We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Fallin' into a Sweet Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sugar Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sugar Beach Resort
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    26
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
42
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a great time in Theater On The Beach! We were most pleased with the new kitchen,the kayak, and the beach facilities. We have two older teen girls and there was plenty do do on the premise and the island. People at the two closest restaurants were very friendly. We likes the bio-luminescent kayak tour, the horseback riding and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Sugar Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found a particular unit that you like. Sugar Beach does offer a variety of sizes for accommodations – studios, one bedrooms, two bedrooms and even four bedrooms, all just steps from the beach. It sounds like... More

Buffalo, New York, Usa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Sugar Beach…. Where to start? I absolutely LOVE Sugar Beach and the island of St. Croix! I can’t think of a better place to stay with such amazing access to the beach. We keep returning and it’s always like coming home. We have stayed in a number of units here, each one unique in its own way. The owners put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

We can’t thank you enough for leaving such a kind and detailed review. No doubt your review will be of great help to future visitors. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and think of us as ‘home’. Thank you for noticing all of our positive changes and congrats to your husband for conquering the sky... More

Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had the opportunity to travel with family to St Croix in January 2014. We were 4 adults and stayed in unit 313 at Sugar Beach. I highly recommend both that unit and Sugar Beach Resort. The unit, although listed as a one bedroom, has a loft with two twin beds (can push together and I was told the office... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review and we are so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your room. We will share your compliments with the team, who work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their time in St Croix. And, yes, all of our rooms face the ocean! We look forward to... More

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I just had a superb vacation in a one plus bedroom apartment at Sugar Beach, Apartment 313. The staff were super responsive, the apartment well stocked with everything you could need and very clean and location fantastic. Great internet access, well designed and comfortable. Although its called a one bedroom apartment there is a loft area with two beds essentially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate receiving your kind review. Your travel tips will no doubt come in handy to future visitors. We are so pleased that you found a particular unit that you like. Sugar Beach offers all different types of accommodations – studios, one bedrooms, two bedrooms and even four bedrooms, all just steps from the beach – so there will be... More

Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

As usual, if you keep reading and/or paying attention to all fake reviews and believe them to be true, my guess is that you should simply stop traveling. I had rented 2 condos here at Sugar Beach resort (IT'S ON THE BEACH!!!!) with my family. My secondary room was unit 116 (too Funny as the last review portrays this unit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments, we will be sure to pass them along to the staff. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to continue to do our best. We agree with you that our location is unbeatable! Hopefully we... More

st. croix, usvi
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had high expectations for sugar beach condo, which is why I reserved for my honeymoon in oct '13. My family and I were placed in unit 116, and immediately I felt like I did not get my money's worth. Before reserving, customer service was so friendly and assuring,even insisting it was rental ready, but upon getting the keys I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I share your concerns, and we are indebted to you for bringing these issues to light. I did not want to let your review go unacknowledged. Let me start by apologizing for the Desk Agent who made the reservation based upon your having seen the room and verifying that it was acceptable before completing... More

Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in condo 110 on our honeymoon, the place was amazing the condo was clean and very well maintained. The staff at sugarbeach from the office employees to the security guards at nite were friendly and very professional, everyone went out of their way to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. We highly recommend this to anyone wanting a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review and we are so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. We are honored that you chose to spend such a momentous occasion with us. We look forward to your next visit! More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My entire family spent a week there last summer. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Best customer service around. We stayed in #215 Theatre in the Park, I think. The owners left detailed suggestions which proved to be accurate. We wanted for nothing. They even left us a kayak and snorkeling gear. Many people complain about bugs and dust, but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed your room. Sorry to hear that the beach had seaweed from the recent storm. We do have staff that that rakes the beach each morning. Hopefully the area will be more clear on your next visit! More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were fortunate to rent one of the 4 bedroom condos. We were traveling with our 2 teenagers and another couple. We could not have asked for a more perfect accommodations for our group. The beach sand was not as soft as I expected but that is not a fault of the resort. We drove around the entire island and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed and your family your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments and for pointing out that Sugar Beach is a great ‘jumping off point’ for exploring St Croix. We will also look into seeing what we can do about getting new sand delivered. We very much... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I will start with the good news, the only good thing about this place is the staff. They were great, friendly, helpful and apologetic. Here's the bad news. First off the location is right in front of the public housing "projects" on the island, our rental vehicle was broken into (jeep window slashed) the very 1st night we stayed, luckily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are very concerned to learn that you did not have a positive experience during your stay. We looked into the damage to your rental vehicle (so sorry that this happened to you!). The resort does have 24 hour security and no unusual activity was reported. We also checked with the staff that was in your unit prior your stay... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay