We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Burt Hotel

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Waterfront Dr | P.O.Box 3380, Road Town, Road Town, Tortola
Fort Burt Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cheoylee Grapevine, Texas
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
25
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great little place. Not a 5 Star but for the money I was really pleased. Great location, great view of Road Town Harbor, walking distance from beach bars, dinning, and markets. On site restaurant to grab a quick breakfast before the day begins. I'll be back to stay here for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Feb 20, 2015 Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored you chose Fort Burt Hotel as your home away from home and had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands. More 

Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overnight for connecting flight. Very old hotel. Rooms were clean and simple with a balcony view of bay. Everything worked …hot water, AC and the best Wifi Of any hotel I’ve been to. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant open for breakfast and dinner with basic menu. Cannot comment on parking since I used a taxi. All and all, a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, Owner at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored you chose Fort Burt Hotel and had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands. More 

boston, ma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we booked a couple of rooms here when we got in late on the ferry, the night before taking a boat out at the Moorings on the other end of town. It a five or ten minute walk to the left along the shore from the ferry dock, but it is on the other end of town from Moorings. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are honored you chose to stay at Fort Burt Hotel and had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our service to you and other guests in the future It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to hosting you in the... More 

norwalk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After chartering a sailboat for a week in Tortola, we needed to book a hotel for a few days until our flight back to the states. Realizing that we would have our yacht provisioning supplies with us, we were looking for a place that was right in Road Town and within walking distance of the Conch Charter Company. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored that you selected Fort Burt Hotel and had an enjoyable and memorable stay. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our service to you and other guests. We look forward to hosting you when you return to the British Virgin Islands More 

Buffalo, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This was our second time staying at the Fort Burt after a week of sailing. Staying at the Fort Burt was the best possible place to end our vacation. When we arrived, we were greeted immediately and helped with our bags. They allowed us to check in early and get settled into our room. While the room was one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored that you selected Fort Burt Hotel as your home away from home and had an enjoyable and memorable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands; and I await the memory test. More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights prior to boarding our charter. The rooms are reasonably priced and the hotel is clean. It is by no means a luxury hotel it is bare bones but we found it clean. The views are excellent and it is in a very good location. Staff was helpful but not overly friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are honored that you chose Fort Burt Hotel as your home away from home and had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our service to you and other guests. Again, thank you for choosing Fort Burt Hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our guest... More 

Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

So my husband and I booked this place two nights before we arrived, so we were just happy to get a bed. We reserved the room through an online provider and upon arriving to the front desk we learned that was a very bad idea. A nice little old lady ran the checkin office, but there was no computer in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are honored you chose to stay at Fort Burt Hotel and had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands. Reservations booked through online providers are electronic communicated with the properly. Reservations are not lost! In fact, we are ranked high in the industry... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My wife and I returned from Tortola where we stayed for one night at Ft. Burt from Dec. 31 to Jan. 1. The hotel had absolutely beautiful views of the bay and a really unique charm to it with the old fort structure. They were also very accommodating in allowing us to check in early. As it was new years... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

My sincerest apologies for the miscommunication and incident that occurred and frustration caused on New Years Day. Due to reservation logistics, given occupancy, unfortunately your room had to be switched. However, you were to be met upon your return to the hotel to ensure that the incident that occurred didn't happened (as we were unable to communicate the room change... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

25 years ago this must have been an amazing place to stay, but today it's run down and its glory days are over. The room was clean, but the decor was very old and worn. The old lady was very unfriendly towards the staff in front of us, this was very uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure all our guests have a memorable and enjoyable stay; however, from your review we did not meet your expectations and our service standards. I apologize on behalf of the management and staff. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our ability to serve you and other guests.... More 

London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We spent a night at the Fort Burt Hotel at short notice, to get out of the forecast hurricane. A truly unique place; but not your typical international hotel. Based on an old fort, so surprises everywhere. Our room had a corner tower, and a sitting room with great views across the bay to watch the storm clouds gather. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored you chose to stay at Fort Burt Hotel and had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question