We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Special Offer
Free GoPro Rental
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    842
    416
    190
    111
See reviews for
629
1,096
46
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2470)
  • Mar-May only
    (698)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (618)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (436)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (718)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Brian, Justin, Dani, Bobby, Shawn & Deirdre. The best bartenders/server in the Caribbean Islands!!! Thank you, once again, for the great service, outstanding drinks, & friendly atmosphere. It's truly y'all that keep me returning to the USVI & the reason I stay here each visit. Many thanks!!!! You are all fantastic!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is located on a beautiful spot, and the service is good. They have rum for you at the entrance, which is nice, and the beach is warm and inviting. On the other hand, food in general is average and very expensive, 2 people can spend 130 bucks on one dinner, no alcohol. Piña coladas are 9 bucks each,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed on the beach for a week two February's in a row. It is just so beautiful! Easy walk to restaurants and shops on the property. Fabulous housekeeping staff. So accommodating. However, the second time our reservation was not right and it cost us $100+ per day to stay even close to where we wanted. The restaurant service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Birdlady06, Thank you for choosing to make the Frenchman’s Reef your St. Thomas home away from home. I am pleased you enjoy so much about our property. Your feedback is also helpful as we take all guests comments to the table for review and consideration. At certain times of the year we do book the main pool out for... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Marriott is located on an a wonderful spot on the ocean, with great vistas and a good beach. The sports amenities are good. However, the hotel is well past it's prime. The lobby is dingy and the furnishings are dull. Even the "better" accommodations, the Morning Star Units, are shabby and outdated.The service was mostly poor, with a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear PatriciamacD, Thank you for highlighting the location, beach and water sports amenities. We designed all the beach amenities to be convenient for travelers visiting from all over the globe. We have everything you need for snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boating and more. Our Adventure Center also offers some great sports tours. Regarding your other comments, I do appreciate it. Perhaps... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has seen better days and is need of a decent makeover as there were many broken items in my room. It was full of wedding parties and sales convention types when I was there. If you like a place with a great party vibe this is a great place. In keeping with the party vibe you need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guy P., Thank you for recommending Frenchman’s Reef for those seeking a place to hold their special event. We pride ourselves on being a resort people can come to for celebrating the important milestones in life. Our lovely landscaping and panoramic views make weddings very popular here during certain seasons. We also have many amenities tailored specifically for those... More 

Champlin, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were FAR from pleased with our stay and our experience at this Marriott property. We have stayed at Marriott properties all over the US and have come to expect great service, clean properties that are well maintained, and exceptional staff. The Frenchman's Reef Marriott was anything but the above. The tiles in the pool area were broken and lacked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sagilk, Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. It is disappointing to hear you did not experience the level of hospitality you have come to expect. Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of my team. Regarding the resort maintenance, perhaps you noticed we are in the process of making many upgrades to the property. Now that the high... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was shocked that this hotel was a Marriott. The check in process took 3 hours, they checked someone else in under our name. When they gave us a new room, we hauled our bags there only to find another family already in that room. This made the credit cards mixed up the whole trip. The hotel was dirty. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Icecreamsundae04, As much as we try to please all our guests, we understand that there are times we fall short. Please accept my apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced as a result of staying with us. You can be reassured we are reviewing this situation and all comments to find ways to improve our procedures. If there are any... More 

Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First and foremost the views at this resort are out of this world. Almost everywhere you turn there is a picturesque view of the harbor or ocean. If you want a hotel with a outstanding view and easy accessibility to main areas of the island look no further. Views: 5 out of 5 stars Some people may complain about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Longshot18, Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star. It is always a treat to hear when guests are wowed by our panoramic views. All the photos in the world could not compare to the real thing. We also appreciate your explaining your descriptions of how we can make your next stay better. This assists... More 

St. Croix
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Frenchman's Reef while attending a conference from March 29- 31, 2015. I needed some tea which was not available at the breakfast or break table and Ms. Vernice form the banquet staff went to locate the tea for me and ensured that there was sufficient at all times. It is this special touches that make one's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ronan D., Thank you for giving special kudos to Vernice. She is an asset to our team and we’ll let her know you mentioned her kindly. We hope your conference at Frenchman’s Reef was a total success! Best, JP, General Manager More 

Shamong, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Phil our waiter at the RumBar was friendly, knowledgeable and worked hard to make sure everyone was taken care of in a timely manner. We never had to wait long for our drinks. The rumbar at night had a beautiful view and a relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Paige C., Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments of Phil at the Rum Bar. He will appreciate these encouraging words and the recognition of providing our guests outstanding hospitality. We’re happy to hear you are enjoying your visit. Best, JP, General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • CoCo Joe(42)
  • Very nice(41)
  • Main hotel(13)
  • ST THOMAS(13)
  • Sunset grill(11)
  • CUSTOMER SERVICE(7)
  • Cruise ship(6)
  • Friendly and helpful(4)
  • Hot tub(3)
  • Island time(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,366 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1265)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (289)
Viewed
Room/suite (164)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (334)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from room (128)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (266)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question