We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 Bd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Le Shambala
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
You added Le Shambala to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 7 Grand Case B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
CarolHolmfirth Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very modern sylish small hotel, The area around the bar & restaurant is lovely.We booked a table in the restaurant on our first night & they gave us a table with a lovely view of the bay & the food was of excellent quality. Prices for drinks were a bit higher than other places nearby though. Our room had patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been there twice in 2014 and I have nothing but positive comments to say about this hotel. First time I was in Curacao suite and second time I tried Tintamarre. I loved both suites, rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious. The private pool is really something I enjoyed as it allows you to relax all day on your patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The location was perfect. It was right on the beach and the views from the restaurant and the outside bar were directly of the sea. We had our dinner in the restaurant shortly after arrival as it was late evening by the time we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed at this place during summer holidays. The place is very chic, stilish and cozy. Beautiful suites. Very clean. Perfect service. The restaurant is very good. Spectacular food. Is a very relaxing place, nature is all around you. The owners are very kind and attentive. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I were recommended to the restaurant by the font desk at the Westin Dawn Beach on our honeymoon. We both thought the food was superb and it screamed classic French/seafood. Our waiter was very attentive (which is rare on this island - read: European, meals are expected to take forever) and helpful. We felt welcome, full and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Houston, Texas
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at this place during the fourth of July vacation. Location was good but overall service was very disappointing. After my flight from NYC being cancelled several hours prior to departure, we emailed the owner, explaining unexpected change with attached letter from airline customer service. Anyway we headed there next day. Stay was quiet, not many guests besides us. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
florence d, Propriétaire at Le Shambala, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that your stay of 2 days was at night abbreviated, further to the cancellation of your flight on the 3rd July ; but, as I wrote you by e-mail in the date of 3rd July and said you at your arrival on the 4th July, we cannot take at our expense the consequences of these... More 

Arlington, Texas
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights during memorial weekend. Le Shambala is easy to find on the island and in a great location near the Grand Case restaurants. We stayed in the Saba room...it was clean. Unfortunately the lukewarm showers we took daily were a buzzkill. Wifi did not work at all in the room but worked by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
florence d, Responsable relations clients at Le Shambala, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really sorry that your stay in Shambala did not answer your waits. It seems to me however important to indicate to the readers of Tripadvisor that the tepid water results from a bad use of the mixer faucet as far as we showed you how to use it as soon as you indicated us the problem.... More 

Bowmanville, Canada
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had been in St Maarten for a week already, our friends all went back and we had one more day. We found Le Shambala when we were at the Grand Case Beach Club for the day (which was full for the Saturday night we needed a room). Our stay at Le Shambala was wonderful, beautiful rooms, simple and stylish,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner here. this place offers a unique beach setting with such ambience. The food was excellent. Good wine selection. The service was a bit slower due to a larger party next to us. but very enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were looking to get away for a few days in the sun - found Le Shambala in Grand Case - and were totally happy. The rooms are private bungalows with simple and sophisticated furnishings - stylish bath and best of all a private pool and garden. The restaurant and bar are directly on the water which makes viewing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Shambala

Address: 28 Bd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Shambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (13)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Room/suite (2)
Dining (1)
Pool/beach area (5)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (2)
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay