, helpful staff and Management. I won't say that some area's of the hotel don't need some attention. And some had gotten attention since I was there last year. Just remember folks your not in the states. The same "standards" do not always apply. As for bugs, yes--"get real folks" your in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night between flight and ferry. Cab drivers were friendly, staff was friendly and helpful. Room smelled of old smoke but it was just fine for a nights sleep. Other hotels were super pricey which didn't make much sense for late arrival and early check out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed her for one night. Location to the beach is great, but the complete hotel needs an update. The paint peals of the buildings. Most beach chairs are broken. Friendly people. Nice breakfast a-la-carte. Weather is nice here. Next to the airport, so it can be noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its kind of funny. I wrote a review in early February that was published & now it's gone?! This was our Honeymoon! We couldn't have been more disappointed! I would compare this "motel" to a place where people stay to use drugs etc... In the states! I wanted to cry when we arrived. I can not put into words how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
beachcombergirl121, Front Office Manager at Island Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review

Just to clarify, the $200 charge was for $100 when the guest kick down the door during a domestic dispute. The other $100 was for smoking in the room. We are a non smoking hotel and the charge is clearly posted at the front desk. The ultimate issue was when one of the people in the room tried to hang... More 

McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located close to the airport on a lovely beach with water activities available. Staff is first class, courteous and pleasant. Menu is basic and food is well pared. WiFi available only in bar area. Totally agree with prior review stating need for room and exterior renovation. Walls are scratched, scarred, badly in need of repair and paint.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rowley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Used to LOVE this place - nothing fancy, but was wonderful. Now - forget it - bed bugs, no working TV (broken remotes too, but when the TV doesn't work - what does that matter), broken toilet seats, etc. etc. And worst of all an owner that say - too bad - you booked though Orbits - you don't deserve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

378 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (218)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (25)
Viewed
Standard Double (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question