We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windward Passage Hotel

Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    128
    143
    78
    92
See reviews for
95
178
43
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (504)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (148)
All months
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days and even though the island was beautiful the hotel made me want to get home quick. I saw a total of 8 roaches in my room, yes I counted. I slept with a light on and one eye open. The phone in my room never worked to call out but it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was probably once a great hotel. The building is pretty at least. Unfortunately the location is bad if you're there for vacation. I imagine it's mostly booked by airports these days. The rooms are outdated but clean, bug-free, and the air conditioning works! Some of the areas are safe for walking. There are a few local bars but nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We hope to see you again one day! Guest relations More 

Nashville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were put up for the night in this hotel by the airport since we chose to get bumped to a flight the following morning. We were given dinner vouchers by the airline, but when presented at check in, we were told the restaurant was closed because it was off season? The carpet was stained and the bed sheets looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The restaurant will reopen in October yes it's off season but we are renovating as well. Guest Relations More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Luckily we were only staying one night before our early flight. The only pro is that it is near the ferry dock and the airport. Other than that, it is an old, run down hotel that is in need of a serious upgrade. Pictures are very deceiving. Room was not very clean, and we had to wait until well after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Sometimes it does take till 4pm to get into a room and the reason for that is the guest prior did not check out by 11am. We continue to make renovations yearly this year we renovated the exercise room and kitchen. Thank you again, Guest Relations More 

Travelers are raving about these Charlotte Amalie hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice and relaxing hotel room. Bed was soft and the tv worked, what more do you need after a day in the islands. The pool is small(ish) but was usually deserted so it was nice to use. Right across the street from the seaplanes and the ferrys so if you want to visit the other islands this might be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We look forward to your next stay, Guest Relations More 

florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the pleasure to stay one night in St Thomas after visiting St John! I must say, what a great hotel located perfectly to access the shops, ferry boats, and airport. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated! The office staff greeted us wonderfully( sorry I did not get their names), and the courtyard staff, especially Melvin, Juan,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your feedback. Your comments have been shared with the staff. We look forward to your next visit! Guest Relations More 

Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room had a good size and a balcony (I think all their rooms have balconys). There is a pool and bar area in the middle of the hotel court. The service is good, and there is a decent bar by the pool. Location is fine, not too far from the centre of town - although at the other end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us! Your comments have been forward to our Managament staff. We look forward to your next visit, Guest Relations More 

Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pictures online are incredibly misleading about what this hotel really is....a dump! Our rooms were filthy, carpets stained, dirty floors that didn't look like they have been cleaned in weeks. Even the lounge chairs next to the pool were filthy. The office staff was less than friendly or welcoming. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our managment staff. Guest Relations More 

Plantation, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Windward Passage Hotel is located on the harbor in Charlotte Amalie in very close vicinity - walking distance - to the shopping district. If you are looking for a 5-star resort, this is not the right place for you. Don't pay attention to the reviews that bash the hotel for not being on the beach or having a beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pam K, General Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. Your comments have been shared with the staff. We look forward to your next visit! Guest Relations More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I booked this hotel for a one-night stay for myself and my fiancé. We intended to use this hotel as a break in our travels from NYC to Virgin Gorda. If you are flying to STT, heading to other Virgin Islands, the Speedy Ferry in Charlotte Amelie is a good way to save on airfare. We flew nonstop from JFK,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your comments have been forward to the management staff. Regards Guest Relations More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

305 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Guest Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
4.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay