We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mafolie Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mafolie Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    169
    133
    69
    18
    27
See reviews for
56
208
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (416)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed here 4 times on our return from the BVI's before flying out later. Quaint little place that is a little older (established in the mid to late 1970's). The facilities are well maintained. Some of the rooms could use some updating but they are still clean and are very accommodating. The A/C works great and the beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just spent one night here. We vacationed on St John but spent one night here before an early flight the next morning. We are a family of five so two rooms here was one of the least expensive options for us on St Thomas. We had one suite and one standard room. The suite was definitely a much nicer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I shared a "suite" with two friends which consisted of a bedroom with a king bed a small bathroom and a narrow sitting room with a pull-out couch. There also was a small fridge. The wall A.C. on l y cools the bedroom. The room and pool area have vCard a spectacular view of the harbor. It is also on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here June 4-7, 2015. Took a few trips down to Charlotte Amolie, Megan's bay beach, St. John 1 day. Just had the usual parking issues in Charlotte Amolie with the jeep and finding a good location to walk to the stores from after parking down there, nothing terrible. Parking at Mafolie was fine, no issues there. We loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are at this hotel now and love it. We are in a standard room (113), and we have a great little balcony and our room is super clean- we paid $148 (it's June). It's a little small, but that doesn't bother us at all. The hotel is definitely older, so it has a 'boutique' feel to it. The stone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some of the best views in St.Thomas from this hilltop restaurant and bar! Page our bartender served us some amazing drinks. Rum drinks are definitely the way to go here. The Mafolie has a large selection of rum to choose from. Page kept the drinks following and was excellent at offering suggestion from the menu. The surf & surf was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here for about 30 minutes with without anyone to check us in. We have checked with various people, but have gotten nowhere. We had a 6 hour flight and want to get to our room. TERRIBLE SERVICE!!! I booked my room off off TA responses, so I'm a bit disappointed. The view is incredible, bit I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MafolieManagement, General Manager at Mafolie Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Bella, I hope your trip is smoothing out for you at this point and I'm sorry you had a less than pleasant experience checking in. Since we are a small family owned hotel, we do not have anyone sitting in the office at night so it can take a moment for our on-site, on-call staff to get to... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In addition to having a spectacular view, we believe this is the place to stay and dine in Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas. The accommodations and food were as good as the view. Don't miss the lobster dish. The staff was both friendly and efficient, and the bar and restaurant overlook the view. My husband saw it 40 years ago and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a one day layover in St. Thomas on the way over to the BVI. Before arriving at the Mafolie hotel I was all keyed up to spend an afternoon touring as much of Charlotte Amalie and/or St. Thomas as I could. Checked in - room was available early Went to the pool bar for a drink for some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Following the recommendations on TA we booked the Mafolie for a week’s vacation. Expected a good stay at a scenic spot, but nothing as great as this turned out. Desk staff were terrifically helpful and friendly. No matter what the request, whether it be helping with wifi reception, giving directions, to repairing a broken GPS wire, or just grabbing our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

498 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (259)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (218)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Pool (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (30)
Viewed
Standard Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay