We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chancellor Hotel

Hotel website
5a Saint Ann's Avenue | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Special Price
10% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Chancellor Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    10
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
8
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room is spacious, ideal for a family of four, very tastefully furnished, quiet and homely. The staff was so friendly, check in was speedy and efficient, and the service there is great. My kids loved the waterfall pool, and the bar and restaurant is small but very comfortable and intimate. A big plus when compared to the larger busier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I have stayed here before and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, and have the iron bedsteads that are locally made to bring visitors the island atmosphere. The location is just down the hill from the Hilton in Port of Spain. I was there in February 2015 for the carnival period where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaGrange, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The location to Chancellor is fantastic to overall access to Port of Spain. Plus you can walk to the Botantical Gardens for a relaxing stroll. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were well equipped and clean. We will definitely stay here again. I loved the quaint courtyard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Did you know that the hotel has thirteen varieties of palm trees in that average. The seedlings of three Royal palms imported from India for the Botanical Gardens were precariously placed around the property which the builders had to modify the architecture to accommodate.stages. Just thought i would share this information with you. We are currently replanting with buttercup... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is is our second time at The Chancellor Hotel...Both times we have had wonderful experiences...rooms clean and well equipped...friendly helpful staff...parking always available. ..superb location...very peaceful. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I am a journalist for various travel magazines and would never ever recommend this hotel. The rooms were smelly, food was horrible and the service unethical. They are thief's and charged me for extra room nights and never reimbursed me. Do not stay here, EVER

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Our hotel policy is quite clear which you have disregarded. All documentation has been submitted to your bank which have been approved. Your writing is malicious and deceitful which i have asked trip adviser to review. More 

Travelers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stay for 4 nights during the Carnival festivial in this wonderfully located hotel. The staff were friendly and we had easy access to the Carnival festivities We had a lovely bedrooms. Our room was always clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi How have you been . We missed you this Carnival 2014 ! Thank you for staying with us and be safe More 

port-of spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Wow! Double wow, this is unbelievable but not sure who is responsible. This has to be taken as a signal of trickery and you can imagine what next . Let me get to the point, the picture of the hotel is false, that is the official residence of the Archbishop of Port-of -Spain located around the savannah and one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for sending this review. This picture that you have seen is not one that we have placed online More 

Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Pro: If u looking for the simplest of places, somewhere just to rest you head while you take in the city of port of spain, its here. if you have access to transport, here's a great location. Clean, simple room. Decor minimal. theres a closet, with a iron and ironing board,and hangers Balconey view of the northern range somewhat enjoyable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comment which i have reviewed with my operations manager. I have had some issues with my pool , as you may have realised but it was unfortunate that it happened during your stay. I do want to say however that our rooms were remodelled from apartments where some of our great artists once resided. I agree... More 

Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

i stayed at The Chancellor Hotel for two months last year Dec 2011- Jan 2012. i enjoyed the ambiance, and would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you on a budget stay. There menu was quite intriguing with both local and International dishes. Staff members made me feel like home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Sammy Thank you for your response. Let us know how best we can be of service to you in the future. Thanks Lisa More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Checked in, late at night, one person on @ reception desk, Donna, very nice. Two of us on a business trip. Kitchen closed but she made us a sandwich. Went to my room, tile floor, w 20" tv, two "queen" metal framed beds, old but good mattresses. BR awful, had to wait 10 minutes foor some hot water, half the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I spoke with the organisation that accommodated your stay concerning your issues as you were given a package deal. The rooms offered were our double deluxe rooms which can be intimidatinf for one person and also a hot continental breakfast was included. I must apologise if you were not aware of our breakfast offering, which fish is not included.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#1 of 24 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#4 of 24 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#10 of 24 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 24 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay