We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Charlotte Amalie B&Bs / inns

Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Galleon House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009
tmaejewsk Traverse City, MI
  • Reviews (266)
  • Photos (125)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (61)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    83
    39
    19
    20
See reviews for
20
133
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Fayetteville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed at this hotel once before about a year ago. I was over charged at the time, but didn't realize it until after I left and thought it to be a mistake. This time when checking out I signed the slip and as I was handing it to the owner realized I had been over charged again. When I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genip, Owner at Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Here are the facts This guest actually stayed with us twice before. Both times she was given a discount as an airline employee. In fact, the last stay mentioned she was given a harbor view room for the price of an interior room. (a $40 discount (doesn't sound like overcharging to me)) With respect to this last stay, we received... More

Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I booked two rooms here in April for two of my clients. Their flight was delayed and they were not going to be able to get to St. Thomas the evening of their reservation. I called the hotel to cancel and was told that they would not refund the room fee which had been prepaid but would offer a 12... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genip, Owner at Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Again, here are the facts. We did receive a call to cancel the two reservations and we did offer the credit as a courtesy. We're not required to as we have a 7 day cancellation policy (as do most hotels on St. Thomas). The caller then changed her mind and told us to hold the rooms in case the 2... More

Traverse City, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

When arriving in St. Thomas we discovered that it was Carnival. We were pretty excited to see what it was all about. Our taxi driver Steve took us around the Island before he dropped us off at The Galleon. The steps seemed challenging but I figured that maybe they had a bell boy or someone to carry our luggage, in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Galleon House and would definitely return again. My girlfriend and I brought her 9 year old son along with us. We used it as base from which to take day trips from. The ferry to St. John is at the bottom of the hill and taxis to all beaches are available immediately.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chepstow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

After our experience at the Holiday Inn/Windward Passage decided to take the advice of a seasoned traveller and stayed here for 1 night on our return to the UK. Its a long climb up steps from street level and further two flights of steps to the room we had been given. I don't consider myself unfit but carrying luggage from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

The owners were absolutely wonderful and the view from the porch is breathtaking. The location is excellent if you don't mind the 99 steps to the room. It was bad enough without luggage, but with it, it's a killer. I'm not sure what the higher level, and higher priced rooms were like but I can't imagine them being as bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

we had a great time at the galleon house! our rooms were comfy! the staff was incredible the landscaper corneilus went as far as to climb a a palm tree and pick us fresh coconuts for our drinks and get me fresh aloe from his garden for my sunburn. they have the best views in town esp for the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greeley, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

The website makes this place look a lot better than it is. The people who work there are friendly and I have no problem with them. However...if you have ANY limitations what so ever...don't book here. My husband has limitations due to a stroke several years ago and I was told that I'd be able to make arrangements at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

I arrived at the Galleon House at 10:30 am.  Martha, the owner, said my room was not ready, which was understandable at that hour.  My plans were to spend the day on St. John and return in the evening for dinner.  Martha told me to leave my bag in the reception area with other bags; where as, I asked her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Genip, Owner at Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Without going into a lot of detail, this guest attempted to get a discount from the start, claiming she was a local. She was not. Martha asked the guest if there anything she wanted locked up in the office as the reception area is a public area. The guest only requested that her purse be secured. At checkout the next... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed at the Galleon over New Year and I thought it was very good value. The room looked recently renovated, very bright and airy and a really good size. The airconditioning was new and not noisy at all. The fridge was a big plus to keep drinks nice and cold Patio doors to a balcony with table and chairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

See which rooms travelers prefer