We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Frederiksted hotels

The Frederiksted Hotel

442 Strand St., Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (14)
  • Photos (3)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
The Frederiksted Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Frederiksted
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Frederiksted
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We did not stay here but wanted to review what we could of it anyway. We had a hard time finding breakfast places since we were traveling in September. We were told this place had just eggs bacon and toast. Not so. They had omelets, eggs any kind, bacon, sausage, pancakes, bagels and many other choices. The food was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went home for seven days. When we arrived, we met Nieves. She is very friendly and hardworking. She showed us to our room and even showed us other rooms allowing us to pick one we liked better. The rooms were very clean and Nieves said to let her know if we needed anything and she would get it for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ennis, MT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Frederiksted Hotel for a week in Feb. not many guests, a good thing because the hotel only has one employee who does everything! The owner lives in Denmark, so the employee has to get everything approved by long distance. The rooms are clean, Nieves, the manager/housekeeper is one of the hardest working employees we have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I actually liked this hotel. The location allowed us 3 guys to snorkel just outside the hotel, go to beach bars and explore downtown. There was a local bakery 2 minutes from our room. The hotel was outdated, but interesting. The staff when we got there was very friendly. The view from the room was great. Only real negative was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chilliwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

I remember visiting St. Croix with my family many years back and staying at this hotel. It was wonderful. I visited St. Croix two years ago (always a treat). The island is so pretty and the beaches are so welcoming and magnetic. Spend a few hours at their beaches and you will sleep really good. Natural sleeping therapy. Ok, back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We went there for carnival, the location is central, couldnt find transportation, not too far from the projects, hotel room had a refridge that need defrosting, the microvave was old and dented, sink in the wrt bar area a bit dated, counters definately dated, the bathroom small and the celing leaked, housekeeping did not do a great job at cleaning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Joachim V, Manager at The Frederiksted Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We know the street can be noisy at night, but we changed all the windows to the street with insulated lownoise windows. We are not a resort - no - but like you say, an intown hotel, with all the bad and good things that comes with that. We sure hope to see you and your... More

Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

This is a great little hotel in a wonderful location in downtown Frederiksted. If you are expecting a resort, yes you will be disappointed, but if you want a clean hotel with friendly staff in a great location then this is the place. The rooms are clean and basic with a fridge, TV and AC. The ocean view rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

I arrived for a week's stay at the Frederiksted Hotel around 7pm on a Monday night. There was no one on duty at the front desk and the office was locked up tight. Good thing I was staying with friends who already had my room key!! The room, though adequate (two full-size beds, mini refrigerator, microwave, bathroom, TV/Cable) had numerous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
St. Croix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Quite dissapointed with this hotel. Had to wait 40 mins after check in for our room to be ready. No hot water and shower head needs to be replaced. Towels and drapes smelled awful and immediately triggered my daughter's allergies. Soap crumpled in my hands. . .asked for another one but still waiting. Power kept tripping which was quite annoying.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joachim V, Manager at The Frederiksted Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. We are sorry that your stay turned out this way. About hte waiting time for getting service at the receptions an explanantion could be, that you arrive in the middele of the shift of staff. When it comes to the water and electricity it is difficult to keep us responsibele, due to the fact that WAPA... More

Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I was really disappointed with the Frederiksted Hotel because my husband and I took this trip to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary, however there was no real hot water in the shower, the pressure of it was zero and the tub clogged constantly. To say something nice about it, the breakfasts were okay. I had pancakes and my husband... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joachim V, Manager at The Frederiksted Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay turned out this way. To our defense I must say, that things have changed since you was here. At the time there was several rebuildings at the hotel and that might have caused some of the trouble. Waterpressure and clogs are working fine today and several improvements have been made to the rooms and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Frederiksted Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Frederiksted Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederiksted Hotel

Address: 442 Strand St., Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Hotel Frederiksted
The Frederiksted Hotel St. Croix

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
34

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Frederiksted Hotel to your Saves list