We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alegria

2 Beacon Hill Road, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alegria
Professional photos View all
Alegria
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
St. John's, Antigua
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looked at this resort while shopping for hotels. Reviews made it out to be a bit sketchy. Ended up here due to cancelled flight. Staff was very friendly and professional. I must say it was very modern, major appliances including washer and dryer which I really needed. Dunes Casino same complex Sunset Bar and famous Maho beach with airplanes landing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
milesperhour5, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are delighted to have met your expectations. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to St. Maarten. Sincerely, More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am not quite sure what the problem is with some people. We were there last in Dec. 2014 and April 2015. The upgrades we experienced in such a short time were amazing. First the staff, from Minerva to Ozzie, and everyone else, including the security staff, as usual was wonderful. They always welcome us back like family. Check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Waterloo,Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Arrived for three nights in the Maho area of our two weeks in St Martins and the first person at the check-in desk needs to find a JOB! Asked about getting a ocean view room and was told I need to go to a computer get on-line and make the request! I could not believe she said that and asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We want you to know that we take your comments seriously, and our goal is to always improve our service.. We hope that in the future, we will be given the opportunity to be your choice once more. More 

Travelers are raving about these Simpson Bay hotels

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This property really doesn't have much going for it considering the abundance of other choices in the area. The lobby is unremarkable and gives a budget feeling - maybe it's the late 90's vintage coffee machine in the corner with the overflowing trashcan that wasn't emptied for days. Check-in was slow, really slow. Your room won't be ready early, maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Hotel was under construction, Which was not listed on Expedia. Local kids swimming in pool. Front desk refused to move our room or even book us a charter to Anguilla. This was a enormous vacation buzz kill. Rooms are average!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. We can assure you that all you concerns are being addressed and taken care of. We are currently carrying out several upgrades to the property because we want to offer a great product and amazing service to our guest however no construction is taking place... More 

Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This property is a former time share and has none of the amenities you would expect from a hotel. Would give it maybe 2 stars. Construction next door and looks like it has not been worked on for some time. Next to a seedy casino. Staff were not helpful or overly friendly. Room was in poor repair, although it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for placing this review. We regret the inconveniences experience during your stay and offer our sincere apology. We assure you that ongoing efforts are being made to enhance our product and offer our guest an amazing experience. Yes, as you mentioned next door there is a building that was built and not completed. But is not... More 

Fort Myers Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Property is pretty shabby. Elevator doesn't work. When it did, we got stuck between floors! Furnishings are very worn and uncomfortable. Pool area is nice, and the best feature. Understand the pool bar is independantly owned so it works. Hotel Staff seems a bit indifferent to guests and requests for things like hot water go unheard. Overall a bad choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed during your stay with us. We assure you that guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we will continue to enhance our services to our guest. All of your comments and concerns have been addressed with our team. We hope you would give us another... More 

Sandusky, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We have been coming here for 17 years, stayed at the 'old' Caravanserai, and now at the new for several years. From last year to this year, improvements have gone up 100%. Had a small leak in bath faucet, went to the beach, came back and faucet was replaced!!!! Ozzie still remembers us, Minerva as well, great housecleaning with Andrea.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alegriasxm, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have noticed all the upgrades we have been making to our property. it is our intention to improve in every area, in order to provide our guests with great service. We are happy that you have already booked your... More 

Toronto
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We arrived to discover that the lock off rooms we ordered were on separate floors. We ere given a room that was not well-maintained considering the property is relatively new. Many maintenance items had to be dealt with. In the end it was not a terrible experience and I do think the staff are trying hard. The wifi is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

This hotel is right near the airport. Sharing the same space as the Dunes casino, Momo's, Chinese restaurant, and Sunset bar and grill where you can watch the planes take off and land from the beach. Great location, clean rooms, great views and nice pools. The beds are comfortable and clean but the bathrooms need maintenance I.e. leaky toilets, leaky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities