We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Simpson Bay accommodations

The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Billy Folly Road No. 37A, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Winter Promo!
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
RHH3034 Winston Salem, North Carolina
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    60
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
64
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our 5th time on the island but our first here at this resort. We were very pleased with our room. Very clean. We had a ground floor room & that was so nice to be able to step right out from our patio onto the sidewalk & have the pool right there. I loved all the restaurants &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The simpson bay resort is great for people traveling with friends or staying a long length of time. We stayed there 2 nights (beginning of our honeymoon) I will say we didn't spend a ton of time on the resort here is what I got from our short stay Pros- lots of amenities on site, we loved the Jamaican patties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Bellmore, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can never understand the negative comments I see here. The Villas are lovely, spacious and clean. The view is fabulous and so is the location. This is not a hotel, so don't expect room service, but everything else is here including pools, bars and multiple restaurants within walking distance. The staff is also friendly and helpful. When we arrived,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Jordan, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I read most of the recent reviews on this hotel before deciding to stay, and most are pretty accurate. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. There was plenty of room. The location of the hotel is close to plenty of great restaurants, casinos, beaches and the movie theatre. We had a car, so getting around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We appreciate your trust and we felt honoured to be your chosen resort during your recent trip to St. Maarten. Our success comes from the continuous faith in the excellence of our resort and service, something we are committed to and would never sacrifice. Every day we... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week. Upon arrival, I was disappointed to see I had to wait in line 15 minutes and listen to irate customers complaining to hotel staff. No one greeted me or offered me a welcome drink or acknowledged my presence. My husband was waiting outside in our rental car and the security guard rudely yelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Allison, Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. At The Villas in Simpson Bay Resort, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. The problems that you mentioned have... More 

Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I just returned from St. Maarten and I thought I found the perfect place at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. Unfortunately my trip was spoiled when my rental car was stolen from the hotel. We parked and locked our car at the hotel which has ample security personnel, a gate to enter the parking lot and camera's.yet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middle River, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We went to the Villas for a week. The room was clean, two double beds, I would have preferred a queen size or king. The Kitchenette had a small fridge, microwave, coffee pot, toaster. Cons: the resort is in a beautiful setting, but has many steps and is on the hillside. A shuttle was mentioned but never was seen on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I booked this hotel for the last weekend in October 2014 a week before my actual trip. The same day I booked this hotel I found out I was not going to make the trip to SMX. I sent them an email the next day stating that I was canceling because I wasn't able to make the trip. I received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Simpson Bay Resort no longer offers free wifi. Very disappointing when you pay so much money and there is no wifi included. I will not be staying there again until they bring back the free wifi. There are many other hotels in the area that have better amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gerardo G, Public Relations Manager at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Alyssa, Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. For your greater comfort we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi with the option to acquire a faster connection with a quote, however, during the storm we had last week... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Booked this hotel for a girls trip after reading many reviews. It was a $12 cab ride from the airport to the hotel. Checking in wasn't the speediest as it seemed 1/2 our flight was staying at our hotel....and we were last in the line. All the rooms at the villas are oceanfront, and it's one of the most fabulous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road No. 37A, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Maarten-St Martin

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay