We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Port of Spain hotels

The Chancellor Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5a Saint Ann's Avenue | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Chancellor Hotel to your Saves list
The Chancellor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
55%
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014
llcotton LaGrange, Kentucky
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
1
8
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
LaGrange, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The location to Chancellor is fantastic to overall access to Port of Spain. Plus you can walk to the Botantical Gardens for a relaxing stroll. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were well equipped and clean. We will definitely stay here again. I loved the quaint courtyard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is is our second time at The Chancellor Hotel...Both times we have had wonderful experiences...rooms clean and well equipped...friendly helpful staff...parking always available. ..superb location...very peaceful. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I am a journalist for various travel magazines and would never ever recommend this hotel. The rooms were smelly, food was horrible and the service unethical. They are thief's and charged me for extra room nights and never reimbursed me. Do not stay here, EVER

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Our hotel policy is quite clear which you have disregarded. All documentation has been submitted to your bank which have been approved. Your writing is malicious and deceitful which i have asked trip adviser to review. More

Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stay for 4 nights during the Carnival festivial in this wonderfully located hotel. The staff were friendly and we had easy access to the Carnival festivities We had a lovely bedrooms. Our room was always clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi How have you been . We missed you this Carnival 2014 ! Thank you for staying with us and be safe More

port-of spain
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Wow! Double wow, this is unbelievable but not sure who is responsible. This has to be taken as a signal of trickery and you can imagine what next . Let me get to the point, the picture of the hotel is false, that is the official residence of the Archbishop of Port-of -Spain located around the savannah and one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for sending this review. This picture that you have seen is not one that we have placed online More

Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Pro: If u looking for the simplest of places, somewhere just to rest you head while you take in the city of port of spain, its here. if you have access to transport, here's a great location. Clean, simple room. Decor minimal. theres a closet, with a iron and ironing board,and hangers Balconey view of the northern range somewhat enjoyable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comment which i have reviewed with my operations manager. I have had some issues with my pool , as you may have realised but it was unfortunate that it happened during your stay. I do want to say however that our rooms were remodelled from apartments where some of our great artists once resided. I agree... More

Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

i stayed at The Chancellor Hotel for two months last year Dec 2011- Jan 2012. i enjoyed the ambiance, and would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you on a budget stay. There menu was quite intriguing with both local and International dishes. Staff members made me feel like home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Sammy Thank you for your response. Let us know how best we can be of service to you in the future. Thanks Lisa More

Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Checked in, late at night, one person on @ reception desk, Donna, very nice. Two of us on a business trip. Kitchen closed but she made us a sandwich. Went to my room, tile floor, w 20" tv, two "queen" metal framed beds, old but good mattresses. BR awful, had to wait 10 minutes foor some hot water, half the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I spoke with the organisation that accommodated your stay concerning your issues as you were given a package deal. The rooms offered were our double deluxe rooms which can be intimidatinf for one person and also a hot continental breakfast was included. I must apologise if you were not aware of our breakfast offering, which fish is not included.... More

london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

we stayed at this hotel during carnival, when rooms are at a premium, and hotels charge accordingly. but one would at least like to feel that one was getting some kind of value for the money! at least this rate included parking, internet etc - i see from another review that these are probably charged separately at other times. yes,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Madam, I am aware that this booking was made through a local referral for the Carnival period. It is unfortunate that we were unaware of noise disturbances during your stay. Your comments however were duly noted. More

Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

i stayed here for my birthday with some friends. from the moment i arrived, the staff were very helpful, pleasant and courteous. they helped us with our bags upstairs extended their services boyond what was reccomended for visitors. the meals were delicious and there was one member staff aka sam who often made items that were not on the menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Do you own or manage The Chancellor Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chancellor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor Hotel

Address: 5a Saint Ann's Avenue | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chancellor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Chancellor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel Port Of Spain
The Chancellor Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Chancellor Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby