We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Beachcomber Hotel

8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Island Beachcomber Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    74
    45
    36
    35
See reviews for
45
72
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Island Beachcomber is a very dated antique amongst the giant resorts of Saint Thomas. Perhaps that's its appeal. Yes the rooms are old, and the facility needs repair. But it's cheap, close to the airport, and sits on a beautiful hidden beach. No tourists hear folks. It's no different than most budget chain motels...just a good place to crash.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I didn't have the unpleasant experience described by other travelers here at all. We just spent four nights at Island Beachcomber because she is an incoming student at the University of the Virgin Islands. When we toured the UVI campus last year, we paid approximately double the price to stay next door at Emerald Beach Resort and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is dated but we had a worry free relaxing night there. The grounds look really nice. Keep in mind we spent one night there only. The beach bar and restaurant were spot on. Good food cold drinks and a nice staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be the worst hotel in world. Horrible, and this is a good comment for this hotel, broken down, cockroaches, rats, rugs smells like someone died, air conditioning don't work, staff extremely rude, I mean terrible, they should just shut it down

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beachcombergirl121, Front Office Manager at Island Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience but it is hard to believe everything was wrong based on other more positive reviews. We are an old hotel and not for everyone, however I would put our staff up against any other hotel. More 

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel itself is something out of another century. It is old, rooms open to the outside, old building, old beds, old fixtures. The shower when turned on sprayed my wife who was brushing her teeth at the sink - water shot sideways out of the shower. Not useable. BUT if you are looking for a quick stop before heading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week when we first landed on STT. The rooms are spacious, there is TV in each room, and the architecture is so cute! So islandy. They have a beach bar and we went there almost every night. The food there is great, and they give you more than reasonable portions. The menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stayed here for five days and did actually enjoy. Despite having the airport directly in the backyard, this did not cause too much noise. Rooms were really old, stayed in 201 (200 has its own little terrasse overlooking the sea), bathroom in poor shape, housekeeping consistently came with too few towels. Food in the bar and restaurant was ok,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

The location was great and you can walk to the airport. It's about a 6 minutes walk to the airport. The beachfront room was right in front of the beach and that was nice but the room was horrible. The closet was rusty, had mildew stains and water stains. The bathroom shower and toilet was old and rusty. It needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

We were looking of an inexpensive hotel near the airport to ended our two week British Virgin Island sailing adventure. We knew we would arrive on the ferry in the late afternoon, so all we needed was a clean bed and a good price. The Tripadvisor reviews were right, this was all we got! A taxi delivered us to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fécamp, Haute-Normandie, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We stayed at this hotel in a seafront room. The room advertised on booking.com is completely different to what we found. The room smelt musty, air conditioning mouldy, ants all over bathroom. For a sea view room I would have expected better. Toiletries do not have any little bottles of body wash only packets of soap. The only good thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

383 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (218)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (25)
Viewed
Standard Double (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay