We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Road Town hotels

Fort Burt Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Dr | P.O.Box 3380, Road Town, Road Town, Tortola
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Fort Burt Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fort Burt Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Road Town
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
class372 Buffalo, New York
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
9
25
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second time staying at the Fort Burt after a week of sailing. Staying at the Fort Burt was the best possible place to end our vacation. When we arrived, we were greeted immediately and helped with our bags. They allowed us to check in early and get settled into our room. While the room was one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored that you selected Fort Burt Hotel as your home away from home and had an enjoyable and memorable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands; and I await the memory test. More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights prior to boarding our charter. The rooms are reasonably priced and the hotel is clean. It is by no means a luxury hotel it is bare bones but we found it clean. The views are excellent and it is in a very good location. Staff was helpful but not overly friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are honored that you chose Fort Burt Hotel as your home away from home and had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our service to you and other guests. Again, thank you for choosing Fort Burt Hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our guest... More 

Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

So my husband and I booked this place two nights before we arrived, so we were just happy to get a bed. We reserved the room through an online provider and upon arriving to the front desk we learned that was a very bad idea. A nice little old lady ran the checkin office, but there was no computer in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are honored you chose to stay at Fort Burt Hotel and had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands. Reservations booked through online providers are electronic communicated with the properly. Reservations are not lost! In fact, we are ranked high in the industry... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My wife and I returned from Tortola where we stayed for one night at Ft. Burt from Dec. 31 to Jan. 1. The hotel had absolutely beautiful views of the bay and a really unique charm to it with the old fort structure. They were also very accommodating in allowing us to check in early. As it was new years... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

My sincerest apologies for the miscommunication and incident that occurred and frustration caused on New Years Day. Due to reservation logistics, given occupancy, unfortunately your room had to be switched. However, you were to be met upon your return to the hotel to ensure that the incident that occurred didn't happened (as we were unable to communicate the room change... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

25 years ago this must have been an amazing place to stay, but today it's run down and its glory days are over. The room was clean, but the decor was very old and worn. The old lady was very unfriendly towards the staff in front of us, this was very uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure all our guests have a memorable and enjoyable stay; however, from your review we did not meet your expectations and our service standards. I apologize on behalf of the management and staff. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our ability to serve you and other guests.... More 

London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We spent a night at the Fort Burt Hotel at short notice, to get out of the forecast hurricane. A truly unique place; but not your typical international hotel. Based on an old fort, so surprises everywhere. Our room had a corner tower, and a sitting room with great views across the bay to watch the storm clouds gather. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored you chose to stay at Fort Burt Hotel and had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands More 

Kamuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Loved the room with the private pool. Staff were great. Restaurant was spotty. Being mid August things were shutting down so hotel seemed empty. Good time to go. Older hotel with a lot of history. Easy walk to town and great views of the harbor. Good value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are honored that you chose Fort Burt Hotel as your home away from home and had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the British Virgin Islands More 

Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Clean room few problems with the bathroom not fun to try and shower and the tap falls off the wall but otherwise for a few hours sleep it was good. Not bad location bit of a walking distance to some restaurants but not to far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian S, Owner at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure all our guests have a memorable and enjoyable stay; however, from your review we did not meet your expectation and our service standard. Apologies for the problem you experienced with the bathroom. This was an unusual situation and we have immediately rectified the problem. On your next trip to the BVI,... More 

Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The hotel grounds are very attractive and the rooms are large, clean and spacious. Fully equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and television. The staff are generally friendly and helpful having good knowledge of the facility and the country. The food is awesome! and it comes with a priceless view, dinner was always on time and very well put together. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian S, General Manager at Fort Burt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation "Definite place for a return stay,". We are honored that you choose Fort Burt Hotel as your home away from home and had an enjoyable stay, as we strive to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay. We look forward to hosting you at our hotel in the near future. With respect... More 

Tubingen, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Fort Burt Hotel 2 nights before and one night aftery sailing trip. I looked the place up on Google Earth and it turned out that the hotel is somewhere completly different. I chartered my boat at the Conch chartes and when I got to Fort Burt Hotel it turned out the be the best hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fort Burt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Burt Hotel

Address: Waterfront Dr | P.O.Box 3380, Road Town, Road Town, Tortola
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Burt Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Fort Burt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Burt Road Town
Fort Burt Hotel Tortola/Road Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Road Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay