We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Sunset House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bookings are Available.
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    100
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
51
94
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (333)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the place to stay if you want to dive! The boats are roomy and will spoil you for the next dive location you visit. This is the forth time we have returned to Grand Cayman to dive ans it is always a pleasure. We usually return during or right after the Christmas Season and enjoy the light display... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'm writing this review a bit late, as I stayed here in Jan of 1014 with a group of friends. We stayed here as a precursor to boarding the Cayman Aggressor live-aboard. My total stay was 3 nights. Place has a good layout, nice pool, outside bar/restaurant, 10 minute walk to downtown Geargetown, & it's on the water. Rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markham, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is such a well set up resort for diving. From the exceptional staff to the well laid out property this is such a gem in the Caymans. Our package included free taxi to/from airport, welcome drink and free breakfasts. We did the 3 day dive package along with the USS Kittiwake dive. The Sunset house dive staff were always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While waiting for our cruise ship to catch up to us (ahhh, travel delays), a friend and I were dropped at the Sunset House for a 2 night stay. We went down to the bar that was right next to the ocean and enjoyed some beverages, spoke to some fellow travelers, and had some great Indian food (their special menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am so happy that we stayed at the Sunset House for a 4 day stay this January. We were greeted by a attentive staff and a very nice and clean room. We loved the location so near the water and found the restaurant to be reasonably priced with very good fare. The dive shop was top notch and staffed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three of us (DM's and Instructors in our 20s and 30s) stayed at Sunset House over New Years. We really enjoyed the spot, but I can see where some of the mixed reviews come from. I found the rooms (I stayed in 2 different rooms 307 and 103) more than adequate furnishings-wise, extremely clean and well-maintained. That said, from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Thanks Glass_Top_Cohiba for your kind review and understanding of "What Is" Sunset House. One of the things I would like to comment on the WI FI and maybe this will help all who read the reviews. The reason why you were able to get the a signal in the room of 307 is that 307 has a large sliding "glass"... More 

Barranquilla, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room here very last minute after our planned reservations did not work out. Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating, helping us with taxis and checking us in at 10pm after I had called only 20 minutes before. It's a bit pricey for an average room we paid 250 dollars but we were desperate. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sunset House is in a category of its own for not only diving, but in hotel accommodations. The staff is very friendly and the managers even joined our group and many other groups at dinner in the best bar to watch the sunset from! The dive shop and staff were phenomenal and were there to answer any questions with professional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Room 106 over the holidays in 2014. The room was in bad shape: uncomfortable beds, poor linens, broken toilet, crack in ceiling, no artwork, dirty floors, no lotion, no coffee maker in the room, Wi-Fi was so weak it didn't work....and we paid $360/nt, just for the room! Yes, I understand it was the holidays, and yes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Dear PackerFanatic, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and it would have been nice to know of your disappointment during your stay. There was not much we could have done in moving you, as we were 100% full over the New Year. While you may have spoken with a night attendant, you did not speak... More 

Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I apologize in advance. My reviews are always long. FYI- We are a couple in our late 40’s from the Midwest; no kids. We are laid back and pretty easy to please. We like adventure (scuba diving, camping, diving, hiking, nature photography, etc.) We have traveled extensively in the Caribbean. We stayed here at the very end of Nov. –... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review

Thanks Oceanfish! What a detailed report! You must take a lot of notes as most are very very accurate and we appreciate the thorough review. Just a couple of inaccuracies, but you got it right the other way around... The US$ is worth CI$0.80 (not CI$0.75) The other... Gratuity is only added to your food and beverage if you put... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Address: 390 South Church Street | PO Box 479, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset House 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

300 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (273)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
2:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay