We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 George Town hotels

Sunset House

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Huge Disc + Free Watch
Save Saved
You added Sunset House to your Saves list
Sunset House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
pmccann33 Detroit
  • Overview
  • Reviews (288)
  • Photos (255)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (95)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    88
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
43
84
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The diving was excellent the staff was phenomenal and very knowledgeable. The Kittiwake was a dive that was just spectacular and must be experienced. Wildlife on other dives included tarpon, turtles, a free swimming green moray eel, and parrotfish. I highly recommend Stingray City to get a greater appreciation of the animals. I recommend staying at Sunset House for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I would like to start off by saying that the staff at Sunset House is top notch! The dive staff was wonderful and made each boat trip a great experience and the resort staff in general was great. We had a lot of fun with a waiter during breakfast, which caused us to laugh for days. The "towel briefings" on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Hi Katie! Thanks for the kind words regarding the staff and for the most part your stay at Sunset House except for the boat dive profiles. We see all different skill levels of divers here at Sunset House. Some blow through air rather quick, others like yourself seem to have grown "gills" somewhere in your lifetime! :O) That being said,... More

Aledo, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Little did I know, that when we flew into Grand Cayman, we flew right over the Sunset house. Yep, remember looking down and seeing the tank farm for "Rubis"? Sunset House is next to it on the shore. Sunset is in the flight path of GCM, so quiet is what happens between planes. The hotel has been there from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Dear Rancho, Thanks for sharing your comments with us. We do appreciate all critiques, good and bad! It is what makes us better, right? There are a few misconceptions in your report that I would just like to clarify for other readers.. Yes, we are in the flight path of GCM, but as you said in one of your other... More

Elkton, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that I absolutely love Sunset House. I've dove here many times and the staff is always friendly and helpful. This time was absolutely no exception. We stayed at another resort on the East end of the island and made the trip into Sunset House only to be turned away because they were too busy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Dear Bpoor89, (I have asked Trip Advisor to move this thread to the Sunset House Attraction page) We are very sorry we could not accommodate, but as you said, you did not stay here at the hotel and unfortunately, you were on island when the hotel was completely reserved by the PADI Diving Society Total Submersion Event, where everyone staying... More

Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Sunset House for a week with a group of 20 divers. We had a great time at Sunset House and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good dive trip. My room was great even though it overlooked the parking lot. The on site restaurant was pretty good (great fish and chips) and although pricey and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Thanks Alexander for your review and high marks for the resort! There are probably many people that have been long time Sunset House guests going, "What umbrellas is this person talking about, there are no umbrellas by the pool!" Well folks, Alexander is right, matter of fact, we are still in the process of building stands and have two up... More

Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last summer with a larger group and did boat dives every morning and some of the special afternoon trips (Stingray city, Kittiwake). As a result, got to go out with several of the different dive masters and boat captains and as a group they really were a top notch crew. Cayman offers a nice variety of diving and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Thanks GC Walter for your review... We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Everyone enjoys the ocean view rooms, that cost a bit more, but well worth it... If you have not heard, all of these rooms are becoming Pro Photographer Signature Rooms, with famous underwater photographers featured in each room... Check our Facebook site to see how... More

Dallas, Tx
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Sunset House June 28th through July 5th. Room was very nice and clean. I spent most f my time diving from their boats (mornings) and taking classes at Cathy Church's Photo Centre followed by nice long shore dives. I also found time to do Stingray City Deep with friends who live on the island and do some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Pat, thanks again for your kind words... We look forward to seeing you back again in just a couple of months... (You know you have a great guest when they come back almost three times in 12 months!) Your buddy Murphy here said to tell you Hi! We will make sure you are on a ground floor room again, so... More

Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful time while at Sunset House. The diving is awesome & the staff unbelievable! Everyone, from the managers, desk staff, office workers, dive boat Captains, dive masters, custodial staff, grounds crews & security were there to insure we had everything we needed for our vacation! Awesome Job Sunset House!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Thanks DKramer and look forward to seeing you again! We are happy to hear we met your expectations! Anything we can do to help make your next stay even more pleasurable, please let us know! Remember, direct repeat guests within 18 months get a discount! :O) See you soon! More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I love to dive! We got certified late in life so we try to dive mini vacations as much as possible. This was her birthday weekend and needed a fun dive vacation! We had a perfect ocean front view with gorgeous palm trees cascading the beach property right in front of us. Each morning we got up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Dear Diverdk, It was fun celebrating your wife's birthday and with "Sunshine" celebrating hers at the same time, made it even more of a party! We really look forward to having you back again! (Remember to get that ground floor room again, so Murphy can come in and give you those birthday kisses! See you soon!! And stay in touch!... More

Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Sunset House many times over the past ten plus years. Every visit has been excellent. We just returned (July 17, 2014) and this review will focus on that visit. We chose a courtyard room (the less expensive option). Our room had 2 double beds and lots of extra space for dive gear. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunset House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Address: 390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sunset House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

255 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (229)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
2:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water... I’ve have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers." More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer’s perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
52

See which rooms travelers prefer