We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Christiansted hotels

Hotel on the Cay

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
67%
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
DakotaninTX Texas
  • Overview
  • Reviews (281)
  • Photos (201)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (3)
  • Room tips (76)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    124
    54
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
130
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After my previous stay at HOTC about 2 years ago I swore I'd never stay there again - this after staying there multiple times in the past 4 years. Thank God they got rid of that manager, who was totally useless, and hired the guy who is there now. Sure there is still some progress to be made, but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used our time share week to book a room on this scenic island get away in the middle of the harbor. The hotel staff were very professional and courteous. They suggested some places to eat, as we arrived late in the evening. The room was clean. It is a bit dated, but they are renovating the rooms one at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was so bad I can't imagine how it landed at number 6 on Trip Advisor. It's dirty, difficulty to access and there's no where to park. I went in the low season and literally had to park 0.25 miles away just to reach the small ferry to the island. I got on the grounds and was so put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
waynesville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited HOTC again in June for our 5 year anniversary. We were married there on the beach and will always have fond memories. Our group of 10 was not disappointed! You will not find a better hotel for the price in the Caribbean! ($79/night plus taxes and surcharges). Yes, the rooms are in need of an update, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Rochelle, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It wasnt a five star hotel, but the price was right and the location grand. The bed was horribly lumpy, They replaced my hair dryer in a timely manner.Bring your own coffee, filters (small round ones) and creamer. Mary has them in the little store on the dock. The view was spectacular ! It was odd.....it seemed 1/2 the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The room Floor have a sand. Supose to do ir check in the room its clean, but not. The Floor it dirty. The pool never clean. Don't swim. Best practice snorkling. The staff in the restaurant and bar it not friendly. Very hard to get something. The food have a lot time to cook. Never smile never give you the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review

Hello Ricky M, Thank you for your feedback It is good to hear that you have enjoyed the variety of offering at the hotel. On the other hand we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay regarding room cleanliness. Rest assured we did inspect your room prior to arrival and the floors were free of... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first "timeshare" vacation and this is where we ended up. Its on a little island of its own. There is a free ferry that brings the hotel guests to and from. The beach is beautiful. Its close to many restaurants and shops. The staff is very, very nice. However, the hotel is in need of a severe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Both fun and functional, this seems to be the place to be centered in Christiansted. It has everything you need to just hang out - food & drinks, pool and beach - and the ferry is always ready to run you over to town - about a two minute trip - with virtually no waiting. Talking to Mary at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My sister and I with our families stayed over the 4th at the Hotel on the Cay. Yes the place does need upgrades, but John and Sarah are very welcoming and accommodating. My sister had problems with her room and they were moved immediately to another room and compensated for a night's cost. John made a grocery run for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I showed up here with my boyfriend on a holiday weekend without reservations after cutting a stay short at another unnamed place that I wasn't happy with. The manager John was very accommodating. He said they were short on rooms but personally showed us three and let us pick which one we'd like. He gave us a rate on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

201 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (190)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (39)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Christiansted with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted #5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hotel on the Cay and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel on the Cay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer