We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Simpson Bay hotels

Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CALLS TO THE USA!
Save Saved
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Simpson Bay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014
Vlad K Irkutsk, Russia
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    47
    15
    17
    21
See reviews for
16
73
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Irkutsk, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in room #14 and it was great! The nicest thing about this property is that you have easy access to a nice beach, watch the sea and listen to sea which is ten meters away, what was awesome for us! The accommodation gives you a sence of privacy all the time. The staff was really friendly and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you had a great time during your recent visit to Mary's Boon. We are lucky to have one of the very best white sand beaches on the island and normally not crowded. Almost every day we do have someone clean the beach area in front of the hotel and what the tides and mother... More

Jamesburg, New Jersey
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were a family of 4 staying in 2 beds. The rooms were nice but the bathroom was like 40 years old and had mosquitoes everywhere.when we opened the back door we had a deck that wrapped around to the front. You were literaly on the beach by taking 4steps. there were 2 dogs 3 cats and 1 bird. the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

One of the great things about Mary's Boon and why people I think come to our hotel the most for is the friendly staff and of course the BEACH. Room 108 which you stayed in is a nice corner room with lots of window's overlooking the beach but yes I agree is in need of a bathroom do over which... More

Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I made a reservation and then my flight got cancelled and they refused to refund any of the money, okay fine less than 24hrs I get it. I had another night six days later that I had to cancel and they wouldn't refund that either. They require 30 days notice for cancellation. If nothing in your life can go wrong... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about the flight problems. Their was really no reason for this to have happened as we are actually pretty flexible in these situations. I can tell you that we have refunded thousands of dollars just recently that would not have normally been eligible for a refund under the hotel policies. I am sure this guest would find... More

Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It as been a while since we were here, we did not actually stay here ,only used the restaurant, which was very good but we were allowed to look round and it looked very nice .a rustic style but wilts in St Maarten recently and talking to people who had stayed there in the last year , they said it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mark C, Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping by Mary's Boon for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The dining room and bar which is THE TIDES Resturant is leased out and not operated by the Hotel anymore however it is very good and something on the menu for everyone. The hotel has 36 rooms and suites, deluxe beachfront, garden rooms, lower garden rooms and rates for... More

Pickering, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

When I say "right on the beach" it is actually right on the beach. Your host Raul is very nice and welcoming. The food is very good and the beach side bar is fun. The beach is the draw. You can walk 10 steps into the ocean, turn around and be sitting back at your bar stool. The bay views... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Finished your cruise and waiting for your plane? We were. It was going to be a long Saturday (Dec. 21, 2013) from our 8:45 ship debarkation until our 3:45 flight. We had seen as much of St. Martin as we wanted and were not thrilled about spending 6 hours in the airport (nice as it is). Friends we made on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Just returned from a three week stay at Mary's Boon. It was my fourth visit. When I got up to the desk I was greeted by the long time staff I know and love, "Welcome home!" The relaxed and family-like atmosphere is just what I need when I go on vacation. The beach and water are just as beautiful as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We rented from the owner one of his units. We had a contract and when we checked in they had put someone else in our unit. So we were given a comparable unit. Nicely furnished. Unfortunately this unit had some issues.... We woke up to a sink full of water bugs crawling all over the kitchen counter. They came in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

I guess alls good that ends good as they say and happy to hear that you did have a over all great time at Mary's Boon. As they may have told you, during your visit or just before your visit the island had a few days of very heavy rain which cause I blocked up gutter on the roof to... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I just stayed there in October when I visited St Martin for the second time. When I first saw it from the airplane, I was like Hell No! Some disclaimers; it is tricky to find from the airport despite being right next to the airport. I was there during off season, so I imagine it is much louder during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had a good time and despite a few minor issues will return. About 70% of our guests are repeat and visit over and over again. We don't normally have any problems with good internet in the rooms, many rooms also have it hard wired into the room. If their is a problem the office can fix... More

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Once again we returned to St Marteens and stayed for 12 days at Mary's Boon, another great stay, if your looking for all the frills of a 5 star resort this is not for you, but if you are looking for that more intimate resort on one of the best beaches in the Caribbean than Mary's Boon is for you.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Very happy to hear you had another wonderful visit to Mary's Boon. I can assure you we are looking forward to your rapid return to Paradise just as much as you are! Thanks! More

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay
Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH PLANTATION - Hotel / SPA recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that must of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Plantation invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, “St Maarten's Little Secret”. Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary’s Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands’ best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.