We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Charlotte Amalie accommodations

Bluebeard's Castle Resort

3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bluebeard's Castle Resort to your Saves list
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
68%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
GWmom2013 Los Angeles, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (321)
  • Photos (309)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (125)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    133
    60
    21
    19
See reviews for
56
159
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bluebeard's is located on a hill up from Charlotte Amalie. The room was spacious with a utility kitchen and a patio balcony. The pool and poolside bar were charming and affordable (respectively.) The staff was extremely helpful, not sure what these other people are talking about! The only thing is you do have to budget for taxis to beaches and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bluebeard's Castle Resort for 6 days, 5 nights in August (off season). I bought a Groupon for this hotel so it turned out to be around $80/night (including taxes). At $40/person/night, it's most likely the cheapest place you can stay in St. Thomas that's in a reasonable location. And for that reason, it's good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear SOophisticated, Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review with regards to your recent stay. I must take a moment to clarify one item that has been mentioned before and that is Groupon Coupons. Whyndham Resorts own a number of units at Bluebeards Castle which they rent out and they offer Groupon Coupons. Dear tripadvisor readers... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

DON'T STAY HERE. The service was horrible with rude uncaring staff. I wasn't allowed to check in for 5hrs and had money stolen from my bags they claimed were locked in storage. plus not an easy walk to town without a car. Whatever you don don't stay here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ella e, Thank you once again for your feedback. As stated during communications when you were on property by telephone and also by email, we were disappointed to learn of the alleged incident. Please remember our resort has 24 hour security as well as extensive camera surveillance. On another note unfortunately we are not able to always accommodate an... More

Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was rude. The rooms were okay. I went to VI to get married and stayed at Bluebeards resort. The view was nice but the staff terribly rude and unhelpful. I went to the front desk for towls and soup and asked for some they responded "Well go out and buy some" and were not kidding. I pushed until... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tyler H. I would enjoy the opportunity to discuss your visit with you directly if you are available to give me a call. I can be reached at 340-774-1600. I look forward to speaking with you. Thank you Steve Buckley General Manager More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Okay, so we arrive August 13th. Take a taxi( $7/person,$2/bag) to this hotel. Go to check in and immediately the front desk female has a standoffish "what do you want" way about her. Tells us that we can't check in unless we have the groupon printed for her. She offers no suggestions on how to do so until we ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. NicoleR, I am truly disappointed that we left such an unfavorable impression on you. I assure you that the resort is committed to the high standards that we have been noted for. Our team makes every effort to offer our guests the best overall experience. Thank you for your feedback. Steve Buckley General Manager More

Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the risk and exchanged to visit St. Thomas and stayed at Bluebeard's Castle. A lot of reviews were not especially complimentary but we decided to see for ourselves. I have to say we loved staying at Bluebeard's Castle. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the views were amazing. Definitely the best view in St. Thomas. We reserved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear SusanW, We appreciate you taking the time to post a thoughtfull review of your experience here at the Castle. We all hope to see you again soon. Thank you Steve Buckley General Manager More

Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The resort's website overpromised and the resort under delivered. Painfully slow check-in. No bellman. Carried luggage up and down two flights of stairs. Spa closed. Market closed. Dining Room Closed. No daily housekeeping service. Had to phone Housekeeping for clean towels. Coffee not available until 8:00am at the pool bar. Requested DVD player. Delivered but not hooked up. 10:00am check-out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kyle L, Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our Resort. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I appreciate your feedback. Dear Trip Advisor readers we are a Timeshare Resort and as such offer wonderful options that... More

Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The "Upgraded rooms" in Hilltop 2 were an average/mediocre quality. There is a king size bed, and a couch sleeper sofa, a small partial kitchen with 2 stop top burners, microwave, apt size fridge, microwave, coffee pot. The exceptional part was a Kick-butt view of the Harbor. Wonderful. With a balcony to sit out on to enjoy it. As stated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Froggy1313, It continues to be extremely beneficial for the management of our resort to receive feedback on Trip Advisor. We enjoy the positive remarks which let us know that we’re on the right track while constructive criticism is especially valuable as it allows us the opportunity to make our resort better by immediately acting on our shortcomings. Thank you... More

Eatontown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bluebeards is definitely past its prime. It reminds me of most of the timeshare based properties we stay at when we use our RCI points. It is mostly clean but definitely shows lots of wear and tear and is very out of date. The view is good. It sits on a hill at the end of the main part of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kgrisham, We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience at Bluebeard's Castle. It is only through the valuable feedback that we receive from guests such as you that enables us to continue to improve our service. Thank you Steve Buckley General Manager More

Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a timeshare experience and a 1 night on-line booking experience. The timeshare is through RCI. I share the account with my mother. I anticipated a problem with name of the reservation but RCI assured me both names would be on the reservation. Wrong! However, Jackie, the lovely and professional front desk manager, allowed me to call my mother... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie J, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your positive impressions and experience at Blueberad's Castle. Please come back again soon! Thank you Steve Buckley General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bluebeard's Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

309 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (254)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
View from room (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Charlotte Amalie with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
170

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bluebeard's Castle Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer