We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windward Passage Hotel

Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windward Passage Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Windward Passage Hotel
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    124
    126
    74
    88
See reviews for
87
164
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (472)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (148)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to visit St Thomas for a week and decided to stay here based on the ratings, price, and location. I wish I could give this place a negative amount of stars, it was so terrible. The hotel staff is not helpful. The food is disgusting and disgustingly over priced. The hotel is "clean" because the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed there numerous times over the past several years as my business takes me to all 3 islands. Short walk to "downtown" Charlotte Amalie and the government buildings, across the street from the seaplane and Tortola Ferry terminals, 10 minute taxi from the airport, 10 minute walk to the restaurants in French Town. I don't need a spa treatment, fancy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to the Management Staff. Thank you for your business we look forward to your next stay! Guest Relations More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Windward passage is a long time mainstay on the Charlotte Amalie waterfront but I was quite disappointed on a recent stay. The room showed signs of upgrade - the bathroom vanity and door seemed new, but the tub was clean but unsightly. Grout was gray, cracked and missing in some places. The room didn't have a microwave which is important... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in submitting your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment staff. You will be happy to hear new carpet will be installed very soon. Please next you stay with us ask for a microwave to be placed in your room. Thank you for your business! Guest Relations More 

Rock Island, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location downtown Charlotte Amalie, almost across from the Ferry Terminal. Very close to shopping and restaurants. Great bar, open courtyard in middle with swimming pool on second floor. Food service is lacking, count on waiting a fairly lengthy time after you place your order. We ordered pizza one night and ate in the courtyard where the restaurant tables are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. We look forward to your next visit! Guest Relations More 

Agoura Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got in late to St. Thomas and used this hotel as a stopover. Frankly put, this place is a dump. I think the Best Western by the hotel would have been better. This place is like a poorly run Motel 6. Certainly overpriced for this type of accommodation. Won't stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comment gave been forward to out Managment Staff. Regards Guest Relations More 

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose to stay at this hotel because we were only on St. Thomas for one night and flying out early the next morning. We figured that it didn't need a fancy hotel, just a clean place to spend the night. Wow! It was so awful that we changed rooms within the first 10 min of checking in! The second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. Regards Guest Relations More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't ask much of an hotel, I just want a clean room and that works for me. Unfortunately you won't even have that in the Windward Passage Hotel ... the first room we got was full of cockroaches. The staff offered us to move us to another room but we had to move our luggage ourselves. When I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. Regards GuestvRelations More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was good for me. I spent family vacation here for about a week and only issue I had was that ceiling was leaking once. They asked me if I want to move but I had so much stuff so I chose to stay anyway & they fixed it on same day. This is one of the cheaper hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit. Guest Relations More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a great location for a one night stay between the airport and the ferry. Many of the reviews here are negative but we didn't have any problems. The room was large, comfortable, clean and air conditioned. It is a short walk to the main shopping area and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. We look forward to your next visit. Guest Relations More 

North Olmsted, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for a cheap room for one night because we had an early morning flight. The location of the hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes from the airport and right across the street from the water. A lot of restaurants are within walking distance, which was great. Our check-in went smoothly and the front desk staff were friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. we will be replacing the mattresses this year. We look forward to your next visit! Guest Relations More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

295 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Guest Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities